Writings, correspondence, memorand9da, reports, orders, interview transcripts, notes, and printed matter, relating to the German occupation of areas of the Soviet Union during World War II, the Vlasov movement, and Soviet collaborators and partisans. Includes photocopies of German military documents. Used in preparation of the book by A. Dallin, German Rule in Russia, 1941-1945 (London, 1957). Digital copies of select records also available at https://digitalcollections.hoover.org.
Photo: Alexander Dallin papers, Box 5, Folder 2, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Correspondence, speeches and writings, clippings, photographs, and printed matter, relating to World War II, communism, forced repatriation of Russian prisoners to the Soviet Union following World War II, the Katyn forest massacre, unreported deaths of Soviet cosmonauts, and the efforts of J. Epstein to obtain restricted government documents on these subjects.
Photo: Julius Epstein papers, Box 99, Lemkin interviews, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
The Ronald MacArthur Hirst papers consist largely of material collected and created by Hirst over the course of several decades of research on topics related to the history of World War II and the Cold War, including the Battle of Stalingrad, the Allied landing at Normandy on D-Day, American aerial operations, and the Berlin Airlift of 1948-1949, among other topics. Included are writings, correspondence, biographical data, notes, copies of government documents, printed matter, maps, and photographs.
Photo: Ronald MacArthur Hirst papers, Box 12, Folder Hartmann, copyright Stanford University.
Relates to operations of the Ukrainian partisan force Ukraïns'ka Povstans'ka Armiia against Hungarian forces during World War II.
Photo: D. Karov typescript, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Memoirs, diaries, questionnaire responses and interview summaries of military veterans, notes, photocopies of military records, printed matter, and photographs relating to German military operations during World War II, mainly on the Eastern Front. Used as research material for the books by Craig W. H. Luther, Blood and Honor: The History of the 12th SS Panzer Division "Hitler Youth, " 1943-1945 (San Jose, 1988), and Barbarossa Unleashed: The German Blitzkrieg through Central Russia to the Gates of Moscow, June-December 1941 (Atglen, Pa., 2013).
Photo: Craig W. H. Luther papers, Box 1, Folder 3, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Artists at the front portfolio
1942-1944
Drawings and paintings by Soviet artists of scenes on the Eastern front during World War II, 1942-1944.
Ausky (Stanislav A.) collection
1943-1986
Memoirs, other writings, correspondence, microfilm and photocopies of German and American military documents, bulletins, pamphlets, other printed matter, sound recordings, motion picture film, slides, and photographs relating to the Russkai͡a Osvoboditel'nai͡a Armii͡a, led by General AndreĬ A. Vlasov, and to other anti-Soviet movements, especially among Ukrainians and Cossacks, during World War II. Includes research material used for the book by S. A. Auský, Vojska generála Vlasova v C̆echách (1980).
1997
Sound recordings of interview, relating to Joseph Stalin, and especially to his conduct of Soviet diplomacy with the Allied Powers during World War II. Interview conducted by Ed Cray.
1928-2000
Writings, correspondence, memoranda, reports, orders, interview transcripts, notes, and printed matter, relating to the German occupation of areas of the Soviet Union during World War II, the Vlasov movement, and Soviet collaborators and partisans. Includes photocopies of German military documents. Used in preparation of the book by A. Dallin, German Rule in Russia, 1941-1945 (London, 1957). Digital copies of select records also available at https://digitalcollections.hoover.org.
Dorogoi tragedii Rossii holograph
undated
Relates to conditions in the German Russian communities in the Soviet Union before and during World War II, and to displaced Russian Germans in Germany and the United States following the war. Memoir of an unknown Russian German immigrant to the United States.
1939-1975
Correspondence, speeches and writings, clippings, photographs, and printed matter, relating to World War II, communism, forced repatriation of Russian prisoners to the Soviet Union following World War II, the Katyn forest massacre, unreported deaths of Soviet cosmonauts, and the efforts of J. Epstein to obtain restricted government documents on these subjects.
1950
Relates to Russian collaborators with Germany during World War II and especially to the Russian Army of Liberation under General Andrei Andreevich Vlasov.
German-Soviet treaty protocols
1939-1941
Secret protocols of agreements between the German and Soviet governments relating to delineation of spheres of influence in eastern Europe prior to and following the outbreak of World War II. Photocopy.
Hirst (Ronald MacArthur) papers
1929-2004
The Ronald MacArthur Hirst papers consist largely of material collected and created by Hirst over the course of several decades of research on topics related to the history of World War II and the Cold War, including the Battle of Stalingrad, the Allied landing at Normandy on D-Day, American aerial operations, and the Berlin Airlift of 1948-1949, among other topics. Included are writings, correspondence, biographical data, notes, copies of government documents, printed matter, maps, and photographs.
1943-1984
Newspaper and journal articles, bulletins, pamphlets, serial issues, and memoirs, relating to various armed resistance movements within the Soviet Union from 1918 to 1945 against the Soviet government. The bulk of the material relates to the Russkaia Osvoboditel'naia Armiia led by General Andreæi Vlasov during World War II. A detailed inventory in Russian may be found at http://media.hoover.org/documents/Ivanov.pdf
undated
Relates to operations of the Ukrainian partisan force Ukraïns'ka Povstans'ka Armiia against Hungarian forces during World War II.
1941-1945
World War II Soviet propaganda broadsides, leaflets and flyers, aimed at German troops and the German population.
1942
Relates to the experiences of an unidentified Soviet soldier during World War II, his incarceration in several German prisoner of war camps, and conditions in those camps.
1937-2015
Memoirs, diaries, questionnaire responses and interview summaries of military veterans, notes, photocopies of military records, printed matter, and photographs relating to German military operations during World War II, mainly on the Eastern Front. Used as research material for the books by Craig W. H. Luther, Blood and Honor: The History of the 12th SS Panzer Division "Hitler Youth, " 1943-1945 (San Jose, 1988), and Barbarossa Unleashed: The German Blitzkrieg through Central Russia to the Gates of Moscow, June-December 1941 (Atglen, Pa., 2013).
Medvedev (Vsevolod Sergeevich) typescript
undated
Relates to conditions in Kharkiv under German occupation in 1941. Photocopy.
1941-1944
Relates to the siege of Leningrad, and conditions in the Soviet Union during World War II.
Poland. Ambasada ( Soviet Union) records
1941-1945
Reports, correspondence, accounts, lists, testimonies, questionnaires, certificates, petitions, card files, maps, circulars, graphs, protocols, and clippings relating to World War II, the Soviet occupation of Poland, the Polish-Soviet military and diplomatic agreements of 1941, the re-establishment of the Polish embassy in Moscow, Polish prisoners of war in the Soviet Union, deportations of Polish citizens to the Soviet Union, labor camps and settlements, relief work by the Polish social welfare department delegations among the deportees, the Polish armed forces formed in the Soviet Union, evacuation of Polish citizens to the Middle East, the Katyn massacre of Polish officers, and the breakdown of Polish-Soviet relations in 1943. Includes material on the Communist Party of the Soviet Union and the Soviet government, 1928-1929. A digital copy of this entire collection is available at https://www.szukajwarchiwach.gov.pl/zespol/-/zespol/24351 .
Pronin (Dimitri Theodor) typescript
undated
Relates to the Soviet and German occupation of Poland, 1939-1945. Photocopy.
Semeka (Sergei Aleksandrovich) diaries
1941-1944
The collection contains Semeka's diaries relating to administration of medical services in the Soviet army during World War II.
Story of the lost Polish officers mimeograph
1943
Relates to the internment of Polish officers in prison camps in Starobel'sk, Kozel'sk and Ostashkov in the Soviet Union from 1939 to 1940, to the subsequent disappearance of these officers, and to efforts of the Polish government in exile to obtain information of their fate. Written by an anonymous Polish officer interned for a time in Starobel'sk.
Suhir (Leonid Rafaĭlovich) letters
1941-1945
Letters from Leonid Rafaĭlovich Suhir letters, a Soviet artillery officer during World War II, relating to Soviet military operations on the Eastern Front.
United States. Dept. of State. Office of Foreign Liquidation report
1945
Relates to American lend-lease aid to the Soviet Union, 1941-1945. Includes text of an agreement between the American and Soviet governments on disposition of material in inventory or procurement in the United States at the end of World War II.
Verkhovskiy (Solomon S.) collection
1937-1999
Writings, notes, biographical data, clippings, and other printed matter, relating to Soviet military aviation, primarily during World War II.
1939-1940
Serial issues, proclamations, cartoons, booklets, and other printed matter, relating to the Soviet occupation of Poland, and especially of the western Ukraine, at the outbreak of World War II, and to the cult of Joseph Stalin.
Who's who of prominent Germans in the U.S.S.R. mimeograph
1944
Relates to leaders of the Nationalkomitee "Freies Deutschland" and similar anti-fascist organizations of German prisoners of war and refugees in the Soviet Union during World War II.
1943-1954
Letters, clippings, photographs, and a diary, relating to the Vlasov movement and to Russian refugee life after World War II.
1939-1940
Excerpts from letters and diaries of Soviet soldiers during the Russo-Finnish War, relating to conditions at the front, living conditions in the Soviet Union, and personal matters. Includes photocopies of the original letters and diaries.
8:30 am - 4:30 pm
(by reservation)
Exhibitions & Observation Deck
10:00 am - 4:00 pm
We are closed for major holidays, Stanford home football games, and campus winter closure.