Correspondence, speeches and writings, reports, memoranda, press releases, statements, petitions, lists, financial records, printed matter, photographs, video tapes, and sound recordings, relating to civil rights and dissident scientists in the Soviet Union, and especially to Andrei Sakharov, Yuri Orlov and Anatoly Shcharansky (Natan Sharansky). Includes some papers of Morris Pripstein, chairman of the organization.
Photo: Scientists For Sakharov, Orlov and Shcharansky records, Box 13, Folder 2, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Correspondence, memoirs and other writings, notes, printed matter, and photographs relating to political prisoners, civil rights and dissent in the Soviet Union, and to Russian émigré affairs.
Photo: Pavel Mikhailovich Litvinov papers, Box 2, Folder 4, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Correspondence, speeches and writings, memoranda, reports, personal documents, printed matter, and audiovisual material relating to forced labor, political prisoners, civil rights, and dissent in the Soviet Union, and to human rights activities of Resistance International.
Photo: Mikhail Ivanovich Makarenko papers, Box 114, Folder 1, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
The collection contains novels, poems, and articles submitted for publication, as well as periodicals, pamphlets, speeches and writings, press releases, statements, petitions, photographs, slides, films, and sound recordings, published or circulated by underground and uncensored presses or groups in the Soviet Union, relating to political and cultural conditions in the Soviet Union and collected by the Narodno-trudovoĭ soiuz. Sound use copies of sound recordings available.
Photo: Narodno-trudovoi soiuz samizdat collection, Box 1, Folder 11, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Correspondence, writings, notes, reports, Soviet government documents, printed matter, and photographs relating to civil liberties in the Soviet Union, post-Soviet Russia and elsewhere, political conditions in post-Soviet Russia, and promotion of international democracy.
(photo from box 36, folder 10)
Photo: Vladimir Konstantinovich Bukovskii papers, Box 36, Folder 10, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Speeches and writings, notes, correspondence, memoranda, reports, studies, and printed matter relating to scientific and technological aspects of United States national security and intelligence issues, including nuclear weapons, nuclear stockpile management, satellite reconnaissance, biological and chemical warfare issues, and terrorism issues. Also includes material relating to the dissident Soviet physicist Andreĭ Sakharov, and to efforts on his behalf by Western scientists. Includes writings and letters by Sakharov.
Photo: Sidney D. Drell papers, Box 1, Folder 11, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Correspondence, speeches and writings, reports, serial issues, clippings, other printed matter, photographs, sound recordings, and motion picture film relating to political and cultural conditions in the Soviet Union and Eastern Europe, Soviet and Eastern European dissidents, Russian and Eastern European literature, post-World War II international relations, and the nature and history of communism and Marxian theory. Includes manuscripts submitted to Survey for publication, correspondence with contributors, and financial and other records of the journal.
Photo: Leopold Labedz papers, Box 1, Folder 36, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Correspondence, poems, other writings, printed matter, photographs, and drawings relating to Russian literature and dissent. Includes transcript of 1964 trial of Joseph Brodsky in the Soviet Union. Mainly collected by Diana Myers. Includes some papers of Diana Myers.
Photo: Joseph Brodsky papers, Box 1, Folder 8, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
1980s
Andrei (Andrey) Alekseevich Amalrik was a Soviet writer and dissident. Collection includes transcripts of lectures given in the United States after Amalrik's exile from the Soviet Union; topics include various aspects of the social and political conditions in the USSR.
1963-2013
Correspondence, poems, other writings, printed matter, photographs, and drawings relating to Russian literature and dissent. Includes transcript of 1964 trial of Joseph Brodsky in the Soviet Union. Mainly collected by Diana Myers. Includes some papers of Diana Myers.
Bukovskii (Vladimir Konstantinovich) papers
1928-2011
Correspondence, writings, notes, reports, Soviet government documents, printed matter, and photographs relating to civil liberties in the Soviet Union, post-Soviet Russia and elsewhere, political conditions in post-Soviet Russia, and promotion of international democracy.
Dashkevich (Igor Aleksandrovich) papers
1956-2008
Correspondence, writings, samizdat publications, and photographs relating to political dissent in the Soviet Union and to the establishment of independent labor organizations in post-Soviet Russia.
1941-2017
Speeches and writings, notes, correspondence, memoranda, reports, studies, and printed matter relating to scientific and technological aspects of United States national security and intelligence issues, including nuclear weapons, nuclear stockpile management, satellite reconnaissance, biological and chemical warfare issues, and terrorism issues. Also includes material relating to the dissident Soviet physicist Andreĭ Sakharov, and to efforts on his behalf by Western scientists. Includes writings and letters by Sakharov.
1903-2010
Includes memoirs, other writings, correspondence, a police file, pamphlets, other printed matter, and photographs relating to civil liberties and dissent in the Soviet Union.
1920-2000
Correspondence, writings, memoranda, newspaper issues, election campaign literature, other printed matter, photographs, and video tapes, relating to activities of the Narodno-Trudovoĭ Soiuz and other anti-communist and labor organizations in the Soviet Union, and to political conditions in the Soviet Union and post-Soviet Russia, and the city of Saint Petersburg
Ginzburg (Aleksandr Il'ich) papers
1921-2007
Correspondence, writings, printed matter, identification documents, photographs, sound recordings, video tape, and memorabilia relating to civil liberties and dissent in the Soviet Union, and to Russian émigré affairs.
1928-2013
Correspondence, memoirs, other writings, printed matter, photographs, visual materials, and sound and video recordings relating to civil liberties in the Soviet Union, and especially to misuse of psychiatry for political repression in the Soviet Union.
1960-2019
Alexander Gribanov (Aleksandr Borisovich Gribanov); Soviet-era dissident activist. The Alexander Gribanov papers (1960s-2010s) includes correspondence and interviews with fellow Soviet dissidents documenting their activities, primarily as they relate to the Chronicle of Current Events.
1966-1968
Poems, notes, and other writings, relating to the Soviet dissident movement.
1921-2016
Correspondence, writings, radio broadcast transcripts, underground journals, photographs, and sound recordings relating to Russian literature, dissidence in the Soviet Union, and radio broadcasting to the Soviet Union. Includes some papers of other family members.
1970-2008
Correspondence, clippings, and photographs, relating to civil liberties in the Soviet Union.
1860-1996
Correspondence, speeches and writings, reports, serial issues, clippings, other printed matter, photographs, sound recordings, and motion picture film relating to political and cultural conditions in the Soviet Union and Eastern Europe, Soviet and Eastern European dissidents, Russian and Eastern European literature, post-World War II international relations, and the nature and history of communism and Marxian theory. Includes manuscripts submitted to Survey for publication, correspondence with contributors, and financial and other records of the journal.
Litvinov (Pavel Mikhailovich) papers
1933-2011
Correspondence, memoirs and other writings, notes, printed matter, and photographs relating to political prisoners, civil rights and dissent in the Soviet Union, and to Russian émigré affairs.
Makarenko (Mikhail Ianovich) papers
1961-1998
Correspondence, speeches and writings, memoranda, reports, personal documents, printed matter, and audiovisual material relating to forced labor, political prisoners, civil rights, and dissent in the Soviet Union, and to human rights activities of Resistance International.
Miller-Kurakin (George) papers
1949-1990
Correspondence, writings, petitions, leaflets, flyers, clippings, other printed matter, and photographs, relating to clandestine activities of the Narodno-Trudovoi Soiuz in the Soviet Union and its public activities in the West, in opposition to Soviet communism and in support of Soviet dissidents. Includes papers of Boris Miller, Narodno-Trudovoi Soiuz leader and father of George Miller-Kurakin.
Moskvin (Oleg Nikolaevich) papers
1949-1990
The papers are comprised of writings, correspondence, memoranda, government documents, and printed matter relating to civil liberties and independent labor movements in the Soviet Union and post-Soviet Russia.
Narodno-trudovoi soiuz samizdat collection
1960-1991
The collection contains novels, poems, and articles submitted for publication, as well as periodicals, pamphlets, speeches and writings, press releases, statements, petitions, photographs, slides, films, and sound recordings, published or circulated by underground and uncensored presses or groups in the Soviet Union, relating to political and cultural conditions in the Soviet Union and collected by the Narodno-trudovoĭ soiuz. Sound use copies of sound recordings available.
1971-2002
Clandestine serial issues, other writings, and printed matter, relating to the ecumenical movement in the Soviet Union, political dissent, conditions in psychiatric hospitals, and Russian and Latvian culture.
Popovskii (Mark A.) collection
1919-1977
Reminiscences, reports, correspondence, and other writings of members of Tolstovtsy communes in the Soviet Union, relating to the agrarian dissent movement of followers of Leo Tolstoy. Digital use copies of the entire collection are available in the reading room
1957-2018
Diaries, writings, correspondence, printed matter, and photographs relating to the status of civil liberties and to political prisoners in the Soviet Union and in post-Soviet Russia.
Scientists For Sakharov, Orlov and Shcharansky records
1975-2010
Correspondence, speeches and writings, reports, memoranda, press releases, statements, petitions, lists, financial records, printed matter, photographs, video tapes, and sound recordings, relating to civil rights and dissident scientists in the Soviet Union, and especially to Andrei Sakharov, Yuri Orlov and Anatoly Shcharansky (Natan Sharansky). Includes some papers of Morris Pripstein, chairman of the organization.
1906-2011
Writings, diaries, correspondence, interrogation and trial records, printed matter, sound recordings, photographs, and memorabilia relating to Russian literature, civil rights in the Soviet Union, political trials and conditions of political prisoners in the Soviet Union, and Russian émigré affairs. Includes records of the Russian-language Paris journal Sintaksis, published and edited by A. Sini͡avskiĭ and M. Rozanova.
Skobov (Aleksandr Valer'evich) papers
1988-1996
Writings, circulated material, election campaign literature, and printed matter, relating to political conditions in the Soviet Union and post-Soviet Russia.
Solzhenitsyn (Aleksandr Isaevich) speeches and writings
1975-1982
Sound recordings of speeches, and typescript and printed copies of speeches and writings, relating to the literary works of A. Solzhenitsyn, and to civil rights in the Soviet Union. Includes the text of his Harvard University commencement address, 1978, and clippings reflecting American public reaction to it. Also includes articles, publicity leaflets, clippings, photographs, and a motion picture film, relating to A. Solzhenitsyn, especially to his visits to the Hoover Institution on War, Revolution and Peace in 1975 and 1976.
1958-1990
Writings, bulletins, and photographs, relating to political conditions and civil rights in Lithuania.
1916-2017
Correspondence, writings, identification documents, certificates, printed matter, and photographs relating to physics, the state of civil liberties in the Soviet Union, and Soviet dissidents.
United States. Dept. of State. Office of External Research typescript
1951-1960
Series of summaries of interviews of defectors from the Soviet Union and other Eastern European communist countries, relating to their life histories, and to their observations of political, social, and economic conditions in their native countries. Later reports entitled The Soviet Bloc as Reported by Former Nationals. Photocopy.
1961-1998
Writings, correspondence, reports, notes, financial records, case files, printed matter, and audiovisual material, relating to human rights and dissent in the Soviet Union, and political conditions and the promotion of democracy in the Soviet Union and post-Soviet Russia.
8:30 am - 4:30 pm
(by reservation)
Exhibitions & Observation Deck
10:00 am - 4:00 pm
We are closed for major holidays, Stanford home football games, and campus winter closure.