Correspondence, writings, police reports, printed matter, motion picture film, still photographs, negatives and slides relating to Leon Trotsky and Trotskyism, especially in China and the United States, to the Trotskyist C. Frank Glass, and to Rayna Prohme, revolutionary American journalist in China.
Photo: Alexander H. Buchman papers, Sleeve 3, https://n2t.net/ark:/54723/h3sx2m, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Writings and correspondence of the Russian revolutionary leader Leon Trotsky, including drafts of articles and books, correspondence with John G. Wright and other leaders of the Socialist Workers Party of the United States, and typed copies of correspondence with V. I. Lenin; correspondence and reports of secretaries of Trotsky and leaders of the Socialist Workers Party, relating especially to efforts to safeguard Trotsky and to his assassination; records of the American Committee for the Defense of Leon Trotsky and of the Commission of Inquiry into the Charges Made against Leon Trotsky in the Moscow Trials; correspondence and writings of Nataliia Sedova Trotskaia and of Lev Sedov; and published and unpublished material relating to Trotsky. (photo from box 29, folder 11)
Photo: Leon Trotsky collection, Box 29, Folder 11, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Intelligence reports from agents in the field and the Paris office, dispatches, circulars, headquarters studies, correspondence of revolutionaries, and photographs, relating to activities of Russian revolutionists abroad. Collection is available on microfilm (509 reels). Digital copies of select records also available at https://digitalcollections.hoover.org.
Photo: Okhrana records, Box 243B, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Correspondence, speeches and writings, memoranda, depositions, clippings, and other printed matter, relating to the communist movement in the United States, the Non-Partisan Defense League, the Commission of Inquiry into the Charges Made Against Leon Trotsky in the Moscow Trials, Soviet espionage in the United States, Whittaker Chambers and the Alger Hiss case, Zionism, the Nuremberg Trial of Major German War Criminals, 1945-1946, and post-World War II international business enterprises. Includes some papers of Sylvia Salmi Solow, 1964-1976.
Photo: Herbert Solow papers, Box 11, Folder Trotsky, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Correspondence, minutes, resolutions, theses, and internal bulletins relating to Trotskyist and other socialist activities in Latin America, Western Europe, Iran, and elsewhere, and to interactions of the Socialist Workers Party with the Fourth International; and trial transcripts, briefs, other legal documents, and background materials relating to the lawsuit brought by Alan Gelfand against the Socialist Workers Party in 1979. Most of collection also available on microfilm (108 reels).
Photo: Socialist Workers Party records, Box 132, Folder 5, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Correspondence, writings, minutes, audio cassette recordings of interviews, internal bulletins and other internal party documents, legal documents, and printed matter relating to Leon Trotsky. Collection materials relate to the development of American Trotskyism from 1928 until the split in the Socialist Workers Party in 1940; the development of the Workers Party and its successor, the Independent Socialist League, from that time until its merger with the Socialist Party in 1958; Trotskyism abroad; the Dewey Commission hearings of 1937; legal efforts of the Independent Socialist League to secure its removal from the Attorney General's list of subversive organizations; and the political development of the Socialist Party and its successor, Social Democrats, U.S.A., after 1958.(photo from Envelope D)
Photo: Albert Glotzer papers, Envelope D, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Letters, memoranda, clippings, and photographs, relating to the service of H. Milton with the Partido Obrero de Unificación Marxista (POUM) militia during the Spanish Civil War, his acquaintanceship with the writer George Orwell in the POUM militia, and miscellaneous activities of the Fourth International. Includes letters by Leon Trotsky. (photo from box 1, folder 4)
Photo: Harry Milton papers, Box 1, Folder 4, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Correspondence, memoranda, writings, speeches, memoirs, minutes of meetings, conference proceedings, leaflets, resolutions, bulletins, reports, clippings, newspapers, other printed matter, and photographs relating to Karl Marx and the international socialist movement; the First, Second, Third and Fourth Intenationals; Russian revolutionary, anarchist and socialist movements, especially the Rossiiskaia sotsial- demokraticheskaia rabochaia partiia (RSDRP) and its Menshevik wing; the Partiia sotsialistov-revoliutsionerov (PSR); the Russian Revolution and Civil War; Russian politics and government in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries; communism in the Soviet Union; Russian emigre politics; the Vlasov movement during World War II; and Russian displaced persons after World War II. Includes records of the RSDRP, the PSR, and other organizations; and papers of Rafail Abramovich, Pavel Aksel'rod, Viktor Chernov, Leon Trotsky, Iraklii TSereteli, and many others. Also includes papers of B. I. Nicolaevsky. Includes documents from Anna M. Bourguina.
Photo: Boris I. Nicolaevsky collection, Box 307, Folder 68, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
1937-1992
Memoirs and other writings, and printed matter, relating to the Trotsky family, the childhood and youth of Y. Akselrod in the Soviet Union, the imprisonment of her parents, her emigration to the United States, and efforts to secure the rehabilitation of her father. Photocopy.
Axelbank (Herman) motion picture film collection
1896-1977
Depicts major events in the twentieth-century Russian history, including the Russian Revolution and World Wars I and II, the tsarist family and court, communist political and military leaders, and scenes of economic, social, and cultural activities in the Soviet Union.
1920-2003
Correspondence, writings, police reports, printed matter, motion picture film, still photographs, negatives and slides relating to Leon Trotsky and Trotskyism, especially in China and the United States, to the Trotskyist C. Frank Glass, and to Rayna Prohme, revolutionary American journalist in China.
1933-1977
Correspondence, writings, minutes, internal bulletins, other internal party documents, serial issues, and pamphlets, relating to socialist and communist movements in the United States, especially the Socialist Workers Party, and to activities of Trotskyist groups abroad.
1919-1999
Correspondence, writings, minutes, audio cassette recordings of interviews, internal bulletins and other internal party documents, legal documents, and printed matter relating to Leon Trotsky 
. Collection materials relate to the development of American Trotskyism from 1928 until the split in the Socialist Workers Party in 1940; the development of the Workers Party and its successor, the Independent Socialist League, from that time until its merger with the Socialist Party in 1958; Trotskyism abroad; the Dewey Commission hearings of 1937; legal efforts of the Independent Socialist League to secure its removal from the Attorney General's list of subversive organizations; and the political development of the Socialist Party and its successor, Social Democrats, U.S.A., after 1958.
1887-1980
Speeches and writings, correspondence, notes, minutes, reports, internal bulletins, resolutions, theses, printed matter, sound recording, and photographs relating to Leon Trotsky, activities of the Socialist Workers Party in the United States, and activities of the Fourth International in Latin America, Western Europe and elsewhere.
Heisler (Ivan C. F.) motion picture film
1933-1977
Ivan C.F. Heisler was an American photographer. This film depicts Leon Trotsky, his wife Natalia Sedova, and members of their entourage, together with the artist Diego Rivera and his wife, the artist Frida Kahlo, in Coyoacan, Mexico. Includes original print, two reference prints, and video tape duplicate.
1937-1986
Letters, memoranda, clippings, and photographs, relating to the service of H. Milton with the Partido Obrero de Unificación Marxista (POUM) militia during the Spanish Civil War, his acquaintanceship with the writer George Orwell in the POUM militia, and miscellaneous activities of the Fourth International. Includes letters by Leon Trotsky.
1917-1995
Writings and correspondence of the Russian revolutionary leader Leon Trotsky, including drafts of articles and books, correspondence with John G. Wright and other leaders of the Socialist Workers Party of the United States, and typed copies of correspondence with V. I. Lenin; correspondence and reports of secretaries of Trotsky and leaders of the Socialist Workers Party, relating especially to efforts to safeguard Trotsky and to his assassination; records of the American Committee for the Defense of Leon Trotsky and of the Commission of Inquiry into the Charges Made against Leon Trotsky in the Moscow Trials; correspondence and writings of Nataliia Sedova Trotskaia and of Lev Sedov; and published and unpublished material relating to Trotsky. Assembled from records of the Socialist Workers Party and from papers of Wright and other party leaders. Also includes detailed summaries of correspondence in the Trotsky Papers at Harvard University. Boxes 1-45 also available on microfilm (50 reels). Phonotape cassette dub of sound recordings also available.
Library of Social History collection
1894-2000
Serial issues, pamphlets, leaflets, internal bulletins, other internal documents, and electoral and convention material, issued by Trotskyist groups throughout the world, and especially in the United States, Latin America and Western Europe, and including some materials issued by non-Trotskyist left-wing groups; speeches and writings by Fidel Castro and other Cuban leaders, and printed matter relating to Cuba, with indexes thereto; speeches and writings by Nicaraguan Sandinista leaders; and public and internal issuances of the New Jewel Movement of Grenada and its leaders, and printed and other material relating to the movement and its overthrow. Collected by the Library of Social History (New York City), an affiliate of the Socialist Workers Party of the United States. Does not include issuances of the Socialist Workers Party.
Nicolaevsky (Boris I.) collection
1801-1982
Correspondence, memoranda, writings, speeches, memoirs, minutes of meetings, conference proceedings, leaflets, resolutions, bulletins, reports, clippings, newspapers, other printed matter, and photographs relating to Karl Marx and the international socialist movement; the First, Second, Third and Fourth Intenationals; Russian revolutionary, anarchist and socialist movements, especially the Rossiiskaia sotsial- demokraticheskaia rabochaia partiia (RSDRP) and its Menshevik wing; the Partiia sotsialistov-revoliutsionerov (PSR); the Russian Revolution and Civil War; Russian politics and government in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries; communism in the Soviet Union; Russian emigre politics; the Vlasov movement during World War II; and Russian displaced persons after World War II. Includes records of the RSDRP, the PSR, and other organizations; and papers of Rafail Abramovich, Pavel Aksel'rod, Viktor Chernov, Leon Trotsky, Iraklii TSereteli, and many others. Also includes papers of B. I. Nicolaevsky. Includes documents from Anna M. Bourguina.
1983-1993
Autobiographical writings and miscellany, relating to socialism in the United States, conditions in Catalonia during the Spanish Civil War, and encounters with George Orwell in Spain in 1936-1937 and with Leon Trotsky in Mexico in 1940. Photocopy.
Seine (France) Prefecture de police memoranda
1933-1936
Relates to the presence of members of the family of Leon Trotsky, Russian revolutionary, in France, 1933, and to the theft of papers of Leon Trotsky from the International Institute for Social History in Paris, 1936.
Pool (Ithiel de Sola) collection
1905-1998
Mimeographed letters and circulars, pamphlets and leaflets, relating to American Trotskyism, especially to factional disputes within the Socialist Workers Party, 1938-1940, and to Trotskyist activities in the anti-fascist, anti-war labor movements. Includes some radical non-Trotskyist material.
Sedov (Sergei L'vovich) letters
1935
Relates to conditions in the Soviet prison camp in Krasnoyarsk, Siberia, where S. L. Sedov was confined. Letters written to his wife. Includes typewritten translations. Also available on microfilm.
1924-1976
Correspondence, speeches and writings, memoranda, depositions, clippings, and other printed matter, relating to the communist movement in the United States, the Non-Partisan Defense League, the Commission of Inquiry into the Charges Made Against Leon Trotsky in the Moscow Trials, Soviet espionage in the United States, Whittaker Chambers and the Alger Hiss case, Zionism, the Nuremberg Trial of Major German War Criminals, 1945-1946, and post-World War II international business enterprises. Includes some papers of Sylvia Salmi Solow, 1964-1976.
1933-1977
Relates to the Romanov dynasty, Leon Trotsky, and the Russo-Japanese War.
1913-1999
Memoirs, other writings, correspondence, resolutions, bulletins, minutes, pamphlets, and serial issues, relating to socialist and communist movements in the United States, and especially to the Socialist Workers Party and other Trotskyist groups in the post-World War II period.
1987
Relates to the residence of Leon Trotsky in Mexico (1937-1940), Mexican politics during the presidency of Lazaro Cardenas, Communist and Trotskyist movements in Mexico, and the relation of Mexican intellectuals to Leon Trotsky.
Socialist Workers Party records
1928-1998
Correspondence, minutes, resolutions, theses, and internal bulletins relating to Trotskyist and other socialist activities in Latin America, Western Europe, Iran, and elsewhere, and to interactions of the Socialist Workers Party with the Fourth International; and trial transcripts, briefs, other legal documents, and background materials relating to the lawsuit brought by Alan Gelfand against the Socialist Workers Party in 1979. Most of collection also available on microfilm (108 reels).
1988
Relates to the life of the Russian revolutionary Leon Trotsky. Produced by Ima Productions.
Wolfe (Bernard) slide collection
1937
Depicts Leon Trotsky and others at hearings in Coyoacan, Mexico, of the Commission of Inquiry into the Charges Made against Leon Trotsky in the Moscow Trials.
1903-2000
Writings, correspondence, notes, memoranda, clippings, other printed matter, and audiovisual material relating to Marxism; the international communist movement; communism in the Soviet Union, the United States, and elsewhere; literature and art in the Soviet Union and in Mexico; and the Mexican artist Diego Rivera. Includes some papers of Rivera and papers of Ella Wolfe, wife of Bertram D. Wolfe. Digital copies of select records also available at https://digitalcollections.hoover.org.
1933-1977
Speeches and writings, correspondence, resolutions, theses, and notes, relating to Marxian theory, the translation of works of Leon Trotsky, Trotskyist activities in the United States and abroad, and analysis of the post-World War II Chinese and Eastern European states.
Spartacist League of the U.S. records
1964-2016
Records of the American Trotskyist political organization include minutes, internal bulletins, pamphlets, position papers, press releases, flyers, and leaflets relating to Trotskyist political activities in the United States. Includes issuances of youth groups and international affiliates of the Spartacist League.
Peng (Shu-tse) and Chen Bilan papers
1924-1987
Speeches and writings, correspondence, theses, and resolutions relating to the early communist movement in China, and to Trotskyist activities in China and elsewhere. Includes memoirs, other writings, and correspondence of Chen Bilan, the companion of Peng Shu-tse, relating to the same topics and also to the condition of women in Chinese society.
8:30 am - 4:30 pm
(by reservation)
Exhibitions & Observation Deck
10:00 am - 4:00 pm
We are closed for major holidays, Stanford home football games, and campus winter closure.