The newspapers in this collection were originally collected by the Hoover Institution Library and transferred to the Archives in 2019. The Chile newspaper collection (1942-1979) comprises nine unique titles of publication, in both Spanish and Catalan. All of the titles within this collection have been further analyzed in Stanford University Libraries catalog.
Photo: Chile Newspaper Collection, Box 71, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Sound recordings and transcripts of interviews, and associated material, relating to free market policies in Chile and elsewhere in Latin America, and to the influence of economists associated with the University of Chicago in instituting them. Interviews conducted by Tobias Switzer and William E. Ratliff. Those interviewed include Rolf Lüders Schwarzenberg, Sergio de Castro, Martín Costabal Llona, Alvaro Donoso, Ernesto Fontaine, Gonzalo Vial Correa, Miguel Schweitzer, Roberto Kelly, Domingo Cavallo and Hernán Cubillos Sallato.
Photo: Chicago boys and Latin American market reformers collection, Box 1, Folder 1, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Chicago boys and Latin American market reformers collection
1992-2011
Sound recordings and transcripts of interviews, and associated material, relating to free market policies in Chile and elsewhere in Latin America, and to the influence of economists associated with the University of Chicago in instituting them. Interviews conducted by Tobias Switzer and William E. Ratliff. Those interviewed include Rolf Lüders Schwarzenberg, Sergio de Castro, Martín Costabal Llona, Alvaro Donoso, Ernesto Fontaine, Gonzalo Vial Correa, Miguel Schweitzer, Roberto Kelly, Domingo Cavallo and Hernán Cubillos Sallato.
1942-1979
The newspapers in this collection were originally collected by the Hoover Institution Library and transferred to the Archives in 2019. The Chile newspaper collection (1942-1979) comprises nine unique titles of publication, in both Spanish and Catalan. All of the titles within this collection have been further analyzed in Stanford University Libraries catalog.
1933-1999
Reports, pamphlets, correspondence, bulletins, press releases, minutes, resolutions, campaign material, and printed matter, relating to the presidency of Salvador Allende and the military coup of 1973 in Chile; subsequent political, economic and human rights conditions in Chile; the Chilean plebiscite of 1988 and elections of 1989 and 1992; and communist political movements in Chile.
Cubillos Sallato (Hernan) papers
1923-2009
The papers of Hernán Cubillos Sallato document several aspects of the Pinochet era in Chilean politics. Cubillos Sallato's tenure as Chilean foreign minister included negotiations between Argentina and Chile after a severe dispute developed between the two countries over the Beagle Channel. An end to the conflict, which verged at times on warfare, was mediated by Pope John Paul II. Cubillo Sallato's position as cabinet minister meant that he was also near the center of decision making on other matters under Pinochet, including the wholesale adoption of free market economic principles. He also played a key role as manager of El Mercurio and all its holdings during the Allende period.
1953-2002
Pamphlets, serial issues, government documents, bulletins, newsletters, press releases, speeches, conference papers, clippings, and memorabilia, relating to political, social and economic conditions in Cuba under Fidel Castro, in Chile under Salvador Allende, and in Nicaragua under the Sandinistas; to education in Cuba; and to United States foreign policy in Latin America.
1978-2002
Memoirs, speeches, decrees, proclamations, reports, and studies, relating to political conditions in Chile, administration of the Chilean government, and the transition from military to civilian rule in Chile, particularly during Fernández's service as minister of the interior.
Izquierda Cristiana de Chile miscellaneous records
1975-1986
Correspondence, memoranda, circulars, internal bulletins, and press releases, relating to political conditions and the status of civil liberties in Chile, and to political activities of Chileans in exile. Photocopy.
Radio sociedad nacional de agricultura broadcast
1973
Relates to the overthrow of the government of Salvador Allende in Chile by the coup of September 11, 1973.
Theberge (James Daniel) papers
1963-1988
Correspondence, speeches and writings, dispatches, memoranda, reports, schedules, printed matter, and photographs, relating to diplomatic relations between the United States and Chile; political, social and economic conditions in Chile; United States foreign policy in Latin America; and communist movements in Latin America. Digital copies of select records also available at https://digitalcollections.hoover.org.
8:30 am - 4:30 pm
(by reservation)
Exhibitions & Observation Deck
10:00 am - 4:00 pm
We are closed for major holidays, Stanford home football games, and campus winter closure.