Writings, correspondence, notes, memoranda, clippings, other printed matter, and audiovisual material relating to Marxism; the international communist movement; communism in the Soviet Union, the United States, and elsewhere; literature and art in the Soviet Union and in Mexico; and the Mexican artist Diego Rivera. Includes some papers of Rivera and papers of Ella Wolfe, wife of Bertram D. Wolfe. Digital copies of select records also available at https://digitalcollections.hoover.org.
Photo: Bertram David Wolfe papers. Box 183, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Reports, policy statements, resolutions, bulletins, speeches, agenda, election material, serial issues, pamphlets, and other printed matter, relating to political conditions in Mexico. The collection focuses primarily on communist, socialist and Trotskyist organizations in Mexico, and consists largely of issuances of these organizations (especially the Partido Comunista Mexicano, the Partido Mexicano de los Trabajadores, the Partido Revolucionario de los Trabajadores, and the Partido Socialista Unificado de México) and of trade unions (especially of university workers) from the 1960s through the 1980s.
Photo: Mexican Subject Collection, Box 8, Folder 5, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Correspondence, business records, printed matter, photographs, and maps, relating to American business investment in Mexico.
Photo: Bion Samuel Gregory papers, Box 20, Panama Canal, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Speeches and writings, correspondence, reports, memoranda, internal bulletins, and printed matter, relating to political conditions in Mexico, and especially to political parties and electoral alliances of the left, including the Partido Comunista Mexicano, the Partido Obrero Campesino Mexicano, the Movimiento de Acción y Unidad Socialista, and the Partido de la Revolución Democrática.
Photo: Miguel Aroche Parra papers, Box 46, Folder 10, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Reports, correspondence, minutes, conference proceedings, resolutions, speeches, pamphlets, discussion bulletins, newsletters, and printed matter, relating to activities of the Partido Comunista Mexicano from its formation in 1919 until its merger with other parties in 1981, including electoral, trade union, student and other activities, and activities both at the national level and within various states.
Photo: Rodolfo Martinez Echeverria collection, Box 11, Folder 2, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
1901-2011
Speeches and writings, correspondence, reports, memoranda, internal bulletins, and printed matter, relating to political conditions in Mexico, and especially to political parties and electoral alliances of the left, including the Partido Comunista Mexicano, the Partido Obrero Campesino Mexicano, the Movimiento de Acción y Unidad Socialista, and the Partido de la Revolución Democrática.
Comite de defensa de la pequena propriedad printed material
1936
Relates to land reform in the region around León, Mexico.
1918
Relates to political conditions in Mexico and to the Mexican Constitution of 1917. Photocopy.
Echeverría Martínez (Rodolfo) collection
1911-1986
Reports, correspondence, minutes, conference proceedings, resolutions, speeches, pamphlets, discussion bulletins, newsletters, and printed matter, relating to activities of the Partido Comunista Mexicano from its formation in 1919 until its merger with other parties in 1981, including electoral, trade union, student and other activities, and activities both at the national level and within various states.
1881-2004
Correspondence, business records, printed matter, photographs, and maps, relating to American business investment in Mexico.
Jonah (T. F.) printed material
1913-1915
Newspaper editorial relating to proposals for American military intervention in Mexico. Published in the El Paso Morning Times.
1944
Relates to German propaganda and espionage activities in Mexico during World War II. Photocopy.
1915-1964
Diary and memoirs, relating to American military activities in the Philippines, during the Punitive Expedition into Mexico, and in World War I.
1906-1920
Outlines, notes, correspondence, summaries of interviews, and printed matter, relating to contemporary political, social and economic conditions in Mexico. Includes summaries of interviews with American businessmen and other Americans in Mexico, as well as with prominent Mexicans.
1918-1998
Reports, policy statements, resolutions, bulletins, speeches, agenda, election material, serial issues, pamphlets, and other printed matter, relating to political conditions in Mexico. The collection focuses primarily on communist, socialist and Trotskyist organizations in Mexico, and consists largely of issuances of these organizations (especially the Partido Comunista Mexicano, the Partido Mexicano de los Trabajadores, the Partido Revolucionario de los Trabajadores, and the Partido Socialista Unificado de México) and of trade unions (especially of university workers) from the 1960s through the 1980s.
1939-1985
The newspapers in this collection were originally collected by the Hoover Institution Library and transferred to the Archives in 2019. The Mexico newspaper collection (1939-1985) comprises eighteen different titles of publication, in Spanish, Catalan, and French. All of the titles within this collection have been further analyzed in Stanford University Libraries catalog.
Partido Comunista Mexicano. Congreso Nacional proceedings
1939
Proceedings of the Mexican Partido Comunista Mexicano, Congreso Nacional in 1939.
1917-1959
Correspondence, orders, citations, and commendations, relating to American military intelligence operations, military liaison with Great Britain and Mexico, and occupation of Japan after World War II.
Ray (Philip Alexander) mimeograph
1965
Relates to political and economic conditions in Mexico, the Mexican communist movement, and prospects for communism in Mexico.
Schreyer (Leslie J.) collection
1914-1969
Serial issues, pamphlets, leaflets, flyers, postcards, and miscellany, relating to World Wars I and II, radicalism in Mexico, and other subjects.
1895-1986
Contains correspondence, memoirs, meeting minutes, plays, clippings, notes, and photographs relating to the life of Charles Shipman. Shipman was active in anti-war, anti-imperialist, and communist groups in the United States. He was also a delegate to the second and sixth Communist International congresses, and was a communist leader in Mexico under the name Manuel Gomez.
1924
Relates to the role of Venustiano Carranza, president of Mexico, 1917-1920, in the Mexican Revolution.
1903-2000
Writings, correspondence, notes, memoranda, clippings, other printed matter, and audiovisual material relating to Marxism; the international communist movement; communism in the Soviet Union, the United States, and elsewhere; literature and art in the Soviet Union and in Mexico; and the Mexican artist Diego Rivera. Includes some papers of Rivera and papers of Ella Wolfe, wife of Bertram D. Wolfe. Digital copies of select records also available at https://digitalcollections.hoover.org.
8:30 am - 4:30 pm
(by reservation)
Exhibitions & Observation Deck
10:00 am - 4:00 pm
We are closed for major holidays, Stanford home football games, and campus winter closure.