Collection consists of correspondence, reports, and financial records, relating to Russian-American trade, and to Russian procurement of supplies in the United States during World War I and the Russian Civil War.
Photo: Vladimir Nikolaevich Bashkirov papers, Box 2, Folder 2, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Minutes of meetings, resolutions, reports, and correspondence, relating to the Russian Civil War and to activities of the Konstitutsionno-demokraticheskaia partiia in exile.
Photo: Konstitutsionno-demokraticheskaia partiia records, Box 1, Page 467, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Correspondence, speeches and writings, reports, memoranda, essays, editorial files, printed matter, photographs, and memorabilia relating to Russia in World War I, the Russian Revolution and Civil War, anti-Bolshevik movements, the Russian economy and industry, conditions in the Soviet Union after the Revolution, and Russian literary and political émigré affairs. Includes papers of the wife and sons of Petr Struve.
Photo: Petr B. Struve papers, Box 11, Folder 38, Hoover Instittution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Correspondence, writings, notes, memoranda, reports, military orders, and photographs, relating to Russian military activities during the Russo-Japanese War, World War I, and the Russian Civil War, and especially to the organization of the Dobrovol'cheskaia Armiia. Includes some posthumous biographical material.
Photo: Mikhail V. Alekseev papers, Box 1, Folder 5, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
1905-1956
Correspondence, writings, notes, memoranda, reports, military orders, and photographs, relating to Russian military activities during the Russo-Japanese War, World War I, and the Russian Civil War, and especially to the organization of the Dobrovol'cheskaia Armiia. Includes some posthumous biographical material
Bashkirov (Vladimir Nikolaevich) papers
1909-1928
Collection consists of correspondence, reports, and financial records, relating to Russian-American trade, and to Russian procurement of supplies in the United States during World War I and the Russian Civil War.
Breshko-Breshkovskaia (Ekaterina) miscellaneous papers
1919-1931
Writings, correspondence, biographical data, and photographs, relating to the life of E. Breshko-Breshkovskaia. Includes drafts of the book by E. Breshko-Breshkovskaia, The Hidden Springs of the Russian Revolution (Stanford University Press, 1931); a biographical sketch of E. Breshko-Breshkovskaia by Aleksandr Kerenskii; and three letters by E. Breshko-Breshkovskaia.
Bungey (Grace Belle Reames) papers
1918-1981
Photographs, memorabilia, and miscellany, relating to Red Cross relief work in Siberia during the Russian Revolution, and subsequent travels and personal matters.
1861-1929
Correspondence, writings, diaries, memoranda, transcripts of documents from Russian archives, printed matter, and photographs, relating to Russian history in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, the Russian American Company in Alaska, conditions in Russia during the Russian Revolution and Civil War, and American Relief Administration work in Russia.
Kerensky (Aleksandr F.) miscellaneous papers
1945-1965
Correspondence and writings, relating to the Russian Revolution and personal matters. Includes a history by Kerensky, entitled "The Genesis of the 'October Revolution' of 1917", and correspondence with Vasilii Maklakov, Michael Karpovich and Anatole G. Mazour.
Konstitutsionno-demokraticheskaia partiia records
1920-1924
Minutes of meetings, resolutions, reports, and correspondence, relating to the Russian Civil War and to activities of the Konstitutsionno-demokraticheskaia partiia in exile.
Kornilov (Lavr Georgievich) miscellany
1917-1918
Letter signed by L. G. Kornilov, copies of a speech and orders by him, and related printed matter, relating to the Russian Civil War. In part also available on microfilm (1 reel).
1881-1956
Correspondence, speeches and writings, reports, diaries, and clippings, relating to Russian foreign relations with France, the Bessarabian territorial question, the Russian Revolution, and Russian emigres in France after the revolution.
Murav'eva (Ekaterina I.) papers
1916-1948
Correspondence, memoirs, and notes, relating to the Russian Revolution and political events in Russia and abroad. Correspondents include V. A. Maklakov, P. N. Miliukov, Ekaterina Kuskova, Vera Figner and other leading Russian political figures..
Schilling (J. M.) translations
undated
Translations of documents published in the Soviet journal Krasnyi Arkhiv during the 1920s. Includes translations of excerpts from the diaries of the Russian statesman A. A. Polovtsov, 1877-1908; of dispatches by foreign diplomats in Russia at the time of the February 1917 Revolution; and of White Russian forces in the south of Russia, 1918-1919.
1890-1987
Correspondence, speeches and writings, reports, memoranda, essays, editorial files, printed matter, photographs, and memorabilia relating to Russia in World War I, the Russian Revolution and Civil War, anti-Bolshevik movements, the Russian economy and industry, conditions in the Soviet Union after the Revolution, and Russian literary and political émigré affairs. Includes papers of the wife and sons of Petr Struve.
1930-1933
Research notes, drafts of writings, and translations, relating to a proposed publication entitled Revolution and Civil War In Siberia and the Far East, pertaining to events of the Russian Revolution and Civil War in Siberia.
Relates to the evacuation of the American Expeditionary Forces in Siberia from Omsk to Irkutsk, September 4-October 4, 1919.
Photo: E. Alfred Davies Diary typescript, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Reminiscences, letters, and printed matter, relating to activities of the United States 31st Infantry Regiment in Siberia, and to the Russian Revolution in Siberia.
Photo: Joseph B. Longuevan collection, oversized folder, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Correspondence, memoranda, writings, newspaper clippings, memorabilia, and photographs relating to Young Men's Christian Association and American Expeditionary Forces activities in Siberia, political developments during the last stages of the Russian Civil War, and the Allied intervention.
Photo: Marmaduke R. Clark papers, Box 1, Folder 1, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Bugbee (Fred William) correspondence
1919-1921
Excerpts from letters from F. W. Bugbee to his wife, 1919-1920, and a letter from General William S. Graves to F. W. Bugbee, 1921, relating to American intervention and the Russian Civil War in Siberia. Photocopy.
1851-1973
Diaries, military documents, and clippings, relating to American military intervention in the Arkhangel'sk region during the Russian Civil War. Includes typed transcript of diaries, published as Fighting the Bolsheviks: The Russian War Memoir of Private First Class Donald E. Carey, U.S. Army, 1918-1919 (Novato, Calif., 1997).
1918-1920
Correspondence, memoranda, writings, newspaper clippings, memorabilia, and photographs relating to Young Men's Christian Association and American Expeditionary Forces activities in Siberia, political developments during the last stages of the Russian Civil War, and the Allied intervention.
1919
Relates to the evacuation of the American Expeditionary Forces in Siberia from Omsk to Irkutsk, September 4-October 4, 1919.
Faulstich (Edith M.) collection
1918-1975
Diaries, letters, and reminiscences of members of the American Expeditionary Forces in Siberia, reports, notes, printed matter, and photographs, relating to American military activities in Siberia during the Russian Revolution.
Ferguson (Alan) correspondence
1938-1939
Relates to the history of the American Expeditionary Forces in Siberia. Photocopy.
1919
Relates to conditions in the Archangel area, and to American military operations in that area, during the Russian Civil War. Includes a printed article by F. J. Funk relating to his experiences in North Russia. Photocopy.
1914-1932
Correspondence, reports, monographs, and photographs, relating to the Allied intervention in Siberia, 1918-1919. A table of contents listing each document begins each folder.
1918-1920
Military intelligence studies, photographs, clippings, and memorabilia, relating to activities of the 27th Infantry Regiment in Siberia, 1918-1920.
1894-1930
Reports, memoranda, and correspondence relating to the Russian Civil War in Siberia, the Czechoslovak Legion, political and economic conditions in Siberia, and American policy in Siberia.
1919
Letters to his family, relating to conditions in Siberia during the Russian Revolution.
1920-1976
Correspondence, reminiscences, and photocopies of documents, relating to the American Expeditionary Forces in Siberia during the Russian Revolution, and especially to the Posolskaia incident.
Longuevan (Joseph B.) collection
1918-1986
Reminiscences, letters, and printed matter, relating to activities of the United States 31st Infantry Regiment in Siberia, and to the Russian Revolution in Siberia.
1918-1919
Photographs, correspondence, and memorabilia, relating to the activities of the Canadian and other Allied expeditionary forces in Siberia.
1850-1977
Correspondence, writings, reports, military and legal documents, identification papers, certificates, biographical data, printed matter, and photographs, relating primarily to American military operations in Russia during the Russian Civil War, and to American military intelligence activities in the Russian Civil War and World War II.
1918-1919
Relates to activities of the American Expeditionary Forces in Siberia.
1918-1980
Memoirs, correspondence, writings, bulletins, clippings, and photographs, relating to American military activities in Siberia during the Russian Revolution.
Taylor (Virginia Cooper Westall) papers
1918-1992
Writings, correspondence, printed matter, photographs, and maps, relating to the American Expeditionary Force to Siberia during the Russian Civil War. Includes a book-length typescript study. Also includes extensive transcripts of reminiscences by General Robert L. Eichelberger, relating to his early military service in Siberia and elsewhere, and to his recollections of General Douglas MacArthur during World War II and the Korean War.
1918-1920
Depicts American and other foreign troops in Siberia during the Russian Revolution, scenes of the Russian Civil War in Siberia, and American troops and scenes of everyday life in the Philippines.
1922
Depicts the American gunboat Sacramento and other foreign warships in Vladivostok harbor, Japanese and Russian troops in Vladivostok, and scenes of daily life in Vladivostok at the conclusion of Allied intervention during the Russian Civil War. Includes commentary on the photographs and related documentation assembled by Robert L. Zilm.
click to see more results for "American Intervention in Siberia" at the Hoover Library & Archives.
The Nikolaĭ Vsevolodovich Shinkarenko memoirs contain material relating to Russian cavalry operations in World War I, White Russian military operations in the Russian Civil War, Spanish military operations in Africa, and Francoist military operations in the Spanish Civil War. Includes copies of letters and photographs.
Photo: Nikolai Shinkarenko, Box 1, Folder 2, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Reports, orders, correspondence, memoranda, dispatches, financial records, minutes, printed matter, maps, and photographs relating to Russian military operations in France during World War I; White Russian diplomatic activities and military operations, especially in southern Russia, during the Russian Revolution and Civil War, including military purchasing and intelligence operations; administration of territory under White Russian control during the Civil War; the evacuation of White Russian military personnel and civilians from the Crimea in 1920; and the resettlement of Russian refugees in Turkey and various European countries. Includes records of the Russian Expeditionary Corps in France, the Volunteer Army, the Armed Forces of Southern Russia, the Northwestern Army, the Foreign Supply Directorate, military representatives in foreign countries and attached to the Allied Supreme Command, and the Russian Army in exile, and some personal papers of Baron Petr Vrangel', commander-in-chief successively of the Armed Forces of Southern Russia and Russian Army. The majority of the collection is also available on microfilm (220 reels). Digital copies of select records also available at https://digitalcollections.hoover.org.
Correspondence, diaries, writings, notes, and clippings relating to White Russian and Soviet activities in Mongolia during the Russian Revolution, and the Russian émigré population during the Russian Civil War and subsequent years. Includes a memoir entitled Baron Ungern, Urga i Altan-Bulak : Zapiski Ochevidtsa Smutnom Vremeni vo Vneshneĭ (Khakhaskoĭ) Mongoliĭ v Pervoĭ Treti II-go Veka relating to counter-revolutionary events in Mongolia during the Russian Revolution, and a translation by Elena Varneck of the memoir. Microfilm copies of memoir and translation available (2 reels).
Photo: Dmitrii Petrovich Pershin paprers, Box 1, Folder 18, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Writings, correspondence, and handbills, relating to the Russian Civil War, and the rebellion of workers and peasants in Izhevsk against the Bolsheviks, 1918.
Photo: Dmitri Fedichkin papers, Box 1, Folder 1, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
These records consist of select documents of the Russkii obshche-voinskii soiuz, (ROVS), the Russian All-Military Union. Formed by General Petr N. Vrangel' in 1924, ROVS managed to preserve the military structure of the demilitarized White Army in exile, while integrating its members into civilian life. ROVS played an important role in redefining the White Army's ideology, and provided essential support to its members in emigration. These records include detailed lists of ROVS members, correspondence, circulars, orders, and reports.
Photo: Russkii Obshche-voinskii soiuz (ROVS) records, Box 9, Letter Z, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Correspondence, studies, reports, telegrams, memoranda, statistics, charts, clippings, and other printed matter, relating to White Russian diplomatic, political, and military activities during the Russian Revolution, Russian émigré activities, and conditions in Russia during and after the Revolution.
Photo: Mikhail N. Girs papers, Box 27, Folder 4, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
1917-1998
Diary, memoirs, letters, notes, biographical and genealogical data, and printed matter, relating to the White Russian military commander Dmitrii Khorvat, and to the Khorvat and Benois families in Russia and China. Photocopy.
1918-1919
Writings, correspondence, and handbills, relating to the Russian Civil War, and the rebellion of workers and peasants in Izhevsk against the Bolsheviks, 1918.
1917-1926
Correspondence, studies, reports, telegrams, memoranda, statistics, charts, clippings, and other printed matter, relating to White Russian diplomatic, political, and military activities during the Russian Revolution, Russian émigré activities, and conditions in Russia during and after the Revolution.
Guins (George Constantine) papers
1917-1971
George C. Guins is best known to historians as the administrative secretary (upravliaiushchii delami) of the Siberian (later All-Russian) anti-Bolshevik government at Omsk. The George George Constantine Guins papers (1917-1971) consist of correspondence, speeches and writings, notes, reports, declarations, and printed matter relating to the Russian Revolution and Civil War in the Siberian Far East, activities of anti-Bolshevik forces in Siberia, Japanese intervention, and the history, culture and legal systems of Russia and the Soviet Union. It also includes biographical data on members of the Guins family.
Kapustianskii (A. P.) typescript
1984
Relates to the Russian Civil War and Russian émigré affairs. Photocopy.
Khitrovo (Vladimir Sergeevich) papers
1910-1967
These papers contain the correspondence and writings of Vladimir Sergeevich Khitrovo, a graduate of the Pazheskii korpus and participant of World War I and member of the White Army.
Ob"edinenie chinov Kornilovskogo udarnogo polka records
1917-1984
Correspondence, financial records, and photographs, relating to operations of the Kornilovskii Polk during the Russian Civil War, and to postwar activities of its veterans in emigration.
Pershin (Dimitrii Petrovich) papers
1914-1950
Correspondence, diaries, writings, notes, and clippings relating to White Russian and Soviet activities in Mongolia during the Russian Revolution, and the Russian émigré population during the Russian Civil War and subsequent years. Includes a memoir entitled Baron Ungern, Urga i Altan-Bulak : Zapiski Ochevidtsa Smutnom Vremeni vo Vneshneĭ (Khakhaskoĭ) Mongoliĭ v Pervoĭ Treti II-go Veka relating to counter-revolutionary events in Mongolia during the Russian Revolution, and a translation by Elena Varneck of the memoir. Microfilm copies of memoir and translation available (2 reels).
Ob"edinenie chinov Kornilovskogo udarnogo polka records
1917-1984
Correspondence, financial records, and photographs, relating to operations of the Kornilovskii Polk during the Russian Civil War, and to postwar activities of its veterans in emigration.
Russkii Obshche-voinskii soiuz (ROVS) records
1919-1986
These records consist of select documents of the Russkii obshche-voinskii soiuz, (ROVS), the Russian All-Military Union. Formed by General Petr N. Vrangel' in 1924, ROVS managed to preserve the military structure of the demilitarized White Army in exile, while integrating its members into civilian life. ROVS played an important role in redefining the White Army's ideology, and provided essential support to its members in emigration. These records include detailed lists of ROVS members, correspondence, circulars, orders, and reports.
Shinkarenko (Nikolai Vsevolodovich) memoirs
1913-1961
The Nikolaĭ Vsevolodovich Shinkarenko memoirs contain material relating to Russian cavalry operations in World War I, White Russian military operations in the Russian Civil War, Spanish military operations in Africa, and Francoist military operations in the Spanish Civil War. Includes copies of letters and photographs.
Turkul (A. V. (Anton Vasil'evich) papers
1911-1956
The bulk of the papers of Turkel, a Major general in the White Russian army and commanding general of the Drozdovska´i`a strelkova´i`a divizi´i`a consist of correspondence with former comrades-in-arms relating to memories of the Civil War, as well as to émigré politics in the 1950s. The papers also include writings, printed matter, and photographs.
Vologodskii (Petr Vasil'evich) papers
1918-1925
Diaries, resolutions, reports, and translations of diary excerpts relating to the Omsk government, the Russian Civil War in Siberia, and economic conditions in Siberia. Diary also available on microfilm (1 reel).
1916-1929
Reports, orders, correspondence, memoranda, dispatches, financial records, minutes, printed matter, maps, and photographs relating to Russian military operations in France during World War I; White Russian diplomatic activities and military operations, especially in southern Russia, during the Russian Revolution and Civil War, including military purchasing and intelligence operations; administration of territory under White Russian control during the Civil War; the evacuation of White Russian military personnel and civilians from the Crimea in 1920; and the resettlement of Russian refugees in Turkey and various European countries. Includes records of the Russian Expeditionary Corps in France, the Volunteer Army, the Armed Forces of Southern Russia, the Northwestern Army, the Foreign Supply Directorate, military representatives in foreign countries and attached to the Allied Supreme Command, and the Russian Army in exile, and some personal papers of Baron Petr Vrangel', commander-in-chief successively of the Armed Forces of Southern Russia and Russian Army. The majority of the collection is also available on microfilm (220 reels). Digital copies of select records also available at https://digitalcollections.hoover.org.
1846-2003
The Vrangel' family papers include correspondence, printed matter, and photographs, relating to Russian military activities during World War I, White Russian military activities during the Russian Civil War, and especially to Russian émigré affairs in the interwar period. Includes obituaries of Petr Vrangel' and letters of condolence following his death. Mainly in Russian.
Vrangel' (Mariia D.) collection
1915-1944
Correspondence, writings, memoirs, biographical material, pamphlets, periodicals, newspapers, photographs, clippings, and printed matter relating to Russian émigré activities following the Russian Revolution and Civil War, including political, military, veterans', religious, educational, cultural, literary, artistic, and social activities. Includes a few papers of M. D. Vrangel'. Also available on microfilm (49 reels). Digital copies of select records also available at https://digitalcollections.hoover.org.
Depicts Czechoslovak, White Russian and Allied troops in Siberia during the Russian Civil War. Includes photographs of Admiral Aleksandr Kolchak.
Photo: R. Gajda photograph album, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Breitigam (Gerald B.) typescript
1923
Fictionalized account, relating to activities of the Czechoslovak Legion during the Russian Civil War. Published in Adventure Magazine.
1918-1920
Diary and letters, relating to the Russian Revolution and Civil War, and the Allied intervention in Siberia, 1918-1920. Photocopy.
1918-1919
Correspondence, reports, maps, photographs, and clippings, relating to the activities of the Russian Railway Service Corps, the political situation in Russia during the Russian Civil War, and the Czechoslovak Legion in Siberia.
1918-1919
Depicts Czechoslovak, White Russian and Allied troops in Siberia during the Russian Civil War. Includes photographs of Admiral Aleksandr Kolchak.
Harris (Gladys) photograph collection
1919
Depicts the headquarters of the American Expeditionary Forces in Siberia, and officers of the Japanese and Czechoslovak forces in Vladivostok.
1918-1920
Orders, proclamations, leaflets, pamphlets, serial issues, writings, and photographs relating to the activities of the Czechoslovak Legion during the Russian Civil War. Includes a history of the Legion, entitled The Operations of the Czechoslovak Army in Russia in the Years 1917-1920.
Legie ruská photograph collection
1897-1922
Photograph albums depicting the Czechoslovak Legion (Legie ruská) in Siberia, 1918-1920, as well as earlier activity on Eastern Front in WWI before their arrival in Siberia.
Janin (Pierre Thiebaut Charles Maurice) diary extracts
1918-1920
Relates to Allied intervention in the Russian Civil War. Extracts published in Le Monde slave, 1924-1925.
1918-1920
Typescript memoirs of participation in the Czechoslovak Legion in Russia during the Russian Civil War.
1919-1956
Letters, reports, citations, photographs, and memorabilia, relating to activities of the American Red Cross in Siberia and Poland. Includes an account of various operations of the Czechoslovak Legion in Siberia.
1918
Depicts scenes at Vladivostok during the Russian Civil War, the Allied intervention, and the Czechoslovak Legion.
Story (Russell McCulloch) papers
1917-1921
Letters, photographs, and glass slides, relating to relief work in Russia, conditions in Moscow and elsewhere in Russia during the Russian Revolution, and the Czechoslovak Legion; and depicting scenes in Japan, Russia and western Europe.
8:30 am - 4:30 pm
(by reservation)
Exhibitions & Observation Deck
10:00 am - 4:00 pm
We are closed for major holidays, Stanford home football games, and campus winter closure.