Printed matter, writings, letters, photographs, and miscellany, relating to the Russian writers Isaak Babel', Boris Pasternak and Joseph Brodsky. Consists primarily of printed matter by and about Pasternak, Brodsky and Babel'.
Photo: Irwin T. and Shirley Holtzman collection, Box 45, Doctor Zhivago, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Poems and other writings, correspondence, identification and legal documents, diaries, printed matter, and photographs relating to political dissent in the Soviet Union, conditions in forced labor camps, Russian literature, and Russian-Latvian cultural relations.
Photo: Mikhail Mikhailovich Krasil'nikov papers, Box 1, Folder 7, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Writings, diaries, correspondence, interrogation and trial records, printed matter, sound recordings, photographs, and memorabilia relating to Russian literature, civil rights in the Soviet Union, political trials and conditions of political prisoners in the Soviet Union, and Russian émigré affairs. Includes records of the Russian-language Paris journal Sintaksis, published and edited by A. Sini͡avskiĭ and M. Rozanova.
Photo: Andrei Siniavskii papers, Box 160, Folder 9, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Correspondence, speeches and writings, printed matter, and audio-visual material, relating to Russian literature and culture both in the Soviet Union and the emigration, political conditions in the Soviet Union, Soviet dissidents, and the Russian emigre community. Includes correspondence and writings of Nikolai Gumilev, Marina Tsvetaeva and other Russian writers. Available on microfilm (265 reels). Digital copies of selected items also available.
Photo: Glev Struve papers, Box 87, Folder 17, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Correspondence, poems, other writings, printed matter, photographs, and drawings relating to Russian literature and dissent. Includes transcript of 1964 trial of Joseph Brodsky in the Soviet Union. Mainly collected by Diana Myers. Includes some papers of Diana Myers.
Photo: Joseph Brodsky papers, Box 1, Folder 8, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Writings, correspondence, notes, printed matter, and photographs relating to Russian literature and art and the Russian émigré community. Includes material on Viktor Chernov, Leonid Andreyev, Boris Pasternak and Aleksandr Solzhenit͡syn.
Photo: Olga Andreyev Carlisle papers, Box 67, Folder 2, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Correspondence and writings relating to the Soviet poet and singer Bulat Okudzhava.
Photo: Vladimir Frumkin papers, Box 1, Last folder, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Correspondence, writings, printed matter, personal documents, and photographs, relating to literature and philosophy. Includes papers of Sergei Gessen, father of Dymitr Hessen.
Photo: Dymitr Hessen papers, Box 2, Folder 19, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Correspondence, diaries, memoirs, other writings, biographical data, printed matter, drawings, photographs, and other audiovisual material relating to Russian art and literature, culture in the Soviet Union, and Russian émigré life. Includes papers of Leonid and Rosalia Pasternak; their sons, the poet and novelist Boris Pasternak and architect and memoirist Aleksandr Pasternak; their daughters, Josephine Pasternak and Lydia Pasternak Slater; and other family members.
Photo: Pasternak family papers, Box 21, Folder 1, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
1926-1983
Writings, letters, printed matter, and photographs, relating to Russian samizdat literature, and to the Russian writers Boris Pasternak and Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn.
1963-2013
Correspondence, poems, other writings, printed matter, photographs, and drawings relating to Russian literature and dissent. Includes transcript of 1964 trial of Joseph Brodsky in the Soviet Union. Mainly collected by Diana Myers. Includes some papers of Diana Myers.
Carlisle (Olga Andreyev) papers
1901-2016
Writings, correspondence, notes, printed matter, and photographs relating to Russian literature and art and the Russian émigré community. Includes material on Viktor Chernov, Leonid Andreyev, Boris Pasternak and Aleksandr Solzhenit͡syn.
1957-2015
Correspondence, poems, other writings, printed matter, photographs, and drawings relating to Russian literature and dissent. Includes transcript of 1964 trial of Joseph Brodsky in the Soviet Union. Mainly collected by Diana Myers. Includes some papers of Diana Myers.
1918-1996
Correspondence, writings, and printed matter, relating to Russian literature and to Russian emigre affairs.
1962-1990
Writings and photographs, relating to Boris Pasternak, Leo Tolstoy and other Russian literary figures, and to various aspects of Russian literature.
1968-1994
Correspondence and writings relating to the Soviet poet and singer Bulat Okudzhava.
1921
Relates to the need for foreign relief to aid Russian intellectuals. Includes four essays by Soviet scholars, relating to the literary, political, and humanitarian ideas of M. Gorky.
Grani articles submitted for publication
1955-2002
The collection contains novels, poems, and articles submitted for publication in literary, cultural, and political magazine Grani.
1908-2002
Correspondence, writings, printed matter, personal documents, and photographs, relating to literature and philosophy. Includes papers of Sergei Gessen, father of Dymitr Hessen.
Holtzman (Irwin T. and Shirley) collection
1899-2010
Printed matter, writings, letters, photographs, and miscellany, relating to the Russian writers Isaak Babel', Boris Pasternak and Joseph Brodsky. Consists primarily of printed matter by and about Pasternak, Brodsky and Babel'..
1905-1986
Clippings, photocopies of articles and pamphlets, photographs, notes, and bibliographies relating to Russian literature and art, especially in the emigration, and particularly to the writer Alekseĭ Remizov.
1973-1979
Correspondence with the Russian-American literary historian Gleb Struve and others, relating primarily to the Russian writer Anna Akhmatova. Photocopy.
Krasil'nikov (Mikhail Mikhailovich) papers
1948-1996
Poems and other writings, correspondence, identification and legal documents, diaries, printed matter, and photographs relating to political dissent in the Soviet Union, conditions in forced labor camps, Russian literature, and Russian-Latvian cultural relations.
Kruzenshtern-Peterets (IU.) papers
1923-1983
Memoirs, correspondence, writings, printed matter, and photographs relating to Russian literature and Russian émigré affairs.
1978-1992
Correspondence, clippings, and other printed matter, relating to the Polish writer Józef Mackiewicz, and to the Katyn Forest Massacre. Includes correspondence with Mackiewicz.
1948
Fictionalized account of the German occupation of Stavropol' in 1942. Written under a pseudonym. Includes contemporary publication rejection correspondence.
1920-1973
Memoirs, other writings, correspondence, and printed matter, relating to literature in the Soviet Union, and to the Soviet "anti-cosmopolitanism" campaign in 1949.
Litvinov (Ivy and Tatiana) papers
1890-2008
The Ivy and Tatiana Litvinov papers contain autobiographical, fictional, and other writings; interview transcripts; diaries; correspondence; and sound recordings relating to the life of Ivy Litvinov in Great Britain and the Soviet Union, her marriage to the Soviet foreign minister Maksim Litvinov, and British and Russian literature. The papers also include correspondence, speeches and writings, and art works by Ivy Litvinov's daughter, Tatiana Litvinov, who was an artist and translator.
1921-2010
The papers consist mostly of writings and research materials relating to political conditions and human rights in Yugoslavia and the Soviet Union, and to Russian literature. Additional materials include correspondence, printed matter, and sound and video recordings.
1877-2013
Correspondence, diaries, memoirs, other writings, biographical data, printed matter, drawings, photographs, and other audiovisual material relating to Russian art and literature, culture in the Soviet Union, and Russian émigré life. Includes papers of Leonid and Rosalia Pasternak; their sons, the poet and novelist Boris Pasternak and architect and memoirist Aleksandr Pasternak; their daughters, Josephine Pasternak and Lydia Pasternak Slater; and other family members.
Popovskii (Mark A.) collection
1919-1977
Reminiscences, reports, correspondence, and other writings of members of Tolstovtsy communes in the Soviet Union, relating to the agrarian dissent movement of followers of Leo Tolstoy. Digital use copies of the entire collection are available in the reading room.
1919-1977
Writings, diaries, correspondence, interrogation and trial records, printed matter, sound recordings, photographs, and memorabilia relating to Russian literature, civil rights in the Soviet Union, political trials and conditions of political prisoners in the Soviet Union, and Russian émigré affairs. Includes records of the Russian-language Paris journal Sintaksis, published and edited by A. Sini͡avskiĭ and M. Rozanova.
1987-2000
Clippings, photographs, sound recordings, videotape cassettes, and miscellany, relating mainly to the Russian writer Joseph Brodsky.
Soloukhin (Vladimir Alekseevich) writings
1976-1982
Relates to Russian literature. Distributed in samizdat form. Photocopy.
Solzhenitsyn (Aleksandr Isaevich) speeches and writings
1975-1982
Sound recordings of speeches, and typescript and printed copies of speeches and writings, relating to the literary works of A. Solzhenitsyn, and to civil rights in the Soviet Union. Includes the text of his Harvard University commencement address, 1978, and clippings reflecting American public reaction to it. Also includes articles, publicity leaflets, clippings, photographs, and a motion picture film, relating to A. Solzhenitsyn, especially to his visits to the Hoover Institution on War, Revolution and Peace in 1975 and 1976.
Solzhenitsyn (Nataliia) speech
1978
Relates to civil rights in the Soviet Union. Delivered before the Believers of Freedom, Hanover, New Hampshire.
1810-1998
Correspondence, speeches and writings, printed matter, and audio-visual material, relating to Russian literature and culture both in the Soviet Union and the emigration, political conditions in the Soviet Union, Soviet dissidents, and the Russian emigre community. Includes correspondence and writings of Nikolai Gumilev, Marina Tsvetaeva and other Russian writers. Available on microfilm (265 reels). Digital copies of selected items also available.
1858-2006
Papers contain memoirs, diaries, poems, other writings, certificates, and photograph, relating to political and cultural conditions in the Soviet Union and post-Soviet Russia, Russian literature, purges in the Soviet Union during the 1930s, and the execution for anti-Soviet activities in 1938 of Edgar Polents, father of O. E. Tuganova, and his posthumous rehabilitation in 1956.
8:30 am - 4:30 pm
(by reservation)
Exhibitions & Observation Deck
10:00 am - 4:00 pm
We are closed for major holidays, Stanford home football games, and campus winter closure.