The Vrangel' collection is composed of a group of official archives belonging to Russian government agencies and military departments active during World War I, the Russian Civil War, and the first period of Russian emigration. The collection was originally organized by Lieutenant-General N. Golovin in 1927. Each archive within the collection was retained as an independent entity, while at the same time the collection as a whole was divided into 353 files. The present register maintains this arrangement while attempting to greatly expand the description of material found in individual files.
Reports, orders, correspondence, memoranda, dispatches, financial records, minutes, printed matter, maps, and photographs relating to Russian military operations in France during World War I; White Russian diplomatic activities and military operations, especially in southern Russia, during the Russian Revolution and Civil War, including military purchasing and intelligence operations; administration of territory under White Russian control during the Civil War; the evacuation of White Russian military personnel and civilians from the Crimea in 1920; and the resettlement of Russian refugees in Turkey and various European countries. Includes records of the Russian Expeditionary Corps in France, the Volunteer Army, the Armed Forces of Southern Russia, the Northwestern Army, the Foreign Supply Directorate, military representatives in foreign countries and attached to the Allied Supreme Command, and the Russian Army in exile, and some personal papers of Baron Petr Vrangel', commander-in-chief successively of the Armed Forces of Southern Russia and Russian Army. The majority of the collection is also available on microfilm (220 reels). Digital copies of select records also available at https://digitalcollections.hoover.org.