Relates to Soviet secret police activities in Latvia, 1940-1941, and to activities of Nacionala Sardze, 1941-1944. Photocopy.
Photo: Julijs Bracs writings, Folder 1, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Clippings, writings, correspondence and reports, relating to the Russian Revolution and Civil War, and the operations of the Soviet secret police. Also available on microfilm.
Photo: Sergei P. Mel'gunov papers, Box 7, Folder 44, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Writings, correspondence, notes, printed matter, bibliographies, and photographs relating to the tsarist Russian secret police, the youth of Joseph Stalin, Roman Malinovskii (Malinovsky), and the history of Soviet espionage. Digital copies of select records also available at https://digitalcollections.hoover.org.
Photo: Edward Ellis Smith papers, Box 10, Folder 35, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Berezin (IAkov Davidovich) papers
1919-2015
Correspondence, notes, personnel records, trial records, printed matter, personal documents, and photographs relating to the Soviet secret police and to Soviet purge trials of the 1930s.
1953-1954
Relates to Soviet secret police activities in Latvia, 1940-1941, and to activities of Nacionala Sardze, 1941-1944. Photocopy.
Eesti NSV Riikliku Julgeoleku Komitee [Estonian KGB] records
1924-1991
Correspondence, reports, and investigative files relating to secret police and intelligence activities, dissident and anti-Soviet activities, and repatriation and nationalism issues, in Estonia, and to Russian refugees in Estonia before 1940 and post-World War II Estonian refugees in western Europe. Digital copies.
Harris (Stephen A.) typescript
1985
Relates to the history of the Monarkhicheskaia Organizatsiia TSentral'noi Rossii, known as the Trust, and its control by the Soviet secret police for purposes of penetration and manipulation of anti-communist Russian groups in exile, from 1922 to 1927. Master's thesis, United States Naval Postgraduate School. Photocopy.
1937-1989
Arrest, interrogation, and other judicial records, issued by secret police and other Soviet governmental agencies, relating to the arrest and execution of four Russian-Americans or Russians formerly resident in the United States, on charges of counter-revolutionary activities; and subsequent appeals and decisions, relating to requests for their rehabilitation. Includes English translations of some documents. Photocopy.
Imnaishvili (Georgii Valer'ianovich) papers
1957-1988
Personal documents, and photographs, relating to activities of the Soviet secret police in Georgia.
Latvijas PSR Valsts Drosibas Komiteja [Latvian KGB] selected records
1944-2012
Reports and other documents relating to secret police activities in Latvia. Digital copies.
Lietuvos TSR Valstybės Saugumo Komitetas [Lithuanian KGB] selected records
1920-1991
Reports, memoranda, correspondence, lists, directives, and other documents relating to secret police, intelligence and counter-intelligence activities, dissident and anti-Soviet activities, and repatriation and nationalism issues, in Lithuania.
1918-1933
Clippings, writings, correspondence and reports, relating to the Russian Revolution and Civil War, and the operations of the Soviet secret police. Also available on microfilm.
Nadirashvili (Konstantin Georgievich) identification cards
1974-75
Georgian secret police identification cards.
1941-1994
Reports, memoranda, and police files, relating to secret police activities and political dissidents in Latvia. Photocopy.
Register of the Okhrana records
1883-1917
Intelligence reports from agents in the field and the Paris office, dispatches, circulars, headquarters studies, correspondence of revolutionaries, and photographs, relating to activities of Russian revolutionists abroad. Collection is available on microfilm (509 reels). Digital copies of select records also available at https://digitalcollections.hoover.org.
Sak'art'velos SSR sakhelmtsipo usisroebis komiteti [Georgian KGB] records
1921-1952
Correspondence, reports, and investigative and judicial files relating to secret police investigative activities and prosecutions in the Georgian S.S.R. Includes lists of persons tried and judicial proceedings in 1937-1938. Digital copies.
1917-1937
Laws, regulations, reports, directives, and memoranda, by Soviet governmental and communist party agencies, relating to the Russian Revolution and Civil War in western Siberia, and to collectivization, peasant revolts, and operations of the Soviet secret police in the Novosibirsk region and other parts of Siberia. Includes some microfilm copies.
1879-1983
Relates to detention of Polish prisoners of war and suppression of Ukrainian and Belarusian nationalist activities. Includes related memoranda by Lavrentii Beriia, 1940, and Aleksandr Shelepin, 1959, successive heads of the Soviet secret police. Photocopy.
1940
Relates to detention of Polish prisoners of war and suppression of Ukrainian and Belarusian nationalist activities. Includes related memoranda by Lavrentii Beriia, 1940, and Aleksandr Shelepin, 1959, successive heads of the Soviet secret police. Photocopy.
1959-2005
Writings, radio scripts, reports, studies, clippings, other printed matter, digital files, sound recordings, and video tapes relating to radio broadcasting to Russia, political conditions in the Soviet Union and post-Soviet Russia, and the Soviet/Russian secret police.
8:30 am - 4:30 pm
(by reservation)
Exhibitions & Observation Deck
10:00 am - 4:00 pm
(by reservation)
We are closed for major holidays, Stanford home football games, and campus winter closure.