Russia and Eurasia Collections at the Hoover Institution Library & Archives

The Hoover Institution’s holdings on Armenia, while not extensive by volume, are historically significant, spanning that country’s history from the early 20^th century through the 21^st. The collections relating to Armenia during the period of the First World War and Paris Peace Conference are particularly important, including the United States Military Mission to Armenia photographs (1919) and the John Shishmanian papers. The Vahan Emin collection is important for the study of the Nagorno-Karabakh issue and Armenians in the USSR, and more current materials are to be found in the Armenian Subject collection.

Armenian subject collection

     2007-2008

Election campaign literature, and other printed matter, relating primarily to elections in Armenia. 

Emin (Vahan) collection

     1961-1991

Serial issues, clippings, reports, appeals, resolutions, and letters, relating to Armenians and Armenian nationalism in the Soviet Union, and especially in the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan.

History of Armenia pamphlet collection

     1919-1982

Library materials. 

Shishmanian (John Amar) papers

     1879-1946

Correspondence, printed matter, photographs, and memorabilia relating to the Armenian-Turkish conflict at the end of World War I, and to the Armenian question at the Paris Peace Conference.

United States. Military Mission to Armenia photographs

     1919

Depicts American army officers in Armenia and conditions in Armenia at the end of World War I. This collection consists of 94 prints taken during the United States fact-finding military mission to Turkey and Armenia (1919), headed by General Harbord appointed and by President Wilson on the advice of Herbert Hoover. 

United States. Committee upon the Arbitration of the Boundary between Turkey and Armenia report

     1920

Consists of typescripts of the full report "Committee Upon the Arbitration of the Boundary Between Turkey and Armenia", as well as appendices and maps.

SEE MORE:

click to see more results for "Armenia" at the Hoover Library & Archives.