Latin America and the Caribbean Collections at the Hoover Institution Library & Archives

Photo: J. Rafael Oreamuno interview, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University. 

Costa Rica. Asamblea Legislativa. Comisión Especial para que Coordine y Reciba la Información Proveniente del Organismo de Investigación Judicial y de la Contraloria General de la República sobre el Trasiego de Armas records

     1980-1981

Proceedings, testimony, exhibits, and reports, relating to the illegal transit of Cuban arms to Nicaragua through Costa Rican territory. Photocopy.

Costa Rican subject collection

     1929-1993

This collection consists of documents pertaining to Costa Rica, including materials about elections, campaigns, and political parties, human rights, trade issues, and Costa Rica's role in the Central American peace process. Also includes reports concerning activities within Costa Rica in support of the Nicaraguan Contras. Forms of material present in the collection include reports, serial issues, articles, pamphlets, leaflets, flyers, bumper stickers, sample ballots, campaign biographies, voter's guide and election code. Arranged alphabetically by subject. Also contains posters, manifesto, sample ballots, election literature and promotional items.

Gutierrez G. (Jaime) miscellaneous papers

     1971-1989

Letters, memoranda, notes, and printed matter, relating to President José Figueres Ferrer of Costa Rica, aspects of Costa Rican politics and Costa Rican relations with the United States, and Haitian émigré opposition to President François Duvalier of Haiti. Photocopy.

Hull (John) interviews

     1991

Relates to Nicaraguan contra guerrilla activities from Costa Rican bases, American aid to Nicaraguan guerrillas, allegations of guerrilla drug trafficking, and allegations regarding the attempted assassination of the guerrilla leader Edén Pastora. Interviews conducted by William E. Ratliff.

Multi-country newspaper collection

     1905-2007

 The Multi-Country newspaper collection consists of forty-four unique titles from thirty different countries: Algeria, Angola, Brazil, Burma, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Ethiopia, French West Africa, Guatemala, Haiti, Hong Kong, Indochina, Indonesia, Jamaica, Jordan, Kurdistan, Lebanon, Mali, Madagascar, Manchuria, Pakistan, Paraguay, Reunion, San Marino, Sarawak, South Africa, Tanganyika, Thailand and Vietnam. Some titles are available on microfilm. Microfilm availability and further analyzed title information can be found in Stanford's Library catalog.

Oreamuno (J. Rafael) interview

     1968

Relates to American-Costa Rican relations, and inter-American relations during World War II, especially Argentina's declaration of war and participation in the United Nations Conference on International Organization. Interview conducted by Raymond Henle. Includes typewritten transcript.

Rossi Chavarria (Jorge) miscellaneous papers

     1954-1990

Letters and memorandum, relating to President José Figueres Ferrer of Costa Rica, and to various aspects of Costa Rican politics and Costa Rican relations with Nicaragua. Includes correspondence with Figueres. Photocopy.