Clippings and other printed matter, relating to the disintegration of the Soviet Union, and to political conditions in post-Soviet Russia. Includes a 1968 official Soviet report (incomplete), summarizing results of the investigation of the Vserossiiskii sotsial-khristianskii soiuz osvobozhdeniia naroda, an anti-communist revolutionary organization in the Soviet Union.
Photo: Aminov Viacheslav papers, Box 101, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Sound recordings, transcripts and summaries of interviews, notes, reports, conference proceedings, newspapers, other printed matter, and photographs relating to nationalism and separatism in Chechnya and elsewhere in the Caucasus. Digital copies of selected items available.
Photo: Joan Beecher Eichrodt collection, Box 15, Folder 2, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Building on its strong traditions of collecting in this region, the Hoover Institution continues to grow its collections on the Russian Federation, which focus on the emergence of this new state out of the former USSR, its political, economic life and the social change that accompanies its appearance and development. For the emergence of civil society, researchers would do well to look at the many and varied collections dealing with the independent trade union movement. The Joan Beecher Eichrodt collection is important for the study of the Chechen conflict and its role in forming many policies in the Russian Federation, while the Levinskaia-Lesman collection documents the rise of nationalist movements, and the Demokraticheskaia Rossiia records illustrate the development of Russia’s leading democratic party from its formation in the late Soviet period through the first presidential election in the Russian Federation and beyond.
Arakchaa (Kara-kys Dongikovna) papers
1991-1995
Resolutions, declarations, appeals, press releases, notes, printed matter, and photographs, relating to the armed conflict in Chechnia. Includes many official Russian government issuances.
1990-2003
Circulated documents, newspaper issues, electronic bulletins, and other printed matter, relating to political developments in Bashkortostan in the post-Soviet era.
Belodubrovskii (Evgenii) collection
1992-1993
Proclamations, leaflets, and miscellany, relating to cultural events in St. Petersburg.
Demokraticheskaia Rossiia records
1989-2003
The records relate to politics in Russia and to the 1991 presidential campaign of Boris Yeltsin. They include minutes of meetings, resolutions, statements, appeals, stenographic records, press reviews, and video recordings.
1967-2016
Clippings and other printed matter, relating to the disintegration of the Soviet Union, and to political conditions in post-Soviet Russia. Includes a 1968 official Soviet report (incomplete), summarizing results of the investigation of the Vserossiiskii sotsial-khristianskii soiuz osvobozhdeniia naroda, an anti-communist revolutionary organization in the Soviet Union.
Eichrodt (Joan Beecher) collection
1872-2002
Sound recordings, transcripts and summaries of interviews, notes, reports, conference proceedings, newspapers, other printed matter, and photographs relating to nationalism and separatism in Chechnya and elsewhere in the Caucasus. Digital copies of selected items available.
1988-2005
Correspondence, writings, notes, sound recordings and transcripts of interviews, corporate reports, clippings, other printed matter, videotapes, and photographs, relating to economic conditions and large business enterprises in post-Soviet Russia. Used as research material for the book by David E. Hoffman, The Oligarchs: Wealth and Power in the New Russia (New York, 2002).
1980-1992
The Brendan Kiernan papers (1980-1992) consist largely of political ephemera documenting the emergence of political plurality in the late Soviet Union and early Russian Federation.
Komitety obshchestvennogo samoupravleniia records
1988-1998
Minutes, resolutions, reports, correspondence, and studies relating to the self-government movement in various cities and towns of Russia, and especially in Moscow.
Levchik (Dmitrii Aleksandrovich) papers
1988-1998
Writings, correspondence, reports, memoranda, notes, election campaign literature, and other printed matter relating to political conditions and election campaigns in Russia, activities of the Sot͡sial-demokraticheskai͡a Partii͡a Rossiĭskoĭ Federat͡sii, and organization of independent miners' trade unions in Russia.
1898-2000
The collection consists of serials, pamphlets, and leaflets issued by nationalist, fascist, and religious organizations in Saint Petersburg, Russia, relating to political conditions in Russia. They were collected by Irina Levinskaia and Iuriĭ Lesman.
1989-2002
The collection contains materials related to political and economic conditions in the Soviet Union and post-Soviet Russia, consisting of printed matter, sound and video recordings of interviews of Russian political leaders, and miscellany. Mainly used as research material for the book by Michael McFaul and Sergei Markov, The Troubled Birth of Russian Democracy: Parties, Personalities, and Programs (Stanford, 1993).
Obshchestvo rossiisko-chechenskoi druzhby issuances
2003-2007
Printed matter, relating to human rights issues in Russia.
1989-2004
Correspondence, minutes, protocols, reports, circulated material, and financial records relating to activities of the independent trade union Nezavisimost' in the Soviet Union and post-Soviet Russia.
Pribylovskii (Vladimir) collection
1976-2008
The collection consists of circulated material, serial issues, bulletins, clippings, other printed matter, and notes relating to political parties and political leaders of post-Soviet Russia and other parts of the former Soviet Union. Used as research material for various publications by Vladimir Pribylovskiĭ.
1964-2016
Boris Pushkarev (Борис Сергеевич Пушкарёв, 1929-) is the émigré political activist and leader. The Boris Pushkarev papers (1970-2015) contains correspondence, reports, newsletters, memoranda, photographs, and audio recordings relating to the activities of the Народно-Трудовой Союз (NTS) and it its publishing arms, Посев and Грани, in 1980s and 1990s.
Simonov (Igor Vladimirovich) papers
1991-2016
Election campaign literature, Soviet criminal police records, serial issues, pamphlets, leaflets, flyers, studies, statistical data, and other printed matter relating to political conditions and elections in Russia, and especially to the Demokraticheskai͡a partii͡a Rossii. Also includes political campaign materials from Belarus.
1968-2019
Journalist specializing in contemporary church-state relations and religious persecution in the Russian Federation and Ukraine. The Aleksandr Soldatov papers includes correspondence, printed matter, reports, interviews, and other papers relating to Soldatov's research concerning church-state relations and religious persecution in the Russian Federation and Ukraine.
1981-2007
Newspapers, pamphlets, and other printed matter, relating to Tatar history, and especially to the Tatar independence movement and political developments in Tatarstan in the post-Soviet period.
click to see more results for "Russian Federation" at the Hoover Library & Archives.
8:30 am - 4:30 pm
(by reservation)
Exhibitions & Observation Deck
10:00 am - 4:00 pm
We are closed for major holidays, Stanford home football games, and campus winter closure.