Latin America and the Caribbean Collections at the Hoover Institution Library & Archives

Colombia newspaper collection

     1945-1990

The newspapers in this collection were originally collected by the Hoover Institution Library and transferred to the Archives in 2019. The Colombia newspaper collection (1945-1990) comprises six different Spanish-language titles of publication. All of the titles within this collection have been further analyzed in Stanford University Libraries catalog.

Colombian subject collection

     1914-2000

Serial issues, pamphlets, leaflets, election campaign literature, studies, and speeches, relating primarily to political conditions and elections in Colombia.

Corporacion Observatorio para la Paz collection

     1974-1981

Videotape cassettes, and photocopies of memoranda, clippings, and pamphlets, relating to guerrilla movements in Colombia, and especially to the Movimiento 19 de Abril. Collected by the Corporación Observatorio para la Paz.

Edgardo Buscaglia and William E. Ratliff collection

     1969-2003

The collection consists of research materials that largely relate to the study of judicial systems, legal reform, political institutions, and economic development in Latin America and internationally. The materials are chiefly comprised of official reports, laws and decrees, statistics, and printed matter dating from the late 1990s and early 2000s; there are some digital files and audiovisual materials included as well. In terms of Latin America, there is a significant amount of documentation pertaining to Argentina, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, and Venezuela. The more general part of the collection contains reports and studies commissioned by the United Nations, the World Bank, and other bodies, and these focus on transnational issues of corruption, money laundering, and drug trafficking.

Partial Inventory of the Maria Teresa Ronderos interviews

     1998

Phonotape sound recordings of interviews of Colombian government officials and others, relating to to drug trafficking in Colombia.

Samper Pizano (Ernesto) collection

     1992-1996

Discussion papers, booklets, serial issues, and other printed matter, relating to social and economic policy planning in Colombia, other aspects of governmental administration in Colombia, and human rights in Colombia. Includes many discussion papers issued by the Departamento Nacional de Planeación of Colombia. Also includes some printed writings by E. Samper Pizano.