The newspapers in this collection were originally collected by the Hoover Institution Library and transferred to the Archives in 2019. The Cuba newspaper collection (1933-2010) comprises twenty-two different titles of publication, in both Spanish and English. All of the titles within this collection have been further analyzed in Stanford University Libraries catalog.
Photo: Cuba newspaper collection, Box 154, Noticias de Hoy. Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Relates to Fidel Castro and to the Movimiento Revolucionario 26 de Julio in Cuba, 1956-1958. Includes memoirs and photocopies of correspondence, including two letters from Fidel Castro. Also available on microfilm (1 reel).
Photo: Mario Llerena papers, Box 1, Folder 5, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Writings and correspondence, relating mainly to Herbert L. Matthews and his reportage of the Cuban revolution. Includes government documents relating to Matthews obtained in response to Freedom of Information Act requests. Used as research material for the book by Anthony DePalma, The Man Who Invented Fidel: Cuba, Castro, and Herbert L. Matthews of the New York Times (New York, 2006).
Photo: Anthony DePalma papers, Box 1, Folder 1, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
The Brian Latell papers primarily consist of research materials on Fidel Castro and Cuba. These contain a large chronological file comprised of English translations from the Cuban media and transcriptions of numerous speeches by Fidel Castro. Also included among the research materials are transcriptions and summaries of interviews with former Cuban officials and associates of Fidel and Raúl Castro. The interviews were conducted by Brian Latell and Adriana Bosch. Additionally, there is an extensive subject file that contains significant documentation on Fidel Castro and political developments in Cuba.
Photo: Brian Latell papers, Box 21, Folder 5, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Relates to political conditions in Cuba, especially during the period 1956-1957.
Photo: Raul Chibas typescript, Folder 1, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
undated
Relates to the Cuban revolution of 1959. Interviews conducted by Keith Botsford. Typed transcript.
1927-1958
Relates to political conditions in Cuba, especially during the period 1956-1957.
1933-2010
The newspapers in this collection were originally collected by the Hoover Institution Library and transferred to the Archives in 2019. The Cuba newspaper collection (1933-2010) comprises twenty-two different titles of publication, in both Spanish and English. All of the titles within this collection have been further analyzed in Stanford University Libraries catalog.
Cuban Freedom Committee records
1947-1993
Correspondence, speeches, reports, radio broadcast transcripts, financial records, press releases, sound recordings, clippings, and other printed matter, relating to communism, political conditions and civil rights in Cuba, Cuban influence elsewhere in Latin America, and Cubans in exile in the United States, and especially to broadcasting activities of Free Cuba Radio from the United States to Cuba. Includes a few later papers of Mariada C. Arensberg (later Bourgin), executive secretary of the Cuban Freedom Committee.
1932-2004
Serial issues, pamphlets, leaflets, bulletins, speeches, newsletters, reports, and sound recordings, relating to political, social and economic conditions in Cuba, Cuban foreign relations, and the status of civil liberties in Cuba, primarily in the period since the revolution of 1959.
1957-2006
Writings and correspondence, relating mainly to Herbert L. Matthews and his reportage of the Cuban revolution. Includes government documents relating to Matthews obtained in response to Freedom of Information Act requests. Used as research material for the book by Anthony DePalma, The Man Who Invented Fidel: Cuba, Castro, and Herbert L. Matthews of the New York Times (New York, 2006).
1896, 1912-1966
Correspondence, clippings, pamphlets, newspaper issues, and congressional hearings, relating to the revolution led by Fidel Castro in Cuba, political, social, and economic conditions in Cuba, the 1965 crisis and American intervention in the Dominican Republic, and the Communist Party of the United States.
1953-2002
Pamphlets, serial issues, government documents, bulletins, newsletters, press releases, speeches, conference papers, clippings, and memorabilia, relating to political, social and economic conditions in Cuba under Fidel Castro, in Chile under Salvador Allende, and in Nicaragua under the Sandinistas; to education in Cuba; and to United States foreign policy in Latin America.
Gauld (Charles Anderson) papers
1927-1968
Clippings, correspondence, pamphlets, and serial issues, relating to political, social, and economic conditions in Latin America, especially Brazil, to Latin America's role in World War II, to the Castro regime in Cuba, and to problems of birth control, food production, communism, and religion in Latin America.
1944-1996
Writings, notes, printed matter, and other research material, relating to President Fidel Castro of Cuba; Central America; and citizenship and immigration issues in the United States. Used in preparation of the books by G. A. Geyer, Guerrilla Prince: The Untold Story of Fidel Castro (Boston, 1991), and Americans No More: The Death of Citizenship (New York, 1996). Includes sound recordings and transcripts of interviews with a wide range of persons acquainted with Fidel Castro in a variety of capacities and at various periods of his life.
Giberga Angulo (Manuel Rafael) papers
1943-1980
Correspondence, speeches, reports, notes, financial and legal records, and printed matter relating to political conditions in Cuba, Cuban political prisoners and emigrants, political and other activities of Hispanic Americans, Republican Party activities (especially during the administration of Richard M. Nixon), and the National Republican Heritage Groups Council.
1982-1984
Relates to the 1962 Cuban missile crisis, and to Cuban-Soviet relations during the period 1959-1962. Photocopy.
International Rescue Committee records
1946-1989
Case files, correspondence, reports, memoranda, financial records, personnel records, and statistics, relating to resettlement of refugees and displaced persons, and especially to refugees from Europe after World War II, from the post-World War II communist countries of Eastern Europe, from Hungary after the Hungarian Revolution of 1956, from Cuba after the Cuban Revolution of 1959, and from Indochina after the end of the Vietnamese War in 1975.
1948-2008
The Brian Latell papers primarily consist of research materials on Fidel Castro and Cuba. These contain a large chronological file comprised of English translations from the Cuban media and transcriptions of numerous speeches by Fidel Castro. Also included among the research materials are transcriptions and summaries of interviews with former Cuban officials and associates of Fidel and Raúl Castro. The interviews were conducted by Brian Latell and Adriana Bosch. Additionally, there is an extensive subject file that contains significant documentation on Fidel Castro and political developments in Cuba.
1957-1966
Relates to Fidel Castro and to the Movimiento Revolucionario 26 de Julio in Cuba, 1956-1958. Includes memoirs and photocopies of correspondence, including two letters from Fidel Castro. Also available on microfilm (1 reel)
Lopez Fresquet (Rufo) typescript
1965
Relates to political conditions in Cuba, 1959-1960. Includes photographs. Published as My 14 Months with Castro (Cleveland, 1966).
National Broadcasting Company Audiovisual material
1958-1989
Motion picture film, 1958-1963, relating to the Cuban revolution of 1959, political conditions in Cuba, Cuban-American relations, and the Bay of Pigs invasion of 1961; and video tapes of West German and East German television news programs, 1989, relating to political change in East Germany, the movement for German reunification, and the opening of the Berlin Wall.
O'Donnell (Edward J.) correpondence
1969
Relates to evacuation procedure plans for dependents of American military personnel at Guantanamo during the 1962 Cuban missile crisis.
undated
Relates to political conditions and the status of civil liberties in Cuba, and to the role of the Cuban armed forces. English translation of the published memoir by Ricardo del Pino, Proa a la libertad (Mexico City, 1991). Photocopy.
Respuesta a la escalada sudafricana video tape
1988
Relates to Cuban military involvement in Angola and Namibia. Produced by the Fuerzas Armadas Revolucionarias of Cuba.
Rhodes (Charles Dudley) diary extracts
1885-1911
Relates to the Indian campaign of 1890-1891; the expedition to Santiago de Cuba, 1898; the China Relief Expedition, 1900; the Philippine insurgency, 1901-1903; and a secret mission to Mexico, 1911. Photocopy.
1898-1930
Writings, correspondence, military orders, maps, photographs, clippings, and reports relating to the exploit of Andrew Summers Rowan in carrying the "message to Garcia" during the Spanish-American War, and to other American military activities in Cuba and in the Philippines during the Philippine-American War.
Santovenia y Echaide (Emeterio Santiago) printed writings
1962-1965
Relates to the history of Cuba and the United States and their leaders. Published in Diario las Americas and in Journal of Inter-American Studies.
1941-1991
Collection contains materials relating to American relations with Cuba and to the Cuban revolution of 1959. Includes drafts of the memoir by Earl E. T. Smith, The Fourth Floor: An Account of the Castro Communist Revolution (New York, 1962).
8:30 am - 4:30 pm
(by reservation)
Exhibitions & Observation Deck
10:00 am - 4:00 pm
We are closed for major holidays, Stanford home football games, and campus winter closure.