Photo: Kazakh newspaper collection, Box 32, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
The Hoover Institution’s holdings on Kazakhstan are strongest for the post-1991 independence period, although there are mentions of the region during the Russian Civil War and Second World War in the V. Klemm writings and several collections relating to Poles deported to Kazakhstan. Among the significant collections are the Kazakh subject collection, the RFE/RL Broadcast and Corporate records, and the Enid Schreibman papers.
1945-1991
The newspapers in this collection were originally collected by the Hoover Institution Library and transferred to the Archives in 2019. The Kazakh newspaper collection (1945-1991) comprises two unique titles of publication. Each title within this collection have been further analyzed in Stanford University Libraries catalog.
1989-2005
Pamphlets, leaflets, serial issues, election campaign literature, circulated documents, and other printed matter, relating to political, social and economic conditions, and elections, in Kazakhstan, primarily in the post-Soviet period. Photocopy.
1922-26
Autobiographical sketch, 1926; a history, entitled Ocherk Revoliutsionnykh Sobytii v Russkoi Srednei Azii (1922); and a translation of the above. Klemm was a White Russian political leader during the Russian Civil War.
Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty Kazakh Service Records
1953-2003
American radio broadcasting organization operating Radio Free Europe and Radio Liberty. Kazakh Service records include daily format and work plans, editor's file, employee papers, monitoring, program logs, program reports, scripts, special programs, and sound recordings. Also known as Radio Azattyq. Target regions include Kazakhstan.
1991-2011
Correspondence, notes, reports, grant proposals, meeting materials, financial records, printed matter, and photographs, relating to activities of the Center for Safe Energy in promoting nuclear safety and alternative energy sources in the former Soviet Union, and to women's leadership training in Kazakhstan.
click to see more results for "Kazakhstan" at the Hoover Library & Archives.
8:30 am - 4:30 pm
(by reservation)
Exhibitions & Observation Deck
10:00 am - 4:00 pm
We are closed for major holidays, Stanford home football games, and campus winter closure.