Memoirs, other writings, correspondence, and photographs, relating to conditions in forced labor camps in the Soviet Union.
Photo: Arsenii Ivanovich Formakov papers, Box 2, Folder 12, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Poems and other writings, correspondence, identification and legal documents, diaries, printed matter, and photographs relating to political dissent in the Soviet Union, conditions in forced labor camps, Russian literature, and Russian-Latvian cultural relations.
Correspondence, speeches and writings, memoranda, reports, personal documents, printed matter, and audiovisual material relating to forced labor, political prisoners, civil rights, and dissent in the Soviet Union, and to human rights activities of Resistance International.
Photo: Mikhail Mikhailovich Krasil'nikov papers, Box 64, Folder 5, Hoover Insitution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Memoir, relating to imprisonment in Soviet forced labor camps also known as the gulags; photocopies of Soviet arrest records and summaries of judicial proceedings, and of United States Federal Bureau of Investigation reports on interviews after repatriation; and 44 original paintings and drawings depicting living and working conditions in Soviet forced labor camps. (photo from box 1)
Photo: Thomas Sgovio papers, Box 1, Folder 27, Hoover Insitution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Writings, personal documents, photographs, and miscellany, relating to forced labor in the Soviet Union. Klochkov was a Russian musician and prisoner in Soviet forced labor camps.
Adlershteyn (Leon) and Irina Bereznaya papers
1910-2018
The Leon Adlershteyn and Irina Bereznaya papers includes memoirs, interviews, and correspondence relating to the lives of Adlershteyn, a naval architect and researcher, and his wife, a Russian/English translator. Leon Adlershteyn (Leon T͡Salimovich Adlershteĭn) was born in 1925 in St. Petersburg, Russia. He was a Naval architect and researcher. Adlershteyn survived internment in Gulag forced labor camps. Adlershteyn married Irina Bereznaya, a Russian/English translator, in 1962 and immigrated to the United States in 1994.
1939-1946
Orders, reports, card files, questionnaires, accounts, Soviet government documents and publications, photographs, microfiche, and printed matter, relating to World War II, the Polish Armed Forces in Russia, the Polish 2d Corps in Italy, Polish citizens arrested and deported under German and Soviet occupation, Polish foreign relations, the Polish government-in-exile in London, and Polish Jews. A digital copy of this entire collection is available at https://www.szukajwarchiwach.gov.pl/en/zespol/-/zespol/22991
1930-2011
This collection comprises the reports, memoranda, and lists, relating to administration and financial situation of a small forced labor camp Kedrovy Shor, a division of Intlag camp in the Soviet Union. The collection includes lists of salaries of guards, food and clothing distribution charts, food norms and rations, instructions.
1939-1989
Transcripts of interviews with Polish survivors of Soviet concentration camps, written reminiscences of survivors, and photographs, relating to the deportation of Poles to the Soviet Union and their internment during and after World War II. Interviews conducted by the staff of the Archiwum Wschodnie, Warsaw, from 1980 to 1989. Photocopy.
Art of the Gulag: Images of the Gulag
2011
Dutch brochure with reproductions of several paintings and drawings by former inmates of Soviet camps, some in color.
Baital'skii (Mikhail D.) memoirs
1976
Relates to Russian communist party life and activities of left oppositionists during the 1920s, subsequent changes in Soviet society, and conditions in the Vorkuta forced labor camp.
Bien (George Zoltan) processed volume
1997
Relates to conditions in forced labor camps in the Soviet Union, and to the Hungarian Revolution of 1956. Includes photocopies of related certificates and photographs.
Byelorussian Centeral Council memorandum
1954
Relates to forced labor and national policy of the Soviet Union regarding Belarus. Addressed to the United Nations.
Commission of Inquiry into Forced Labor report
1950
Relates to forced labor in the Soviet Union and Eastern Europe. Report made to the United Nations Economic and Social Council.
Formakov (Arsenii Ivanovich) papers
1910s-1983
Memoirs, other writings, correspondence, and photographs, relating to conditions in forced labor camps in the Soviet Union. Formakov was a Russian-Latvian teacher and a prisoner in Soviet forced labor camps from 1940 to 1955.
1929-1998
Writings, correspondence, personal documents, photographs, sound recordings, and video tapes, relating to conditions in Soviet forced labor camps, and to political conditions in Hungary. Aron Gabor was a prisoner in a Soviet forced labor camp from 1945 to 1960. Papers include some papers of Emmy Gábor, wife of Aron Gábor.
1945-1971
Correspondence, reports, personal documents, writings, photographs, and printed matter, relating to conditions in Soviet forced labor camps, and to twentieth century Polish history and culture.
1988-1989
Memoirs, essay, and letters, relating to conditions in prison camps in the Soviet Union. Photocopy.
1937-1989
Arrest, interrogation, and other judicial records, issued by secret police and other Soviet governmental agencies, relating to the arrest and execution of four Russian-Americans or Russians formerly resident in the United States, on charges of counter-revolutionary activities; and subsequent appeals and decisions, relating to requests for their rehabilitation. Includes English translations of some documents. Photocopy.
International Commission against Concentration Camp Practices records
1950-51
Minutes, proceedings, testimony, and reports, relating to the incidence of concentration camps and to conditions prevalent in them, throughout the world, and especially in the Soviet Union.
1946-1954
Relates to conditions in Soviet prison camps. Includes photograph and obituary.
Klochkov (Pavel Vasil'evich) papers
1894-1978
Writings, personal documents, photographs, and miscellany, relating to forced labor in the Soviet Union. Klochkov was a Russian musician who was prisoner in Soviet forced labor camps.
1928-1932
Relates to conditions in Soviet concentration camps, 1928-1932. Translation published as Prisoner of the OGPU (New York, 1935)
Kresy-Siberia Foundation collection
2010-2013
Video recordings of interviews of Polish survivors of forced labor camps in the Soviet Union, relating to deportations from Poland during World War II and to conditions in Soviet forced labor camps. Includes some copies of textual documents. Interviews conducted by the Kresy-Siberia Foundation.
Krasil'nikov (Mikhail Mikhailovich) papers
1948-1996
Poems and other writings, correspondence, identification and legal documents, diaries, printed matter, and photographs relating to political dissent in the Soviet Union, conditions in forced labor camps, Russian literature, and Russian-Latvian cultural relations.
Levinstein (David) processed volume
2001-2005
Relates to Beniamin Levinshtein, a Polish-Soviet inmate of forced labor camps in the Soviet Union.
1941
Relates to conditions in Soviet concentration camps and to the success of the Polish government in securing the release of its citizens from them.
Makarenko (Mikhail Ianovich) papers
1961-1998
Correspondence, speeches and writings, memoranda, reports, personal documents, printed matter, and audiovisual material relating to forced labor, political prisoners, civil rights, and dissent in the Soviet Union, and to human rights activities of Resistance International.
My Two Years Spent in Soviet Russia under Staling typescript
1938-1948
Jan Adam Romer (a.k.a. John Adam Romer) was an electrical engineer and reservist in the Polish Army during World War II. He was arrested by the NKVD (Narodnyĭ komissariat vnutrennikh del) and sent to several forced labor camps in the Gulag. This collection is composed of the typescript " My two years spent in Soviet Russia under Stalin" by Jan A. Romer, a version of the typescript edited by his son, John H. Romer, and copies of Jan A. Romer's war records (April 1942 to January 1947) from the Great Britain Ministry of Defence and the Polish Squadron of the Royal Air Force.
Novokhats'kyi, Musii Danylovych papers
1908-1992
Musiĭ Danylovych Novokhats'kyĭ (1882-1952) was arrested in 1931 and sent to Gulag. He was later released from Gulag by request of Mikhail Kalinin, chair of the USSR Supreme Soviet, and was rehabilitated in 1991. This collection is composed of biographical documents, a letter from the Gulag, and photographs. Of note, it includes an essay by Novokhatskaya's granddaughter, Natalya Novokhatskaya.
Onikul (Abram Grigor'evich) papers
1932-1997
Police and judicial records, and photographs, relating to political offenses in the Soviet Union. Includes some police and judicial records relating to other family members. Photocopy.
1954-1992
Photocopies of letters by K. Päts, relating to his imprisonment in the Soviet Union, and appealing to the United Nations to bring about civil rights and independence in the Baltic States; translations and a press release from the Consulate General of Estonia in New York City, explaining the acquisition and content of the letters; medical records; memoirs by Helgi-Alice Päts and Matti Päts, daughter-in-law and grandson of K. Päts, relating to the imprisonment of the Päts family in the Soviet Union; articles from the Estonian press on the same subject; and photographs.
Resistance in the Gulag: memoirs, letters, documents
1992
English translation of a collection of sources published by Semen Vilenskii, founder of the NGO "Vosvrashchenie" (Return). This was one of the numerous organizations and groups--the largest and most widely branched was/has been the society "Memorial"--established since the Perestroika years by former dissidents and political prisoners, survivors of repression and their relatives, and ordinary people with the mission to restore and make public the memory of the Stalinist terror, repressions, and camps in Russia and other post-Soviet countries.
Sankt-Peterburgskoe obschestvo "Memorial" collection
1922-2004
Transcripts of interviews of former political prisoners; secret police case files; articles; and speeches; relating to the execution, imprisonment, and sentence to forced labor camps of political prisoners in the Soviet Union. Collected by the Sankt Peterburgskoe obshchestvo "Memorial." Photocopy.
Sedov (Sergei L'vovich) letters
1935
Relates to conditions in the Soviet prison camp in Krasnoyarsk, Siberia, where S. L. Sedov was confined. Letters written to his wife. Includes typewritten translations. Also available on microfilm.
1938-2008
Memoir, relating to imprisonment in Soviet forced labor camps also known as the gulags; photocopies of Soviet arrest records and summaries of judicial proceedings, and of United States Federal Bureau of Investigation reports on interviews after repatriation; and 44 original paintings and drawings depicting living and working conditions in Soviet forced labor camps.
1905-2008
Correspondence, identification documents, printed matter, miscellany, and photographs, relating mainly to imprisonment of Stasys Silingas in Siberia after 1940. Born in Vilnius on November 11, 1885, Baron Stasys Šilingas, a Lithuanian lawyer and statesman, was a significant figure in the history of Lithuania's independence.
1939-1978
Miscellany relating to forced labor camps in the Soviet Union. Includes photographs of a labor camp and a labor camp newspaper issue.
Solov'ev (Emiliian I.) memoirs
1948-1996
Poems and other writings, correspondence, identification and legal documents, diaries, printed matter, and photographs relating to political dissent in the Soviet Union, conditions in forced labor camps, Russian literature, and Russian-Latvian cultural relations.
1983
Relates to conditions in Soviet concentration camps during World War II. Photocopy. Jan Sosnowiecki was a Polish internee in a Soviet concentration camp, 1940-1944.
1999
Videotaped raw footage of interviews with historians and Soviet forced labor camp survivors, relating to forced labor camps in the Soviet Union. Used as background material for the program. Program produced by the Blackwell Corporation and broadcast by the Public Broadcasting Service.
circa 2004-2011
Photographs of the sites of forced labor camps near Noril'sk, Russia. Giles Udy is an independent academic and a member of the Council of the Keston Institute, formerly Keston College. His long-term work is on the history of the gulag camps of Norilsk, but he has also published research on the impact of Soviet Communism in British politics between the wars.
United States Department of International Information Administration Collection
1937-1942
Translations of Soviet documents, relating to sentencing of individuals to forced labor camps in the Soviet Union. Translated by the International Information Administration of the United States Department of State in 1953.
undated
Relates to Polish deportees and prisoners in the Soviet Union during World War II. Produced by Józef Gębski. Includes variant versions of the video tape, including one with English subtitles, and still photographs used in the production.
Zernova (Ruth) and Serman (Ilya) papers
1880-2011
Ilya Serman (1913-2010) was a literary scholar and professor of Russian and Slavic Philology in Russia and Israel. Ruth Zernova (1919-2004) was a writer and interpreter, an author of several novels and many short stories. Their archive contains biographical material including papers of Serman's mother G. YA. Aronson-Veksler; vast correspondence with colleagues, friends, and family; writings by Zernova, Serman and other prominent literary scholars; well preserved photographs; and audiovisual material.
8:30 am - 4:30 pm
(by reservation)
Exhibitions & Observation Deck
10:00 am - 4:00 pm
We are closed for major holidays, Stanford home football games, and campus winter closure.