Correspondence, memoranda, reports, proposals, financial records, serial issues, and other printed matter relating to Soviet-American cultural relations, relations between the United States and the successor states to the Soviet Union, and environmental programs in those states.
Photo: Institute for Soviet American Relations records, Box 4, Folder 12, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Sound recordings and transcripts of interviews of Soviet and American officials, relating to Soviet foreign policy during the presidency of Mikhail Gorbachev. Project sponsored by the Hoover Institution on War, Revolution and Peace and the Mezhdunarodnyĭ fond sotsial'no-ėkonomikcheskikh i politologicheskikh issledovaniĭ.
Photo: Hoover Institution and the Gorbachev Foundation (Moscow) collection, Box 2, Folder 10, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Correspondence, conference proceedings, bulletins, press releases, financial records, booklets, sound recordings, and videotapes, relating to American foreign and domestic policy, the moral and intellectual climate in the Western world, relations between the United States and Europe and the Soviet Union, and international communism and anti-communist movements.
Photo: Committee for the Free World records, Box 18, Folder 1983, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Barnett (Frank R.) miscellaneous papers
1957-1990
Speeches and writings, memoranda, letters, and photographs, relating to Soviet-American relations, American foreign policy and military policy, national security, psychological warfare operations, and activities of the National Strategy Information Center.
1932-2006
The papers are comprised of writings, correspondence, and research materials relating to Arnold Beichman's career as a political journalist and author. The collection contains numerous articles and columns published in The Washington Times, as well as drafts of several books written by Beichman. The research materials consist of articles, clippings, and other printed matter largely pertaining to communism, the Soviet Union, and politics in the United States and Great Britain.
Bogoiavlensky (Nikolai) Vasil'evich correspondence
1928-1937
Relates to foreign relations between the United States and the Soviet Union, and to political activities of Russian immigrants in the United States.
Bungey (Grace Belle Reames) papers
1918-1981
Photographs, memorabilia, and miscellany, relating to Red Cross relief work in Siberia during the Russian Revolution, and subsequent travels and personal matters.
Burland (Elmer Granville) miscellaneous papers
1922-1925
Memorandum, letters, and miscellany, relating to American Relief Administration operations in Russia, and to Soviet-American commercial relations.
1911-1956
Memoranda, reports, correspondence, clippings, photographs, and pamphlets, relating to American foreign and economic relations with China in the interwar period and immediately after World War II, and to American foreign and trade relations with the Soviet Union, Egypt and Malaya.
Committee for the Free World records
1980-1991
Correspondence, conference proceedings, bulletins, press releases, financial records, booklets, sound recordings, and videotapes, relating to American foreign and domestic policy, the moral and intellectual climate in the Western world, relations between the United States and Europe and the Soviet Union, and international communism and anti-communist movements.
Davies (Joseph) Edward letters
undated
Two letters, relating to American-Soviet relations. Includes clippings about Davies, and an autographed copy of his book, Mission to Moscow.
1926-1996
The collection documents the U.S. Foreign Service career and post-retirement of Elbridge Durbrow relating to the spread of communism, U.S. foreign policy and world politics following World War II, represented in the form of correspondence, clippings, interview transcripts, speeches and writings, press summaries, other printed material, and memorabilia. Consisting largely of Durbrow's writings, research materials, and correspondence, the collection reflects Durbrow's vast subject knowledge and expertise in foreign affairs.
East West Trade Associates records
1985-1992
Correspondence, promotional material, other printed matter, photographs, video tapes, and phonorecords, relating to exchange of American and Soviet jazz performers, and marketing of Soviet jazz in the United States.
First Fifty Years: Reflections on U.S.-Soviet Relations : video tape
1984
Finished videotape copy, transcript, and raw videotape footage, including interviews with former American government officials, relating to the history of Soviet-American relations and prospects for their future. Produced by Quest Productions.
Forum for U.S.-Soviet Dialogue records
1983-1997
Minutes, reports, conference proceedings, lists, brochures, newsletters, and photographs, relating to American-Soviet nongovernmental relations.
undated
Relates primarily to Soviet-American relations in the interwar period, and also to American Red Cross relief work in Russia, the Baltic States and Germany, 1919-1921, and to American-Irish relations. Published as A Question of Trust: The Origins of U.S.-Soviet Diplomatic Relations (Stanford, 1986). Includes transcripts of interviews and supplementary biographical material used in preparation of the book. Photocopy.
Hoover Institution and the Gorbachev Foundation (Moscow) collection
1998-2001
Sound recordings and transcripts of interviews of Soviet and American officials, relating to Soviet foreign policy during the presidency of Mikhail Gorbachev. Project sponsored by the Hoover Institution on War, Revolution and Peace and the Mezhdunarodnyĭ fond sotsial'no-ėkonomikcheskikh i politologicheskikh issledovaniĭ.
Institute for Soviet American Relations records
1986-2003
Correspondence, memoranda, reports, proposals, financial records, serial issues, and other printed matter relating to Soviet-American cultural relations, relations between the United States and the successor states to the Soviet Union, and environmental programs in those states.
Hoover Institution and the Gorbachev Foundation (Moscow) collection
1998-2001
Sound recordings and transcripts of interviews of Soviet and American officials, relating to Soviet foreign policy during the presidency of Mikhail Gorbachev. Project sponsored by the Hoover Institution on War, Revolution and Peace and the Mezhdunarodnyĭ fond sotsial'no-ėkonomikcheskikh i politologicheskikh issledovaniĭ.
1963-2004
Correspondence, notes, newsletters, bulletins, pamphlets, serial issues, clippings, and other printed matter, relating to peace, disarmament, Soviet-American relations, person to person exchanges between the United States and the Soviet Union, and religion in the Soviet Union.
Leitenberg (Milton) collection
1966-1978
Clippings, printed articles, press releases, press conference transcripts, and other printed matter, relating to Soviet-American arms limitation negotiations.
Macy (Francis Underhill) papers
1983-2007
Correspondence, reports, meeting materials, notes, lists, memoranda, printed matter, and photographs, relating to nongovernmental exchange programs between Americans and citizens of the Soviet Union and its successor republics, and to promotion of Gestalt psychology, environmentalism, nuclear safety and alternative energy sources in the Soviet Union and its successor republics.
1953-1994
Radio broadcast transcripts, other writings, and sound recordings, relating to American opinion regarding the Soviet Union and development of the Cold War between 1945 and 1948; investigation of subversive activities in the United States; and social conditions in the former Soviet Union.
undated
Relates to unoffical diplomatic and commercial relations between the United States and the Soviet Union during the 1920s.
USSR lend-lease program typescript
1945
Relates to American military assistance to the Soviet Union during World War II.
8:30 am - 4:30 pm
(by reservation)
Exhibitions & Observation Deck
10:00 am - 4:00 pm
We are closed for major holidays, Stanford home football games, and campus winter closure.