Correspondence, writings, sound recordings and transcripts of interviews, and printed matter relating to the trial of the French revolutionary journalist Régis Debray in Bolivia; revolutionary movements and political conditions in Bolivia, Cuba, Venezuela and elsewhere in Latin America; women in Cuba; and the Guatemalan Indian leader Rigoberta Menchú.
Photo: Elisabeth Burgos-Debray papers, Box 3, Folder 2, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
1966-1991
The newspapers in this collection were originally collected by the Hoover Institution Library and transferred to the Archives in 2019. The Bolivia newspaper collection (1966-1992) comprises five different titles of publication, all in Spanish. All of the titles within this collection have been further analyzed in Stanford University Libraries catalog.
1944-1989
Clippings, pamphlets, reports, and other printed matter, relating to political conditions in Bolivia, and especially to the Bolivian revolution of 1946.
Burgos-Debray (Elisabeth) papers
1920-2007
Correspondence, writings, sound recordings and transcripts of interviews, and printed matter relating to the trial of the French revolutionary journalist Régis Debray in Bolivia; revolutionary movements and political conditions in Bolivia, Cuba, Venezuela and elsewhere in Latin America; women in Cuba; and the Guatemalan Indian leader Rigoberta Menchú.
1895-1999
Correspondence, dispatches, reports, diaries, certificates, and photographs relating to American foreign relations, especially with Jordan, Bolivia and Haiti.
1760-1991
The collection is comprised of printed matter and research materials relating to the history and modern politics of Bolivia. The printed matter consists of pamphlets, monographs, and serial issues that largely pertain to Bolivian leftist authors and organizations. The research materials and notes concern land use and property issues in Bolivia during the 18th and 19th centuries. These materials were used as the basis of Herbert S. Klein's work, Haciendas and Ayllus: Rural Society in the Bolivian Andes in the 18th and 19th Centuries (1993).
1952-2002
The papers provide an overview of the life and career of a prominent Bolivian trade unionist and politician, Juan Lechín Oquendo who served as head of the powerful Central Obrera Boliviana for 35 years (1952-1987), and was vice president of Bolivia from 1960-1964. Correspondence, speeches and writings, reports, studies, copies of government documents and trade union records, printed matter, sound recordings of interviews, photographs, and memorabilia in the papers relate to miners' unions in Bolivia and the Central Obrera Boliviana, the Bolivian revolution of 1952, as well as subsequent political and economic developments in Bolivia.
1947-1988
The papers include letters, memoranda, maps, printed matter, and photographs collected by American journalist Martin McReynolds and relating to the trial in Bolivia for guerrilla activities of the French revolutionary journalist René Debray.
Meadowcroft (Jean Helen) papers
1966-2001
The Jean Helen Meadowcroft collection contains significant materials relating to educational assistance programs in Bolivia, Peru, Guatemala, Lesotho, and Nepal. After serving as a Peace Corps volunteer in Bolivia in 1966-1968, Meadowcroft joined the United States Agency for International Development and worked on a number of agency programs designed to improve education in poorer countries. The bulk of the collection relates to programs in Bolivia, Lesotho, and Nepal. The collection largely consists of reports, correspondence, memoranda, and instructional materials. There are also some sound recordings and videorecordings in the collection.
8:30 am - 4:30 pm
(by reservation)
Exhibitions & Observation Deck
10:00 am - 4:00 pm
We are closed for major holidays, Stanford home football games, and campus winter closure.