Latin America and the Caribbean Collections at the Hoover Institution Library & Archives

Albert (Steve) papers

     1988-1993

Writings, notes, interview sound recordings and transcripts, photocopies of trial transcripts, clippings, and other printed matter, relating to the drug trafficking trial in the United States of General Manuel Noriega of Panama. Used as research material for the book by Steve Albert, The Case against the General: Manuel Noriega and the Politics of American Justice (New York, 1993).

Applegarth (John S.) collection

     1964-1965

Ephemeral publications, propaganda leaflets, newspaper clippings, photographs, placards, and a sound recording, relating to the riots in the Panama Canal Zone in January 1964 and to activities of political parties in Mexico, and Central and South America.

Bennett (Paul G.) miscellaneous papers

     1968

Letters, cartoons, and newspaper clippings, relating to Panamanian-American relations in 1968.

Crystal (Thomas L.) papers

     1941-1968

Correspondence, orders, reports, memoranda, notes, maps, and clippings, relating to American military activities during World War II, especially military intelligence operations of the XIX Corps in France, and to American-Panamanian relations, especially regarding the Panama Canal, during the 1960s.

Dinges (John) papers

     1968-1998

Writings, notes, correspondence, interview sound recordings and transcripts, trial transcripts, photocopies of government records, and printed matter, relating to General Manuel Noriega of Panama, his trial for drug trafficking, and American-Panamanian relations. Includes United States Department of State documents released in response to Freedom of Information Act requests. Used as research material for the book by John Dinges, Our Man in Panama: How General Noriega Used the United States and Made Millions in Drugs and Arms (New York, 1990).

Dozer (Donald M.) papers

     1893-1981

Correspondence, writings, memoranda, notes, printed matter, and audio-visual material, relating to American foreign policy during World War II; postwar loyalty-security programs; government secrecy in the State Department; American foreign policy in Latin America; various aspects of Latin American history and society; and the Panama Canal treaty of 1978. Digital copies of select records also available at https://digitalcollections.hoover.org. 

Fleming (Robert John) interview

     1975

Relates to the attack on Pearl Harbor and the administration of the Panama Canal Zone. Interview conducted by Paul B. Ryan, captain, United States Navy. Includes sound recording and transcript.

.

Gruber (William Rudolph) papers

     1911-1978

The papers of William Rudolph Gruber, U.S. Army brigadier general, consist of correspondence, orders, reports, memoranda, writings, certificates, printed matter, maps, and photographs relating to American military administration of the Panama Canal and American military operations in France during World War I and in the Far East during World War II.

Harris (Godfrey) papers

     1922-2005

Writings, correspondence, reports, memoranda, printed matter, computer disks, and photographs, relating to Panama, American-Panamanian relations, the 1989 American invasion of Panama, Manuel Noriega, and the Foreign Policy Association of Panama. Includes research material for the book by David S. Behar and Godfrey Harris, Invasion: The American Destruction of the Noriega Regime in Panama (Los Angeles, 1990), and the book by Guillermo St. Malo and Godfrey Harris, The Panamanian Problem: How the Reagan and Bush Administrations Dealt with the Noriega Regime (Los Angeles, 1993).

Lee (Fitzhugh) papers

     1926-1986

Correspondence, speeches and writings, memoranda, testimony, orders, personnel records, and printed matter, relating to naval aviation, naval operations in the Pacific Theater during World War II, inter-service controversies within the American armed forces, issues arising from civilian control of the military, the military system of administration of justice, and the 1978 Panama Canal treaty.

Mott (George Fox) papers

     1941-1985

Writings, correspondence, reports, studies, press releases, legal documents, printed matter, and photographs, relating to post-World War II Allied military government in Korea and Japan; political, social and economic conditions in Korea; Korean-American relations; education in East Asia, especially South Korea and Taiwan; the Panama Canal and the Panamanian-American treaty of 1978; and the divestment of land from the Isthmian Timber Company by the Panamian government.

Panama newspaper collection

     1944-1966

The newspapers in this collection were originally collected by the Hoover Institution Library and transferred to the Archives in 2019. The Panama newspaper collection (1944-1966) comprises six different Spanish and English-language titles of publication. All of the titles within this collection have been further analyzed in Stanford University Libraries catalog.

Panamanian subject collection

     1951-1999

Serial issues, pamphlets, leaflets, election campaign literature, bulletins, reports, and studies, relating primarily to political conditions and elections in Panama, the Panama Canal, relations between Panama and the United States, and the American invasion of Panama in 1989.

Ritchie (Lorelei D.) Interviews

     1992

Interviews with Panamanian politicians, journalists, businessmen, and university officials, relating to political, economic and human rights conditions in Panama. 

Ryan (Paul B.) papers

     1940-1985

The papers of Paul B. Ryan, an American historian and retired United States Navy Captain, consist of clippings, reports, studies, other printed matter, notes, correspondence, writings, speeches, and photographs relating to Ryan's research on the 1978 Panama Canal treaty, the development of the United States Navy since World War II, the Iran hostage crisis, and Ryan himself.