The Juan Domingo Perón papers consist primarily of correspondence between Perón and his followers, conducted largely during the period of his exile in Madrid, Spain. Among the correspondents are many of the major figures of the Peronist movement, including trade union leaders in Argentina and exiled Peronist activists. The letters themselves contain detailed information about rivalries and intrigues among different Peronist factions, and they record the efforts of Perón's lieutenants as they sought both to curry favor in the eyes of their leader and to sustain the Peronist movement within Argentina. They also document the roles played by Isabel Perón and José Lopez Rega in the last years of Juan Perón's life.
Photo: Juan Domingo Peron papers, Box 5, Folder 12, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
The newspapers in this collection were originally collected by the Hoover Institution Library and transferred to the Archives in 2019. The Argentina newspaper collection (1906-1992) comprises forty different Spanish-language titles of publication. All titles within this collection have been further analyzed in Stanford University Libraries catalog.
Photo: Argentina newspaper collection, Box 3, Cruzada Femenina, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Argentine newspaper and magazine issues, clippings, and photographs, relating to the presidency of Juan Perón of Argentina, especially its overthrow, and to the death of Eva Perón, wife of Juan Perón.
Photo: John J. Johnson collection. Box 3, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Correspondence, writings, clippings, and photographs, relating to American-Argentine relations, the presidency of Juan Perón of Argentina, activities of Perón after his deposition in 1955, and activities of the Peronist political movement. Includes letters by Perón and Milton Eisenhower (brother of President Dwight D. Eisenhower), statements by Perón in exile sent to followers in Argentina, and a typescript study of relations between President Perón and the Roman Catholic Church in Argentina.
Photo: Hipoloto Jesus Paz papers, Box 1, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Correspondence, reports, and clippings, relating to Argentine-German relations, especially trade relations.
Photo: Argentina. Consulado General (Berlin) records, Box 1, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Argentina. Consulado General (Berlin) records
1929-1944
Correspondence, reports, and clippings, relating to Argentine-German relations, especially trade relations.
Argentina newspaper collection
1906-1992
The newspapers in this collection were originally collected by the Hoover Institution Library and transferred to the Archives in 2019. The Argentina newspaper collection (1906-1992) comprises forty different Spanish-language titles of publication. All titles within this collection have been further analyzed in Stanford University Libraries catalog.
1933-2003
Speeches, bulletins, pamphlets, flyers, serial issues, reports, and sound recordings, relating to political, social and economic conditions in Argentina, and especially to the presidential administration of, and political movement led by, Juan Peron.
1935-1974
Correspondence, speeches and writings, memoranda, reports, financial records, clippings, other printed matter, and photographs, relating to Argentine foreign relations and participation in the United Nations; political conditions in Argentina, especially the Peronist movement and the Partido Union Popular; and labor policy and legislation in Argentina under the regime of Juan Peron. Includes correspondence with Peron, and some papers of Carlos Atilio Bramuglia.
Calvino (Luis Fernando) papers
1966-2002
Writings, serial issues, and pamphlets, relating to the Peronist political movement in Argentina, and to political and economic conditions in Argentina. Includes issuances of the Movimiento Nacional Justicialista and other Peronist groups, and non-Peronist Argentine issuances relating to Peronism.
1997
Study and speech transcript, relating to political and economic conditions in Argentina.
Centro de Documentacion e Investigación de la Cultura de Izquierdas en la Argentina collection
1899-1986
Serial issues, books, and pamphlets, issued by anarchist, socialist, communist and other left-wing organizations, relating to political and cultural conditions in Argentina. Includes Reels 1-46, 50-94 and 97-151.
Di Tella (Torcuato S.) collection
1901-1989
Serial issues and pamphlets published by Peronist, socialist, communist, anarchist and trade union organizations in Argentina relating to political and economic conditions in Argentina. In part, microfilm.
Duhalde (Eduardo Alberto) speeches and writings
1988-2003
Relates to political conditions and free market reforms in Argentina and especially in Buenos Aires province. Includes printed matter.
1857-2006
The Américo Ghioldi papers in the Hoover Institution Library & Archives document the multifaceted career of a prominent Argentine politician, journalist, and educator. Joining the Partido Socialista at an early age, Ghioldi wrote prolifically for the socialist press, principally for the newspaper he helped to edit, La Vanguardia. He was also a lecturer and orator, giving numerous talks at socialist meetings and campaign rallies. Rising to a leadership position in the Partido Socialista, he was elected repeatedly to the Argentine Cámara de Diputados de la Nación.
1943-1955
Argentine newspaper and magazine issues, clippings, and photographs, relating to the presidency of Juan Perón of Argentina, especially its overthrow, and to the death of Eva Perón, wife of Juan Perón.
1939-2008
Nikolai Leonidovich Kazantsev (Nicolás Kasanzew), journalist and editor of the Russian-language newspaper, Nasha strana (Buenos Aires, Argentina). Editorial files of the newspaper "Nasha strana" (correspondence, photographs, circulars, autobiographies, proclamations, etc.), as well as material relating to history and activities of Solonevich brothers in emigration and Russian Corps in Yugoslavia during WWII.
1989-2004
Speeches and interview transcript, relating to domestic and foreign policy of Argentina.
1946-1981
Writings, printed matter, and photocopies of United States Department of State documents released under the Freedom of Information Act, relating to Juan Perón, the Peronist political movement in Argentina, and relations between the United States and Argentina. Used as research material for the book by J. A. Page, Perón, a Biography (New York, 1983).
1950-1993
Correspondence, writings, clippings, and photographs, relating to American-Argentine relations, the presidency of Juan Perón of Argentina, activities of Perón after his deposition in 1955, and activities of the Peronist political movement. Includes letters by Perón and Milton Eisenhower (brother of President Dwight D. Eisenhower), statements by Perón in exile sent to followers in Argentina, and a typescript study of relations between President Perón and the Roman Catholic Church in Argentina.
1931-2002
The Juan Domingo Perón papers consist primarily of correspondence between Perón and his followers, conducted largely during the period of his exile in Madrid, Spain. Among the correspondents are many of the major figures of the Peronist movement, including trade union leaders in Argentina and exiled Peronist activists. The letters themselves contain detailed information about rivalries and intrigues among different Peronist factions, and they record the efforts of Perón's lieutenants as they sought both to curry favor in the eyes of their leader and to sustain the Peronist movement within Argentina. They also document the roles played by Isabel Perón and José Lopez Rega in the last years of Juan Perón's life.
8:30 am - 4:30 pm
(by reservation)
Exhibitions & Observation Deck
10:00 am - 4:00 pm
We are closed for major holidays, Stanford home football games, and campus winter closure.