Writings, correspondence, and collected research materials, relating to the history of the Soviet Union. Finding aid to the microfilm reels available from the Library of Congress Manuscript Division: http://hdl.loc.gov/loc.mss/eadmss.ms009065
Photo: Dmitrii Antonovich Volkogonov papers, Reel 17, Folder Andropov Iurii Foreign Affairs, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
The collection contains novels, poems, and articles submitted for publication, as well as periodicals, pamphlets, speeches and writings, press releases, statements, petitions, photographs, slides, films, and sound recordings, published or circulated by underground and uncensored presses or groups in the Soviet Union, relating to political and cultural conditions in the Soviet Union and collected by the Narodno-trudovoĭ soiuz. Sound use copies of sound recordings available.
Photo: Narodno-trudovoi soiuz samizdat collection, Box 1, Folder 11, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Serial issues, relating to political, social and economic conditions in Russia.
Photo: Soviet and post-Soviet independent publications, Box 463, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Relates to political conditions in the Soviet Union from 1917 to 1991. Filmed from finding aids and holdings dating from 1903 to 1991 of the Gosudarstvennyĭ arkhiv Rossiĭskoĭ Federat͡sii.
Photo: Archives of the Soviet communist party and Soviet state microfilm collection: State Archives of the Russian Federation, Reel 1, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Sound recordings and transcripts of interviews of Russian women, relating to social conditions for women over the course of Soviet history. Used as the basis for the book edited by Barbara Alpern Engel and Anastasia Posadskaya, A Revolution of Their Own: Voices of Women in Soviet History (Boulder, Colo., 1998).
Photo: Anastasia Posadskaya interviews, Box 1, Folder 8, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
The Ivy and Tatiana Litvinov papers contain autobiographical, fictional, and other writings; interview transcripts; diaries; correspondence; and sound recordings relating to the life of Ivy Litvinov in Great Britain and the Soviet Union, her marriage to the Soviet foreign minister Maksim Litvinov, and British and Russian literature. The papers also include correspondence, speeches and writings, and art works by Ivy Litvinov's daughter, Tatiana Litvinov, who was an artist and translator.
Photo: Ivy and Tatiana Litvinov papers, Box 2, Folder 14, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Public opinion poll data, analyses, and reports, relating to Soviet public opinion, including public opinion of Soviet youth, regarding social conditions, social problems, urban issues, leisure, work, and values. Polls conducted for the newspaper Komsomol'skaia Pravda and for Soviet research institutions.
Photo: Boris A. Grushin papers, Box 4, Folder 34, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
The papers of Vitalii Leonidovich Kataev, Russian engineer, Soviet defense industry official, and adviser to President Mikhail Gorbachev, include reports, memoranda, correspondence, diaries, notes, meeting and conference materials, electronic documents, and sound recordings relating to Soviet military policy, the Soviet defense industry, Soviet nuclear weapons, and Soviet participation in arms limitation negotiations.
Photo: Vitalii Leonidovich Kataev papers, Box 1, Folder 5, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Despite the Iron Curtain’s dampening effect on collecting and preserving materials from the USSR, the Hoover Archives holds a number of significant collections relating to Soviet dissidents and defectors, such as Andrei Siniavskii and Aleksandr Ginzburg and Yuri Yarim-Agaev; while the NTS Samizdat collection is one of the most extensive such collections in the world. A series of joint microfilming and digitization projects from the early 1990s until today have expanded Hoover’s holdings on the Soviet state and Communist Party apparatus and on the workings of the KGB in the USSR and its national republics to enable researchers to study both sides of the equation.
American Relief Administration Russian operational records
1919-1925
Correspondence, telegrams, memoranda, reports, agreements, minutes, histories, financial records, lists, press summaries, and photographs relating to American relief in the Soviet Union following the Russian Civil War, and food and public health problems, agriculture, economic conditions, transportation and communications, and political and social developments, in the Soviet Union.
1903-1990
Relates to political conditions in the Soviet Union from 1917 to 1991. Filmed from finding aids and holdings dating from 1903 to 1991 of the Rossiiskii gosudarstvennyĭ arkhiv noveisheĭ istorii.
1903-1991
Relates to political conditions in the Soviet Union from 1917 to 1991. Filmed from finding aids and holdings dating from 1903 to 1991 of the Rossiiskii gosudarstvennyĭ arkhiv sot͡sial'no-politicheskoi istorii.
1903-1991
Relates to political conditions in the Soviet Union from 1917 to 1991. Filmed from finding aids and holdings dating from 1903 to 1991 of the Gosudarstvennyĭ arkhiv Rossiĭskoĭ Federat͡sii.
Chang (Jon K.) research materials
1990s-2000s
The Jon K. Chang research materials (circa 1990s-2000s) relate to the history of Soviet Chinese and Koreans in the Russian Far East in the late 1930s. This completely digital collection includes oral history interviews documenting life and forced deportation in the former Soviet Union, scanned copies of photograph albums and maps relating to life on kolkhozes (collective farms), as well as copies of research materials from Russian state archives and the soviet newspaper "Krasnoye Znamya" (Red Banner).
1967-2006
Clippings and other printed matter, relating to the disintegration of the Soviet Union, and to political conditions in post-Soviet Russia. Includes a 1968 official Soviet report (incomplete), summarizing results of the investigation of the Vserossiiskii sotsial-khristianskii soiuz osvobozhdeniia naroda, an anti-communist revolutionary organization in the Soviet Union.
1930-1970
Writings, translations, notes, and clippings, relating to the Russian Revolution and to various aspects of Soviet society in the 1920s and 1930s, including politics, foreign policy, economics, agriculture, and minority policies.
1920-2000
Correspondence, writings, memoranda, newspaper issues, election campaign literature, other printed matter, photographs, and video tapes, relating to activities of the Narodno-Trudovoĭ Soiuz and other anti-communist and labor organizations in the Soviet Union, and to political conditions in the Soviet Union and post-Soviet Russia, and the city of Saint Petersburg.
Ginn (H. Lucas) letters received
1989-1991
In 1989, H. Lucas Ginn, then a California high school student, wrote to a Soviet magazine saying he was seeking a pen pal in the Soviet Union. Ginn's letter and address were published in Studencheskii meridian, a youth magazine; he subsequently received some two thousand missives from young Soviet citizens. The era of glasnost had just begun, making corresponding with their peers in the West a novelty for Soviet youth, which explains the exuberance with which they responded to Ginn's letter.
1960-1974
Public opinion poll data, analyses, and reports, relating to Soviet public opinion, including public opinion of Soviet youth, regarding social conditions, social problems, urban issues, leisure, work, and values. Polls conducted for the newspaper Komsomol'skaia Pravda and for Soviet research institutions.
Kataev (Vitalii Leonidovich) papers
1966-2001
The papers of Vitalii Leonidovich Kataev, Russian engineer, Soviet defense industry official, and adviser to President Mikhail Gorbachev, include reports, memoranda, correspondence, diaries, notes, meeting and conference materials, electronic documents, and sound recordings relating to Soviet military policy, the Soviet defense industry, Soviet nuclear weapons, and Soviet participation in arms limitation negotiations.
1980-1992
The Brendan Kiernan papers (1980-1992) consist largely of political ephemera documenting the emergence of political plurality in the late Soviet Union and early Russian Federation.
Krasil'nikov (S. A.) collection
1922-2004
Reports, statistics, directives, memoranda, and map, issued by the Ob"edinnenoe Gosudarstvennoe Politicheskoe Upravlenie and other Soviet governmental and communist party agencies, relating to forced resettlement in the Novosibirsk region and other parts of Siberia, in connection with collectivization, primarily in the 1930-1933 period; photographs depicting resettlement camps; and studies and other writings about Soviet resettlement. In part, photocopy.
Litvinov (Ivy and Tatiana) papers
1890-2008
The Ivy and Tatiana Litvinov papers contain autobiographical, fictional, and other writings; interview transcripts; diaries; correspondence; and sound recordings relating to the life of Ivy Litvinov in Great Britain and the Soviet Union, her marriage to the Soviet foreign minister Maksim Litvinov, and British and Russian literature. The papers also include correspondence, speeches and writings, and art works by Ivy Litvinov's daughter, Tatiana Litvinov, who was an artist and translator.
Melnikova-Raich (Sonia) papers
1920-2011
The collection comprises thousands of copies of documents from Russian state archives, related to the history of Soviet foreign concessions of the 1920s to the early 1930s.
Narodno-trudovoi soiuz samizdat collection
1960-1991
The collection contains novels, poems, and articles submitted for publication, as well as periodicals, pamphlets, speeches and writings, press releases, statements, petitions, photographs, slides, films, and sound recordings, published or circulated by underground and uncensored presses or groups in the Soviet Union, relating to political and cultural conditions in the Soviet Union and collected by the Narodno-trudovoĭ soiuz. Sound use copies of sound recordings available.
Nauchno-issledovatel'skii institut truda Zapadno-sibirskii filial records
1965-1993
Studies, reports, conference proceedings, statistics, and publications, relating to social and economic conditions and labor in Siberia.
Posadskaya (Anastasia) interviews
1994
Sound recordings and transcripts of interviews of Russian women, relating to social conditions for women over the course of Soviet history. Used as the basis for the book edited by Barbara Alpern Engel and Anastasia Posadskaya, A Revolution of Their Own: Voices of Women in Soviet History (Boulder, Colo., 1998).
Serov (IAkov Alekseevich) miscellaneous papers
1925-1944
Correspondence, personal documents, and printed matter, relating to political conditions in the Soviet Union.
1906-2011
Writings, diaries, correspondence, interrogation and trial records, printed matter, sound recordings, photographs, and memorabilia relating to Russian literature, civil rights in the Soviet Union, political trials and conditions of political prisoners in the Soviet Union, and Russian émigré affairs. Includes records of the Russian-language Paris journal Sintaksis, published and edited by A. Sini͡avskiĭ and M. Rozanova.
Soviet and post-Soviet independent publications collection
1986-2006
Serial issues, relating to political, social and economic conditions in Russia.
1992-1993
Videotape recordings and transcripts of interviews, relating to Soviet espionage. Interviews conducted by Anatolii Sudoplatov, Jerrold L. Schecter and Leona Schecter. Used as the basis for the book by Pavel Sudoplatov, Special Tasks: The Memoirs of an Unwanted Witness, a Soviet Spymaster (Boston, 1994).
Tupitsyn (Gennadii Ivanovich) papers
1900-2004
Correspondence, writings, printed matter, postcards, and photographs relating to the promotion of Esperanto, especially in Latvia and the Soviet Union.
1858-2006
Papers contain memoirs, diaries, poems, other writings, certificates, and photograph, relating to political and cultural conditions in the Soviet Union and post- Soviet Russia, Russian literature, purges in the Soviet Union during the 1930s, and the execution for anti- Soviet activities in 1938 of Edgar Polents, father of O. E. Tuganova, and his posthumous rehabilitation in 1956.
Volkogonov (Dmitrii Antonovich) papers
1917-1995
Writings, correspondence, and collected research materials, relating to the history of the Soviet Union. Finding aid to the microfilm reels available from the Library of Congress Manuscript Division: http://hdl.loc.gov/loc.mss/eadmss.ms009065
1989-1991
Correspondence with members of the Soviet public, and supporting material relating to social issues in the Soviet Union, and especially to effects of the Chernobyl nuclear accident.
click to see more results for "Soviet Union" at the Hoover Library & Archives.
8:30 am - 4:30 pm
(by reservation)
Exhibitions & Observation Deck
10:00 am - 4:00 pm
We are closed for major holidays, Stanford home football games, and campus winter closure.