Diaries, correspondence, speeches and writings, clippings, reports, memoranda, and photographs relating to Chinese political events and foreign relations, international diplomatic conferences, Sino-Soviet relations, and the United Nations.
Photo: Victor Hoo papers, Box 3, Folder 2, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Diaries and notes relating to Soviet foreign relations, and to Georgian politics and foreign relations. Includes summaries of conversations between Eduard Shevardnadze and foreign leaders. Also available on microfilm (10 reels).
Photo: T.G. Stepanov-Mamaladze, Box 1, Folder 5, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Correspondence, diaries, speeches and writings, memoranda, reports, notes, printed matter, and photographs, relating to Yugoslav politics and government, relations between Yugoslavia and the Soviet Union, Yugoslavia during World War II, the Yugoslav government-in-exile, Draza Mihailovic and the Cetnik resistance movement in occupied Yugoslavia, and the activities of Serbian émigré groups following World War II. Also available on microfilm (66 reels).
Photo: Milan Gavrilovic, Box 16, Folder 27, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Correspondence, telegrams, reports, memoranda, lists, speeches and writings, and leaflets relating to French political events and foreign relations, France during World War II, and the Front Populaire.
Photo: Gaston Bergery papers, Box 9, Folder Jouvenel Bertrand, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
1978-1998
Diaries, writings, letters, and clippings, relating to Soviet and Russian foreign policy, and relations with Italy and Great Britain.
1909-1973
Correspondence, telegrams, reports, memoranda, lists, speeches and writings, and leaflets relating to French political events and foreign relations, France during World War II, and the Front Populaire.
Besedovskii (Grigorii Zinov'evich) articles
1929
Series of printed articles published in Le Matin (Paris) relating to Soviet diplomacy and the Communist International.
1919-1968
Correspondence, speeches and writings, memoranda, reports, and printed matter, relating to Latvian foreign relations, conditions in Latvia during and after World War II, and postwar Latvian refugees and émigré affairs.
1926-1996
The collection documents the U.S. Foreign Service career and post-retirement of Elbridge Durbrow relating to the spread of communism, U.S. foreign policy and world politics following World War II, represented in the form of correspondence, clippings, interview transcripts, speeches and writings, press summaries, other printed material, and memorabilia. Consisting largely of Durbrow's writings, research materials, and correspondence, the collection reflects Durbrow's vast subject knowledge and expertise in foreign affairs.
1938-1979
Correspondence, diaries, speeches and writings, memoranda, reports, notes, printed matter, and photographs, relating to Yugoslav politics and government, relations between Yugoslavia and the Soviet Union, Yugoslavia during World War II, the Yugoslav government-in-exile, Draza Mihailovic and the Cetnik resistance movement in occupied Yugoslavia, and the activities of Serbian émigré groups following World War II. Also available on microfilm (66 reels).
1931-1972
Diaries, correspondence, speeches and writings, clippings, reports, memoranda, and photographs relating to Chinese political events and foreign relations, international diplomatic conferences, Sino-Soviet relations, and the United Nations.
Hungary. Kovetseg (Soviet Union) records
1934-1941
Dispatches, instructions, and political reports, relating to Soviet-Hungarian relations. Includes photocopies of records at Columbia University.
Munters (Vilhelms) miscellaneous papers
1939-1972
Correspondence, memoranda, and press releases, relating to Latvian-Soviet relations and to the imprisonment of V. Munters in the Soviet Union, 1941-1954. Photocopy.
Poland. Ambasada (Soviet Union) records
1941-1944
Reports, correspondence, accounts, lists, testimonies, questionnaires, certificates, petitions, card files, maps, circulars, graphs, protocols, and clippings relating to World War II, the Soviet occupation of Poland, the Polish-Soviet military and diplomatic agreements of 1941, the re-establishment of the Polish embassy in Moscow, Polish prisoners of war in the Soviet Union, deportations of Polish citizens to the Soviet Union, labor camps and settlements, relief work by the Polish social welfare department delegations among the deportees, the Polish armed forces formed in the Soviet Union, evacuation of Polish citizens to the Middle East, the Katyn massacre of Polish officers, and the breakdown of Polish-Soviet relations in 1943. Includes material on the Communist Party of the Soviet Union and the Soviet government, 1928-1929. A digital copy of this entire collection is available at https://www.szukajwarchiwach.gov.pl/zespol/-/zespol/24351 .
1917-1942
Correspondence, memoirs, reports, notes, and printed matter relating to Polish-Soviet and Polish-Romanian relations, and to religious persecution in the Soviet Union.
undated
Relates to the Soviet non-aggression treaties of 1926-1932 with the Baltic States and Finland.
Spalding (Merrill Ten Broeck) papers
1916-1969
Writings, correspondence, notes, clippings, other printed matter, and photographs, relating to the Russian Revolution and Soviet foreign policy; various aspects of Soviet society from 1917 to World War II, including economic conditions and labor; and nineteenth and twentieth century European history in general. Includes drafts of and working materials for an unpublished book-length documentary study by M. T. B. Spalding and Xenia Joukoff Eudin, "Origins of Soviet Foreign Policy, 1917-1920." Also includes newspaper and periodical issues published in Belgium immediately after its liberation in 1945, and reproductions of paintings in the Tretiakov State Gallery, Moscow.
Soviet Treaty Series Project records
1957-1959
Correspondence, memoranda, notes, bibliographies, and translations of published material, relating to Soviet treaties. Project sponsored by the Hoover Institution on War, Revolution and Peace. Used in preparation of A Calendar of Soviet Treaties, 1917-1957, by Robert M. Slusser and Jan F. Triska (Stanford, 1959; Hoover Institution Document Series #4).
Stepanov-Mamaladze (T. G.) writings
1985-1998
Diaries and notes relating to Soviet foreign relations, and to Georgian politics and foreign relations. Includes summaries of conversations between Eduard Shevardnadze and foreign leaders. Also available on microfilm (10 reels).
undated
Correspondence, reports, writings, certificates, and photographs relating to relations between Taiwan and the Soviet Union.
TSK KPSS. Prezidium miscellaneous records
1956-1958
Resolutions, reports, letters, and telegrams, relating to the Soviet decision to invade Hungary in 1956 and its aftermath. Includes related documents from other Soviet government sources. Photocopy.
1989-1995
Correspondence, memoranda, notes, speeches and writings, press releases, printed matter, and photographs, relating to the unification of Germany, and to American and Soviet foreign policy regarding it. Includes photocopies of Soviet archival documents. Used as research material forthe book by P. Zelikow and Condoleezza Rice, Germany Unified and Europe Transformed: A Study in Statecraft (Cambridge, Mass., 1995)
8:30 am - 4:30 pm
(by reservation)
Exhibitions & Observation Deck
10:00 am - 4:00 pm
We are closed for major holidays, Stanford home football games, and campus winter closure.