Nestor Apollonovich Lakoba (1893-1936) papers document life and activities of the politician, revolutionary, party and government official, and victim of the purges. (photo from box 1, folder 68)
Correspondence, speeches and writings, research notes, printed matter, photographs, engravings, lithographs, maps, and sound and video recordings relating to the history of Georgia (Transcaucasia), the Romanov family, Russian-American relations, and the Association of Russian Imperial Naval Officers in America. Includes photocopies of Romanov family letters, photographs of Russia during World War I by Donald C. Thompson, and a documentary film of Tsar Nicholas II. (photo from box 13, folder 7)
Diaries and notes relating to Soviet foreign relations, and to Georgian politics and foreign relations. Includes summaries of conversations between Eduard Shevardnadze and foreign leaders. Also available on microfilm (10 reels). (photo from box, folder 5)
Diary and memoirs, relating to Georgian relations with Turkey, 1920- 1921; Georgian refugee life in Turkey and Poland; the Polish Army in the interwar period, and its defeat in 1939; the Georgian Legion in the German Army during World War II; and Georgian prisoners in British prison camps at the end of the war. Includes translations. (photo from box 1, folder 8)
The Hoover Institution’s holdings on Georgia, both as an independent state and as a national republic of the USSR, are particularly rich. The N.A. Lakoba papers, David Diasamidze papers, Aleksandr Tkhilaishvili photographic collection and Sak'art'velos SSR sakhelmtsipo ušišroebis komiteti records are significant resources for the Soviet period. The Dimitri Shalikashvili writings are significant for the study of the Georgian Legion during the Second World War and Georgian émigré activities. For the post-1991 period of independence, documents on the political and social developments in Georgia may be found in the Georgian subject collection, Georgian pictorial collection, G. Chigogidze photographs and Eduard Shevardnadze radio interview transcripts.
Bakhtadze (Erastii Efremovich) papers
1917-1972
Autobiography, correspondence, personal and official documents, printed matter, and photographs, relating to the history of the Georgian revolutionary movement, and to conditions in Soviet Georgia.
1993-1998
American radio broadcasting organization operating Radio Free Europe and Radio Liberty. The Georgian Service records include editor's file, printed matter, program reviews, scripts, special programs, and sound recordings. Also known as Ekho Kavkaza and Radio Tavisupleba. Target regions include Georgia and South Ossetia.
Blake (Robert Pierpont) papers
1911-1948
Autobiographical and other writings, correspondence, reports, maps, and miscellany, relating to conditions in Russia and especially in Georgia and elsewhere in Transcaucasia during the Russian Revolution and Civil War.
1928-2014
Depicts mass rallies and political conditions in Georgia, relating to the establishment of Georgian independence.
Diasamidze (David Dursunovich) papers
1958-1982
Writings, and photographs, relating to the history of the revolutionary movement in Georgia, and to political conditions in Soviet Ajaria.
Dratsenko (D. P.) miscellaneous papers
1919-1920
Military reports, orders, and correspondence, relating to the Russian Civil War in the Caucasus, political and military conditions in Georgia, and British foreign policy in Transcaucasia.
2004
Photographs, depicting elections and scenes of political activity in Georgia and especially in Ajaria, and military operations in South Ossetia.
1902-2018
Press releases and clippings, relating to various aspects of Georgian history, especially during the Russian Revolution and in the period leading up to establishment of Georgian independence in 1991.
Harriman (W.A.) and Company agreement
1925
Agreement between the Tchitouri Manganese Exporting Society (Tchemo) and W. A. Harriman and Company. Relates to mining rights in Georgia (Transcaucasia)
Imnaishvili (Georgii Valer'ianovich) papers
1957-1988
Personal documents, and photographs, relating to activities of the Soviet secret police in Georgia.
Importance de la Georgie en tant que voie de transit: mimeograph
undated
Relates to the commercial geography of Georgia.
Lordkipanidze (Khasan Ismanlovich) papers
1910-1988
Writings, correspondence, official documents, and photographs, relating to the history of the Ajari revolutionary movement and to conditions in Soviet Ajaria.
Lakoba (N.A. (Nestor Apollonovich)) papers
1915-1939
Nestor Apollonovich Lakoba (1893-1936) papers document life and activities of the politician, revolutionary, party and government official, and victim of the purges.
Nadirashvili (Konstantin Georgievich) identification cards
1974-75
Georgian secret police identification cards.
Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty Georgian Service Records
1950-2008
American radio broadcasting organization operating Radio Free Europe and Radio Liberty. The Georgian Service records include editor's file, printed matter, program reviews, scripts, special programs, and sound recordings. Also known as Ekho Kavkaza and Radio Tavisupleba. Target regions include Georgia and South Ossetia.
Sak'art'velos erovnul-demokratiuli partia issuances
1979-1992
Serial issues, leaflets, flyers, and other printed matter, relating to political conditions in Georgia.
Sak'art'velos SSR sakhelmtsipo usisroebis komiteti [Georgian KGB] records
1921-1952
Correspondence, reports, and investigative and judicial files relating to secret police investigative activities and prosecutions in the Georgian S.S.R. Includes lists of persons tried and judicial proceedings in 1937-1938. Digital copies.
Shalikashvili (Dimitri) writings
1920-1960
Diary and memoirs, relating to Georgian relations with Turkey, 1920- 1921; Georgian refugee life in Turkey and Poland; the Polish Army in the interwar period, and its defeat in 1939; the Georgian Legion in the German Army during World War II; and Georgian prisoners in British prison camps at the end of the war. Includes translations.
Shevardnadze (Eduard Amvrosievich) radio interview transcripts
2002-2003
Computer disc transcripts of radio interviews, relating to Georgian internal and foreign policy.
Stepanov-Mamaladze (T.G.) writings
1985-1998
Diaries and notes relating to Soviet foreign relations, and to Georgian politics and foreign relations. Includes summaries of conversations between Eduard Shevardnadze and foreign leaders. Also available on microfilm (10 reels).
Tarsaidze (Alexandre Georgiviech) papers
1648-1977
Correspondence, speeches and writings, research notes, printed matter, photographs, engravings, lithographs, maps, and sound and video recordings relating to the history of Georgia (Transcaucasia), the Romanov family, Russian-American relations, and the Association of Russian Imperial Naval Officers in America. Includes photocopies of Romanov family letters, photographs of Russia during World War I by Donald C. Thompson, and a documentary film of Tsar Nicholas II.
Tkhilaishvili (Aleksandr Dursunovich) photographic collection
1961-1973
Photographs depicting visits of Nikita Khrushchev and other high Soviet officials to the Adzhar Autonomous Soviet Republic, and the 22nd Congress of the Soviet Communist Party.
Tsitlidze (Artem Dmitrievich) indictment
1937
Charges A. D. TSitlidze, Shalva Konstantinovich Alaverdashvili, and others with counter-revolutionary activities, including terrorism, subversion, and sabotage, in Georgia.
click to see more results for "Georgia" at the Hoover Library & Archives.
8:30 am - 4:30 pm
(by reservation)
Exhibitions & Observation Deck
10:00 am - 4:00 pm
We are closed for major holidays, Stanford home football games, and campus winter closure.