Russia and Eurasia Collections at the Hoover Institution Library & Archives

The Hoover Institution’s holdings on Turkmenistan are strongest for the post-1991 independence period, although there are mentions of the region in the aftermath of the Russian revolution in the V. Klemm writings and other collections relating to the Russian Civil War. Among the significant collections documenting more contemporary issues in Turkmenistan are the Paul B. Henze papers and the RFE/RL Broadcast and Corporate records.

Archives of the Soviet communist party and Soviet state microfilm collection: Russian State Archives of Social and Political History (Rossiiskii gosudarstvennyi arkhiv sotsialno-politicheskoi istorii - RGASPI)

     1917-1991

Relates to political conditions in the Soviet Union from 1917 to 1991. Filmed from finding aids and holdings dating from 1903 to 1991 of the Rossiiskii gosudarstvennyĭ arkhiv sot͡sial'no-politicheskoi istorii.

Henze (Paul B.) papers

     1856-2010

The Paul B. Henze papers consist of diaries, writings, correspondence, notes, memoranda, reports, research materials, printed matter, and photographs relating to Radio Free Europe and Radio Liberty broadcasting to Eastern Europe and the Soviet Union; conditions in Eastern Europe, the Soviet Union and the former Soviet Union, especially the Caucasus and Central Asia; and conditions in Ethiopia and the Horn of Africa. The papers include publications of Radio Free Europe, Radio Liberty, and related organizations, as well as research materials for the numerous books and articles written by Henze, particularly The Plot to Kill the Pope (New York, 1983).

Klemm (V.) writings

     1922-26

Autobiographical sketch, 1926; a history, entitled Ocherk Revoliutsionnykh Sobytii v Russkoi Srednei Azii (1922); and a translation of the above. Klemm was a White Russian political leader during the Russian Civil War.

Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty Turkmen Service records

     1988-2007

American radio broadcasting organization operating Radio Free Europe and Radio Liberty. The Turkmen Service also known as Radio Azatlyk includes editor's file, and sound recordings. Target regions include Turkmenistan. Languages include Turkmen.

SEE MORE:

click to see more results for "Turkmenistan" at the Hoover Library & Archives.