Correspondence, writings, notes, instructional materials, and printed matter relating to Ukrainian history and literature, the Ukrainian famine of 1932-1933, and the Ukrainian émigré community.
Photo: Miron Dolot papers, Box 13, Bio File, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Correspondence, messages, pamphlets, programs, proclamations, reports, resolutions, sound recordings, photographs, and clippings relating to American foreign policy, the National Captive Nations Committee, the Ukrainian Catholic Church, China, and Mao Zedong.
Photo: Lev E. Dobriansky papers, Box 30, Folder 3, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
The Hoover Institution’s Ukrainian holdings cover its emergence and development as an independent state since 1991, as well as earlier periods when it was a national republic of the USSR and a region divided between the Russian and Austro-Hungarian Empires. Numerous collections relating to the Russian Civil War, especially the Vrangel’ collection, describe the political situation in Southern Russia, the Crimea, Odessa and throughout much of the geographic area of the contemporary Ukraine in 1917-1921. The papers of Lev Dobriansky are an extraordinary resource for understanding the role of Ukrainian émigrés in formulating anti-communist policy. For the period of independence, researchers will find much of value in the Taras Kuzio and Kost’ Bondarenko papers, as well as the Ukrainian subject collection, with its rich holdings of political ephemera, party publications and election campaign materials from the 1980s to the present.
1996-2012
Writings, reports, studies, Internet printout, and printed matter, relating to political conditions and election campaigns in Ukraine.
1959-1988
Correspondence, messages, pamphlets, programs, proclamations, reports, resolutions, sound recordings, photographs, and clippings relating to American foreign policy, the National Captive Nations Committee, the Ukrainian Catholic Church, China, and Mao Zedong.
1915-2008
Correspondence, writings, notes, instructional materials, and printed matter relating to Ukrainian history and literature, the Ukrainian famine of 1932-1933, and the Ukrainian émigré community.
Hamrets'kyi (IUrii Markovych) papers
1957-1991
Writings, correspondence, and printed matter, relating to Ukrainian and Soviet history, and especially to the Russian Revolution in Ukraine.
undated
Relates to operations of the Ukrainian partisan force Ukraïns'ka Povstans'ka Armiia against Hungarian forces during World War II.
Korotych (Vitalii Oleksiioych) papers
1975-1991
Writings, notes, and photographs, relating to publication of Ogonek, and to political and intellectual conditions in the Soviet Union.
Kostenko (IUrii Ivanovich) papers
1989-2012
Correspondence, party conference materials, election campaign literature, serial issues, pamphlets, and audiovisual materials relating to political conditions and elections in Ukraine. Includes records of Narodnyĭ rukh Ukraïny and of Ukraïn'ska narodna partii͡a.
2007-2008
Correspondence, writings, memoranda, financial records, underground publications, press releases, serial issues, clippings, and other printed matter, relating to dissent, human rights, and political conditions in Ukraine.
1947-1948
Letters from Ukrainian displaced persons and prisoners of war, relating to conditions of displaced persons and to post-World War II repatriation issues.
Nicolaevsky (Boris I.) collection
1801-1982
Correspondence, memoranda, writings, speeches, memoirs, minutes of meetings, conference proceedings, leaflets, resolutions, bulletins, reports, clippings, newspapers, other printed matter, and photographs relating to Karl Marx and the international socialist movement; the First, Second, Third and Fourth Intenationals; Russian revolutionary, anarchist and socialist movements, especially the Rossiiskaia sotsial- demokraticheskaia rabochaia partiia (RSDRP) and its Menshevik wing; the Partiia sotsialistov-revoliutsionerov (PSR); the Russian Revolution and Civil War; Russian politics and government in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries; communism in the Soviet Union; Russian emigre politics; the Vlasov movement during World War II; and Russian displaced persons after World War II. Includes records of the RSDRP, the PSR, and other organizations; and papers of Rafail Abramovich, Pavel Aksel'rod, Viktor Chernov, Leon Trotsky, Iraklii TSereteli, and many others. Also includes papers of B. I. Nicolaevsky. Includes documents from Anna M. Bourguina.
1910-1941
Diaries, correspondence, speeches and writings, memoranda, and clippings, relating to Ukraine during the Russian Revolution, Ukrainian territorial questions, the cooperative movements in Ukraine, and Ukrainians in Canada and the United States.
Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty Ukrainian Service records
1957-2007
American radio broadcasting organization operating Radio Free Europe and Radio Liberty. The Ukrainian Service also known as Radio Svoboda includes editor's file, correspondence, letters from listeners, scripts, and sound recordings. Target regions include Ukraine. Languages include Ukrainian, Russian, and Crimean Tatar.
Spasokukots'kyi (Serhii) photographs
1990-1992
Depicts social and political scenes in Ukraine, including nationalist gatherings and demonstrations, religious services, ceremonies marking the establishment of Ukrainian independence, and sessions of Ukrainian governmental bodies.
1905-2022
The newspapers in this collection were originally collected by the Hoover Institution Library and transferred to the Archives in 2019. The Ukraine newspaper collection (1905-2022) comprises eighty two titles of publication in Ukrainian, Russian, Spanish, and English. All titles within this collection have been further analyzed in Stanford University Libraries catalog.
Ukrainian pictorial collection
1989-2004
Photographs of various scenes from Ukraine, and especially of demonstrations for Ukrainian independence, and of Ukrainian government officials and governing bodies in session.
1905-2023
Memoranda, pamphlets, serial issues, proclamations, broadsides, leaflets, flyers, election campaign literature, and video tapes, relating to various aspects of Ukrainian history, mainly in the Soviet and post-Soviet periods, and especially to events leading up to establishment of Ukrainian independence in 1991, and to subsequent Ukrainian politics and elections.
Ukrains'ke Presove Agentstvo press releases
1989-1991
Relates to political developments in the Ukraine and the Soviet Union and to the movement for Ukrainian independence. Includes a few clippings, pamphlets, and serial issues.
click to see more results for "Ukraine" at the Hoover Library & Archives.
8:30 am - 4:30 pm
(by reservation)
Exhibitions & Observation Deck
10:00 am - 4:00 pm
We are closed for major holidays, Stanford home football games, and campus winter closure.