Photo: Venezuela Subject Collection, Box 1, Folder 3, Hoovre Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
1908-2007
The papers consist primarily of Brossard's writings and research materials, the bulk of which pertain to the history of the Venezuelan oil industry and to modern Venezuelan politics. In addition, the papers contain a considerable quantity of research materials relating to the general history of the international petroleum industry. The research materials are comprised largely of reports, serial issues, and clippings, and are grouped by subject. The papers include some correspondence relating both to Brossard's research and to her career as a professor of political science at a number of American universities.
Casas Armengol (Miguel) papers
1976-1984
Reports, memoranda, organization manuals, and printed matter, relating to the organization and activities of the Universidad nacional abierta of Venezuela.
Centro de Divulgacion del Conocimiento Economico pamphlets
1987-1992
Relates to the Venezuelan and world economies, and to principles of laissez-faire economics and concepts of liberty.
1894-2010
The Vladimir Chelminski papers contain extensive materials relating to economic and political conditions in Venezuela from the 1980s onward. The papers include many articles written by Chelminski for Venezuelan newspapers, as well as his book length study of price controls. There is also a detailed record of the workings of the Caracas Chamber of Commerce, including minutes of meetings and reports. Chelminski wrote summaries of many of his conversations with others on topics of economics and Venezuelan politics, which are found in the papers as well.
Collins (Whit) photograph collection
1966
Depicts General James H. Doolittle on a hunting and fishing expedition in Venezuela. Includes a letter and a few clippings and notes relating to the expedition.
1936-1937
Correspondence with the German government relating to the expropriation by the Venezuelan government of the plantation of R. Hass and to his efforts to enlist the aid of the German government in securing its return.
Venezuela newspaper collection
1945-1969
The newspapers in this collection were originally collected by the Hoover Institution Library and transferred to the Archives in 2019. The Venezuela newspaper collection (1945-1969) comprises four different English-language titles of publication. All of the titles within this collection have been further analyzed in Stanford University Libraries catalog.
1949-2006
Serial issues, pamphlets, leaflets, bulletins, resolutions, and internal documents, relating primarily to political conditions in Venezuela, and to socialist and communist movements in Venezuela.
8:30 am - 4:30 pm
(by reservation)
Exhibitions & Observation Deck
10:00 am - 4:00 pm
We are closed for major holidays, Stanford home football games, and campus winter closure.