Correspondence, speeches and writings, diaries, memoranda, reports, hearing transcripts, legal and financial papers, printed matter, photographs, and memorabilia relating to American domestic and foreign policy, especially during the presidential administrations of Richard M. Nixon and Ronald Reagan; American intelligence operations from World War II on; and the 1980 presidential campaign of Ronald Reagan. Digital copies of select records also available at https://digitalcollections.hoover.org.
Photo: William Casey, Box 330, Folder 4, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Correspondence, speeches and writings, memoranda, reports, studies, printed matter, photographs, phonotapes, videotapes, and memorabilia, relating to American domestic policy and foreign relations, especially during the presidential administrations of Richard M. Nixon and Ronald Reagan. Included are materials from his years in academia at the University of Chicago and at Stanford University, his work as an executive and a director at Bechtel Corporation, and the numerous projects and initiatives Shultz launched as Thomas W. and Susan B. Ford Distinguished Fellow at the Hoover Institution.
Photo: George Pratt Shultz papers, Box 496, Folder 10, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Drafts of the books by Peter Robinson, It's My Party: A Republican's Messy Love Affair with the GOP (New York, 2000), and How Ronald Reagan Changed My Life (New York, 2003), and correspondence and research materials used in their preparation. Includes sound recordings and transcripts of interviews of associates of Ronald Reagan.
Photo: Peter Robinson papers, Box 39, Folder 6, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Writings, correspondence, notes, memoranda, studies, technical reports, journal articles, and other printed matter, relating to physics, nuclear and other energy sources, nuclear weapons, laser technology, the Strategic Defense Initiative, arms control, and scientific policy in the United States during the presidential administration of Ronald Reagan. Digital copies of select records also available at https://digitalcollections.hoover.org.
Photo: Thomas Hawkins Johnson papers, Box 47, Folder Army Stealth Task Force, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Speeches, correspondence, memoranda, reports, schedules, press releases, legal documents, printed matter, photographs, and sound recordings related to California politics and administration of the California state government during the governorship of Ronald Reagan; and to American domestic policy, Republican Party politics, and federal administration of justice during the presidency of Ronald Reagan. Digital copies of select records also available at https://digitalcollections.hoover.org.
Photo: Edwin Meese papers, Bpx 120, Folder 1, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Speeches of Jeane Kirkpatrick, Elliott Abrams, William Bennett, George Shultz, and Dan Quayle, letters, memoranda, testimony, bulletins, and printed matter, relating to American foreign and domestic policy during the administrations of Ronald Reagan and George Bush, to human rights violations throughout the world, and to the United Nations.
Photo: Joseph Sattan papers, Box 24, Folder 5, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Correspondence, speeches and writings, dispatches, reports, memoranda, clippings, other printed matter, photographs, sound recordings, and motion picture film relating to the Republican Party, national and Connecticut politics, and American foreign relations, especially with Spain, Argentina and Switzerland. Digital copies of select records also available at https://digitalcollections.hoover.org.
Photo: John Davis Lodge papers, Box 272, Folder 30, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Correspondence, speeches and writings, memoranda, reports, studies, notes, legal and financial records, printed matter, and photographs relating to the gubernatorial administration of Ronald Reagan in California, and to foreign policy and public lands management during the presidential administration of Ronald Reagan.
Photo: William Patrick Clark papers, Box 73, Folder 15, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Contains correspondence, speeches, interviews, legal files, subject files, photographs, audio and video recordings, clippings, and notes relating to Allen's work in American politics and government. As a specialist in security and foreign policy, Allen worked on the Nixon and Reagan campaigns and held posts on the National Security Council under each of them. Topics of note include: Ronald Reagan, George H. W. Bush, Richard Nixon, foreign policy, national security, political campaigns, Iran hostage crisis, Republican National Committee, libel and media abuses, Korea, and Taiwan.
Photo: Richard V. Allen papers, Box 58, Folder 5, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Schedules, memoranda, correspondence, reports, notes, clippings, and sound recordings relating to the presidential campaign of Richard M. Nixon in 1968 and Ronald Reagan in 1980, and to preparations for the presidential administration of Ronald Reagan; and draft and final report, transcripts of meetings and hearings, correspondence, notes, press releases, and clippings, relating to activities of the President's Commission on Privatization in investigating and making recommendations concerning the desirability of transferring various functions and assets of the United States government to the private sector (conclusions published as Privatization: Toward More Effective Government: Report of the President's Commission on Privatization [Washington, 1988]).
Photo: Annelise G. Anderson papers, Box 1, Folder 1, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Correspondence, speeches and writings, reports, printed matter, photographs, and audiovisual material relating to U.S. domestic policy, especially during the administrations of Richard M. Nixon and Ronald Reagan, adoption of all-volunteer military services, U.S. foreign policy, and Republican Party politics.
Photo: Martin Anderson papers, Box 282, Folder 10, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
1948-1999
Contains correspondence, speeches, interviews, legal files, subject files, photographs, audio and video recordings, clippings, and notes relating to Allen's work in American politics and government. As a specialist in security and foreign policy, Allen worked on the Nixon and Reagan campaigns and held posts on the National Security Council under each of them. Topics of note include: Ronald Reagan, George H. W. Bush, Richard Nixon, foreign policy, national security, political campaigns, Iran hostage crisis, Republican National Committee, libel and media abuses, Korea, and Taiwan.
1968-1990
Schedules, memoranda, correspondence, reports, notes, clippings, and sound recordings relating to the presidential campaign of Richard M. Nixon in 1968 and Ronald Reagan in 1980, and to preparations for the presidential administration of Ronald Reagan; and draft and final report, transcripts of meetings and hearings, correspondence, notes, press releases, and clippings, relating to activities of the President's Commission on Privatization in investigating and making recommendations concerning the desirability of transferring various functions and assets of the United States government to the private sector (conclusions published as Privatization: Toward More Effective Government: Report of the President's Commission on Privatization [Washington, 1988]).
1888-2015, bulk 1960-2010
Correspondence, speeches and writings, reports, printed matter, photographs, and audiovisual material relating to U.S. domestic policy, especially during the administrations of Richard M. Nixon and Ronald Reagan, adoption of all-volunteer military services, U.S. foreign policy, and Republican Party politics.
1945-2002
Agenda and minutes of meetings, conference proceedings, correspondence, memoranda, reports, studies, budgets, working papers, press releases, and printed matter relating to free market economics; activities of the National Science Foundation in promoting scientific research and education in the United States; activities of the Japan-United States Friendship Commission in promoting academic and cultural ties between Japan and the United States; and administration of the University of California system.
1913-2006
Correspondence, speeches and writings, diaries, memoranda, reports, hearing transcripts, legal and financial papers, printed matter, photographs, and memorabilia relating to American domestic and foreign policy, especially during the presidential administrations of Richard M. Nixon and Ronald Reagan; American intelligence operations from World War II on; and the 1980 presidential campaign of Ronald Reagan. Digital copies of select records also available at https://digitalcollections.hoover.org.
Clark (William Patrick) papers
1966-2008
Correspondence, speeches and writings, memoranda, reports, studies, notes, legal and financial records, printed matter, and photographs relating to the gubernatorial administration of Ronald Reagan in California, and to foreign policy and public lands management during the presidential administration of Ronald Reagan.
1982-1985
Relates to American foreign policy during the presidential administration of Ronald Reagan.
1966-2000
Speeches and writings, memoranda, reports, correspondence, agenda, and printed matter, relating to education in the United States, and especially to educational policy during the presidential administrations of Richard M. Nixon and Ronald Reagan, and to activities of the Educational Excellence Network and of the United States National Assessment Governing Board.
1988-2003
Collection includes correspondence, speeches and writings, dispatches, memoranda, reports, notes, printed matter, memorabilia, and photographs relating to international relations and diplomacy, United States foreign policy during the presidential administration of Ronald Reagan, and the Chinese Cultural Revolution. Also contains speeches and writings of Secretary of State George Shultz. Digital copies of select records also available at https://digitalcollections.hoover.org.
1972-1988
Speeches and writings, correspondence, memoranda, reports, testimony, schedules, appointment books, telephone logs, and printed matter relating to the Strategic Arms Limitation Talks and other arms control issues, the 1980 presidential campaign of Ronald Reagan, and American defense policy during the presidential administrations of Richard M. Nixon, Gerald R. Ford, and Ronald Reagan. Digital copies of select records also available at https://digitalcollections.hoover.org.
Johnson (Thomas Hawkins) papers
1963-1990
Writings, correspondence, notes, memoranda, studies, technical reports, journal articles, and other printed matter, relating to physics, nuclear and other energy sources, nuclear weapons, laser technology, the Strategic Defense Initiative, arms control, and scientific policy in the United States during the presidential administration of Ronald Reagan. Digital copies of select records also available at https://digitalcollections.hoover.org.
1886-1987
Correspondence, speeches and writings, dispatches, reports, memoranda, clippings, other printed matter, photographs, sound recordings, and motion picture film relating to the Republican Party, national and Connecticut politics, and American foreign relations, especially with Spain, Argentina and Switzerland. Digital copies of select records also available at https://digitalcollections.hoover.org.
McLaughry (John) miscellaneous papers
1980-1987
Letter, memoranda, press releases, position papers, and printed matter, relating to the presidential election campaign of Ronald Reagan in 1980, and to policy regarding creation of enterprise zones during his presidential administration.
1983-1985
Correspondence, memoranda, reports, studies, working papers, and printed matter relating to American taxation policy during the presidential administration of Ronald Reagan and especially to worldwide unitary taxation proposals.
1941-1991
Speeches, correspondence, memoranda, reports, schedules, press releases, legal documents, printed matter, photographs, and sound recordings related to California politics and administration of the California state government during the governorship of Ronald Reagan; and to American domestic policy, Republican Party politics, and federal administration of justice during the presidency of Ronald Reagan. Digital copies of select records also available at https://digitalcollections.hoover.org.
1981-1989
Speeches and writings, correspondence, memoranda, notes, reports, studies, statistics, clippings, and other printed matter relating to domestic policy in the United States during the presidential administration of Ronald Reagan, and especially to policy regarding regulation of commerce, planning and implementation of the federal budget, and administration of federal government agencies.
1959-1985
Correspondence, memoranda, reports, studies, speeches, conference proceedings, minutes, press briefings, statistics, circulars, and printed matter, relating to American government administration and budgeting during the presidential administration of Richard M. Nixon, movements to limit taxation in the United States, and governmental economic policy during the presidential administration of Ronald Reagan.
1998-2003
Drafts of the books by Peter Robinson, It's My Party: A Republican's Messy Love Affair with the GOP (New York, 2000), and How Ronald Reagan Changed My Life (New York, 2003), and correspondence and research materials used in their preparation. Includes sound recordings and transcripts of interviews of associates of Ronald Reagan.
1981-1993
Correspondence, speeches and writings, memoranda, studies, reports, and printed matter, relating to educational policy during the presidential administration of Ronald Reagan, and to the applications of technology to education.
1938-1991
Speeches of Jeane Kirkpatrick, Elliott Abrams, William Bennett, George Shultz, and Dan Quayle, letters, memoranda, testimony, bulletins, and printed matter, relating to American foreign and domestic policy during the administrations of Ronald Reagan and George Bush, to human rights violations throughout the world, and to the United Nations.
1963-2005
Harry W. Shlaudeman served in the US Foreign Service from 1955 to 1992. He was Executive Director of the Bipartisan Commission on Central America (Kissinger Commission 1983-1984) and Presidential Special Envoy to Central America (1984-1986). The Harry W. Shlaudeman papers contain personal papers, including major correspondence with Professor Abraham Lowenthal of USC on the Dominican Republic and US policy.
1909-2021
Correspondence, speeches and writings, memoranda, reports, studies, printed matter, photographs, phonotapes, videotapes, and memorabilia, relating to American domestic policy and foreign relations, especially during the presidential administrations of Richard M. Nixon and Ronald Reagan. Included are materials from his years in academia at the University of Chicago and at Stanford University, his work as an executive and a director at Bechtel Corporation, and the numerous projects and initiatives Shultz launched as Thomas W. and Susan B. Ford Distinguished Fellow at the Hoover Institution.
1970-1988
Correspondence, memoranda, reports, press releases, statistics, notes, studies, financial and legal records, printed matter, and photographs, relating to United States transportation policy during the presidential administration of Ronald Reagan, home loan banking, and planning of the Ronald Reagan Presidential Library.
8:30 am - 4:30 pm
(by reservation)
Exhibitions & Observation Deck
10:00 am - 4:00 pm
We are closed for major holidays, Stanford home football games, and campus winter closure.