The Hoover Institution Library & Archives are open to the public by reservation
8:30am - 4:30pm
Monday - Friday.
You can find more information about planning a research visit and navigating our collections by visiting our Research Services website.
For any questions, Email Us or call us at: +1 (650) 723-3563
Diaries, notes, schedules, letters, resolutions, memoranda, reports, and instructions, relating to the guerrilla war of the Frente Farabundo Martípara la Liberación Nacional in El Salvador. Includes many official documents of the organization. Photocopy.
Photo: Nidia Diaz papers, Box 2, Folder 2, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Sound recordings and transcripts of interviews, and associated material, relating to free market policies in Chile and elsewhere in Latin America, and to the influence of economists associated with the University of Chicago in instituting them. Interviews conducted by Tobias Switzer and William E. Ratliff. Those interviewed include Rolf Lüders Schwarzenberg, Sergio de Castro, Martín Costabal Llona, Alvaro Donoso, Ernesto Fontaine, Gonzalo Vial Correa, Miguel Schweitzer, Roberto Kelly, Domingo Cavallo and Hernán Cubillos Sallato.
Photo: Chicago boys and Latin American market reformers collection, Box 1, Folder 1, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
The Juan Domingo Perón papers consist primarily of correspondence between Perón and his followers, conducted largely during the period of his exile in Madrid, Spain. Among the correspondents are many of the major figures of the Peronist movement, including trade union leaders in Argentina and exiled Peronist activists. The letters themselves contain detailed information about rivalries and intrigues among different Peronist factions, and they record the efforts of Perón's lieutenants as they sought both to curry favor in the eyes of their leader and to sustain the Peronist movement within Argentina. They also document the roles played by Isabel Perón and José Lopez Rega in the last years of Juan Perón's life.
Photo: Juan Domingo Peron papers, Box 5, Folder 39, Hoover Instiution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Correspondence, writings, sound recordings and transcripts of interviews, and printed matter relating to the trial of the French revolutionary journalist Régis Debray in Bolivia; revolutionary movements and political conditions in Bolivia, Cuba, Venezuela and elsewhere in Latin America; women in Cuba; and the Guatemalan Indian leader Rigoberta Menchú.
Photo: Elisabeth Burgos-Debray papers, Box 1, Folder 31, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Reports, correspondence, minutes, conference proceedings, resolutions, speeches, pamphlets, discussion bulletins, newsletters, and printed matter, relating to activities of the Partido Comunista Mexicano from its formation in 1919 until its merger with other parties in 1981, including electoral, trade union, student and other activities, and activities both at the national level and within various states.
Photo: Rodolfo Martinez Echeverria collection, Box 11, Folder 2, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
These collections concentrate on political and economic developments during the twentieth century. The Cuban revolution, Juan Perón and the Perónist movement, and various civil wars in Central America are well documented. Numerous materials concern relations with the United States, including US military interventions in several countries. Others focus on the adoption, in recent decades, of free-market economic policies by Latin American governments.
Note: This guide is a starting point for research at the Hoover Library & Archives. It is not comprehensive, and you may find other material relevant to the topic. For a guide on how to search our collections yourself, you can click here.
8:30 am - 4:30 pm
(by reservation)
Exhibitions & Observation Deck
10:00 am - 4:00 pm
We are closed for major holidays, Stanford home football games, and campus winter closure.