Yugoslavia Resources at the Hoover Institution Library & Archives

Writings, correspondence, reports, studies, memoranda, legal and government documents, diaries, newspapers, photographs, and sound recording, relating to the history, politics, and government of Serbia and Yugoslavia, relations between Croatia and Serbia, activities of the Hrvatski Domobran in the United States, the communist party of Yugoslavia, the trial of Draža Mihailović, and Serbian émigré affairs

The American Red Cross is a humanitarian organization led by volunteers and guided by its Congressional Charter and the Fundamental Principals of the International Red Cross Movement. The Federal Charter states it is a nonprofit, tax-exempt, charitable organization. The organization's seven fundamental principles are: humanity, impartiality, neutrality, independence, voluntary service, unity, and universality. This mission guides the organization to provide relief to victims of disasters and to help people prevent, prepare for, and respond to emergencies.

Correspondence, diary, speeches and writings, memoranda, reports, maps, clippings, printed matter, and photographs, relating to coal production and distribution in Silesia, Bohemia, Galicia, and Serbia, political and economic conditions in Poland, and the partition of Silesia.

Writings, correspondence, and printed matter, relating to conditions in Slovenia during World War II, communism in Slovenia, conditions of Slovenes in postwar displaced persons camps, status of the Slovene minority in Austria, the Slovenske Demokratske Stranke, and Slovene émigré politics. Includes photocopies of United States Department of State documents relating to Slovenes in Austria, released under freedom of information legislation; some material written by and collected by Vladislav Bevc, son of Ladislav Bevc; and a study by Rozina Svent on Slovenes in Austria.

Memoirs, lectures, other writings, letters, reports, directives, clippings, and photographs, relating to military operations in Yugoslavia during World War II; the četnik resistance movement led by General Draža Mihailović. in Yugoslavia, the nature of guerrilla warfare, and counter-guerrilla operational plans developed by the United States Army.

Series of printed bulletins, relating to the occupation of Fiume by Italian nationalists under Gabriele d'Annunzio, September 1919-September 1920.

Djilas said that he "traveled the entire road of communism," from a youthful revolutionary, partisan guerrilla fighter against Nazi invaders of his native Montenegro, to a zealous believer in Stalinism, to complete disillusionment and rejection of a system "capable of destroying nine-tenths of the human race to 'make happy' the one-tenth." Djilas was for many years the closest associate of Josip Broz Tito, the founder of communist Yugoslavia. It was Djilas who Tito sent to Moscow early in 1948 to inform Stalin that Yugoslavia would follow its own national development, outside the Soviet bloc. Soon, however, the relationship with Tito soured as Djilas became increasingly critical of the party and its ideology. In 1954 he was expelled from the party and his government job and, in the following year, put on trial for "hostile propaganda." Djilas spent the next four decades in either prison or official isolation.
Use also : https://oac.cdlib.org/findaid/ark:/13030/kt209nd874/?query=djordjevich

Correspondence, bulletins, writings, press releases, clippings, other printed matter, video tapes, and memorabilia relating to political conditions in Yugoslavia, the breakup of Yugoslavia, the civil war in Bosnia, reportage of Yugoslav news in the American media, American foreign policy in Yugoslavia, and the computer industry.

The collection consists of correspondence, reports, memoranda, and writings, relating to Yugoslav politics and foreign relations; the regency of Prince Paul from 1934 to 1941; the previous hit Cvetković -Maček agreement; Yugoslavia and the signing of the Tripartite Pact; the Našička Affair; the coup d'état of March 27, 1941; Yugoslavia during World War II; and Yugoslav émigré politics. Includes an unpublished history by D. previous hit Cvetković next hit entitled Rat ili Pakt : Unutarnja i Spoljna Politika Namesništva (1965)

Correspondence, memoranda, reports, printed matter, clippings, and photographs, relating to the Soviet occupation of Lithuania, 1940-1941, and Lithuanian foreign relations in Europe, 1934-1941. Also available on microfilm (14 reels).

Mr. Hoover suggested the establishment of a consulting organization in each country, supported by the funds of the respective governments (usually taken from reparations remittances). The technical advisers were agents of the countries in which they worked; however, their efforts were supported by offices in New York and Paris, staffed by American Relief Administration (A.R.A.) personnel, and supervised by a Board of Trustees. Mr. Hoover was the first Chairman of the Board, but upon his becoming Commerce Secretary in the Harding Administration, this function was divided between W.B. Poland and Edgar Rickard. Colonel James A. Logan, Jr. headed the Paris agency, which served as an important liasion between the technical advisers, the A.R.A., the Reparations Commission and other Allied authorities headquartered in Paris.
The technical advisers were primarily responsible for generating reports and recommendations, but they often served important executive functions as well, particularly in negotiating with other countries and in conferring with officials and businessmen. Theoretically, each mission had a technical adviser, a food adviser and a financial adviser; in actuality, the focus was on mining, manufacturing, transportation, and industry. Of prime importance was the condition of the railways: the technical advisers worked on problems relating to procurement of adequate rolling stock, transportation of food and fuel, incorporation of regional networks, and evaluation of tariffs, import and export licensing, rates, administrative organization, and schedules. The advisers also dealt with similar problems relating to the production and distribution of coal and oil, as well as other commodities (textiles, timber, sugar, grain); their coordinative efforts also greatly aided the A.R.A. in providing relief aid within these areas. After two years, sufficient progress had been made to allow the official termination of the missions in late 1921-early 1922.

Relates to American volunteer medical work in Serbia, 1915-1916, and to United States Army medical activities in France, 1917-1919. Letters compiled and edited by Hildegarde B. Forbes and Marjorie Forbes Elias, 1981.

Relates to the suppression of nationalist movements by the Yugoslav government, 1946-1971.

Correspondence, memoranda, reports, writings, clippings, maps, and photographs, relating to Woodrow Wilson, the Paris Peace Conference, military, political, and economic conditions in the Balkans (particularly relating to Fiume (Rijeka) and Montenegro)

Relates to the assassination and trial.

Relates to political and economic conditions in Dalmatia, the history of Dalmatia, and conflicting Italian and Slavic claims to the area.

The collection contains grant proposals, conference papers, minutes, reports, studies, writings, notes, correspondence, electronic bulletins, and printed matter related to economic and social development of the Southeast Asia region, and American social science studies of the area; ethnology and social and economic conditions in Southeast Asia, Eastern Europe (especially Yugoslavia), and developing countries elsewhere; and the Yugoslav civil war.

Correspondence, clippings, and certificates, relating primarily to Red Cross civilian relief work in Montenegro.

Correspondence, interviews, lectures, essays, notes, and clippings relating to the League of Nations, territorial questions, prisoners of war, and other political and economic issues at the Paris Peace Conference.

Relates to medical and charitable activities in Serbia during the Balkan Wars and World War I.

Memoirs, reports, and journal article, relating to education in the Soviet Union, Yugoslavia, and elsewhere in Eastern Europe.

Reports, memoranda, and telegrams, relating to United Nations Relief and Rehabilitation Administration aid to Yugoslavia.

Memoirs entitled Političke uspomene (1965), relating to political developments in Yugoslavia during World War II; pamphlet entitled Šta nas Košta Svada sa Hrvatima? (ca. 1932), relating to the nationalities question in Yugoslavia; and an interview of D. Jovanović by Alex N. Dragnich, 1975-1976.

Memoirs, reports, clippings, journal articles, photographs, and printed matter relating to United Nations and Swiss relief work in Poland after World War II; the World War II Serbian resistance leader Draža Mihailović and his trial and execution in Yugoslavia in 1946; and Swiss foreign relations. Includes memoirs of the Swiss diplomat Albert-Louis Natural.

Clandestine Cominformist and anti-Titoist political organization in Yugoslavia.

Depicts conditions in concentration camps in Bosnia during the Yugoslav civil war.

Relates to Serbian émigré politics.

Memoirs, entitled Uspomene, relating to the formation of the Yugoslav state following World War I and Yugoslav political developments, 1919-1925; and a biography, entitled Nikolas Pachitch (1845-1926) : Histoire d'un Olympien que le Petit Peuple des Serbes a Donné au Monde Politique Européen, relating to the life and political career of Nikola Pašić, prime minister of Serbia and Yugoslavia. Photocopy.

Eliot Grinnell Mears was born in 1889 in Worcester, Massachusetts. He attended Harvard College, receiving his BA in 1910 and an MBA from the Harvard Graduate School of Business in 1912. From 1916 to 1920 Mears worked for the United States Bureau of Foreign and Domestic Commerce, serving as the Chief of the Foreign Service Division, the American Trade Commissioner in the Near East, and the US Trade Commissioner in Turkey. During this time, he operated primarily out of Constantinople and Athens and focused on capital flow in the defeated Ottoman Empire, particularly the Mediterranean and the Balkans. In 1921, Mears came to Stanford University as a professor of geography and international trade, working at the Stanford Graduate School of Business when it was established in 1925 and remaining in that position until his death. He also served as the director of the Hoover Library on War, Revolution, and Peace starting in 1924. Mears died from a heart attack in 1946 while on sabbatical from the University.

The papers also include correspondence, biographical material, printed matter, and sound and visual recordings.

Speech delivered in the Yugoslav Parliament, June 9, 1923. : "The financial policy of the kingdom of the Serbs, Croats and Slovenes"

Writings, correspondence, notes, and printed matter, relating to international communism, political conditions and civil rights in Yugoslavia, and politics in the United States.

1. Russian Red Cross Society in Novisade, Serbia 1925
2. 23 prints in an album dealing with Russian Cossaks in Bulgaria and Serbia undated

Memoirs, correspondence, photographs, memorabilia, and printed matter, relating to relief activities of the Red Cross in Italy at the end of World War I and to the occupation of Fiume by the forces of Gabriele d'Annunzio. Includes papers of Gertrude Slaughter, wife of M. S. Slaughter.

The papers contain correspondence, writings, printed matter, personal documents, and photographs relating to twentieth-century Yugoslav political history and to Serbian émigré affairs. In particular, the materials include postcards from Nikitovich's father from the front line of World War I, letters, memoranda, clippings, and an unpublished manuscript of his memoirs. https://www.hoover.org/news/yugoslav-ministers-papers-donated-library-archives

Letters, printed matter, and photographs, relating to social conditions in Bolivia, Guatemala, Yugoslavia, and the Soviet Union, and to United States Department of State loyalty investigations. Includes letters of the parents of N. C. Stines, Americans in Russia during the Russian Revolution.

Correspondence, writings, conference materials, and printed matter, relating to communism and philosophy, especially in Yugoslavia.

Relates to the conflict between Croatian and Serbian forces in Croatia following the declaration of Croatian independence in 1991. Includes footage from Croatian television. Produced by a group of Croatian-American organizations.

Speeches and writings, letters, clippings, and other printed matter, relating to various aspects of Yugoslav politics, and to King Peter II of Yugoslavia.

Correspondence, dispatches, reports, telegrams, and diplomatic agreements, relating to Polish-Yugoslav relations and to Polish and Yugoslav diplomacy during World War II.

The papers include diaries, correspondence, reports, memoranda, and clippings, relating to Yugoslav-Soviet relations, the Yugoslav coup d'état of 1941 March 27, relations of the Yugoslav Government-in-Exile with the United States and Great Britain, Draža Mihailović and the Yugoslav resistance movement during World War II, dissension within the Yugoslav resistance movement (especially as expressed in the so-called Cairo affair of 1942), and postwar Yugoslav émigré politics. Includes diaries, in Russian, for 1917-1931 and 1941-1975. Also available on microfilm (6 reels).

Writings, correspondence, diaries, reports, press releases, bulletins, clippings, pamphlets, and photographs, relating to pre-World War II Yugoslav diplomacy, resistance movements in Yugoslavia during the war, diplomatic activities of the Yugoslav government-in-exile, and postwar Serbian émigré affairs. Includes photographs of Serbian military activities during the Balkan Wars of 1912-1913. Partially available on microfilm (22 reels).

The papers describe Kusovac's military career in the Russian Military Academy, the Imperial Body-Guard 3rd Infantry Regiment in Russia, and the Balkan Wars. Materials also describe the Austro-Hungarian government's role in a protest to the Montenegrin government regarding a Turkish vessel's attack on Serbian soldiers in Albania during February 1913.

Originals in possession of: Miloje M. Ilich.

Correspondence, writings, reports, appeals, and printed matter, relating to civil and human rights in Yugoslavia, and to Yugoslav dissidents. Includes records of the international Committee to Aid Democratic Dissidents in Yugoslavia and issues of the organization's CADDY Bulletin, and photocopies of correspondence and manuscript writings of Mihajlo Mihajlov.

Memoirs, entitled "Ein bewegtes Leben," circa 1944, relating to world travel and to German culture and politics; and biographical sketches of Stjepan Radić, Croatian peasant leader, and Carl Muth, German Catholic newspaper publisher.

Relates to the rule of President Josip Broz Tito in Yugoslavia. Includes clippings (in French) relating to the imprisonment of M. Selić for circulating this writing.

Correspondence, reports, and memoranda, relating to Russian refugees in Yugoslavia after the Russian Revolution and Civil War and the Board of the Government Plenipotentiary for the Settlement of Russian Refugees in Yugoslavia

Correspondence, speeches and writings, memoranda, reports, studies, printed matter, photographs, phonotapes, videotapes, and memorabilia, relating to American domestic policy and foreign relations, especially during the presidential administrations of Richard M. Nixon and Ronald Reagan.

Consists of correspondence, speeches, a memoir and a diary documenting Simović's military career, Serbian military operations during World War I, political conditions in Yugoslavia prior to World War II, the Yugoslav coup d'état of 27 March 1941, and the government-in-exile in London during World War II.

The papers primarily document Gino previous hit Speranza's next hit work as a journalist and foreign correspondent for Outlook and the New York Evening Post in Italy during the war and political and military attaché for the United States embassy in Rome from 1917 to 1919. The papers are comprised of writings, diaries, clippings, correspondence, reports, pamphlets, notes, photographs, and printed matter relating to Italian politics and diplomacy during World War I and in the postwar period. Also available on microfilm (34 reels).

Reports and speeches, relating to the status of human rights in the Yugoslav successor states. Photocopy.

Photographs depicting the social and political conditions in Albania from the Communist era to 2000 and the Kosovo refugee crisis in 1999.

Writings, notes, statistics, and biographical data, relating to political conditions in Yugoslavia.

Grigorii Nikolaevich Trubetskoi was born in 1873 to one of Russia's oldest noble families, a family which traces its princely title to the twelfth century Grand Prince of Lithuania Gediminas. Grigorii had nine sisters and was the youngest of four renowned brothers. The eldest, Piotr Nikolaevich, was Marshal of the Nobility in Moscow. Sergei Nikolaevich was the rector of Moscow University, a prominent philosopher, and a popular professor. His funeral spurred large student demonstrations and proved to be an important event in the 1905 revolution. Evgenii Nikolaevich was also one of Russia's leading philosophers, a professor at Moscow University, and the editor of Moskovskii ezhenedel'nik, an important liberal weekly journal that published broadly on foreign affairs and other topics from 1906 to 1911.

Relates to the integration of Montenegro into the state of Yugoslavia.

Relates to conditions of political prisoners confined to the island of Goli Otok by Yugoslav authorities following the rupture of Yugoslav-Soviet relations in 1948. Typescript - Photocopy.

Memoirs, other writings, correspondence, personal documents, printed matter, and audiovisual material relating to resistance movements in Yugoslavia during World War II, post-war war crime trials in Yugoslavia, and post-war political conditions in Yugoslavia.

Correspondence and orders, relating to White Russian military activities in Gallipoli, Bulgaria, and Yugoslavia.

Correspondence, writings, memoirs, biographical material, pamphlets, periodicals, newspapers, photographs, clippings, and printed matter relating to Russian émigré activities following the Russian Revolution and Civil War, including political, military, veterans', religious, educational, cultural, literary, artistic, and social activities. Includes a few papers of M. D. Vrangel'. Also available on microfilm (49 reels). Digital copies of select records also available at https://digitalcollections.hoover.org.

Reports, orders, correspondence, memoranda, dispatches, financial records, minutes, printed matter, maps, and photographs relating to Russian military operations in France during World War I; White Russian diplomatic activities and military operations, especially in southern Russia, during the Russian Revolution and Civil War, including military purchasing and intelligence operations; administration of territory under White Russian control during the Civil War; the evacuation of White Russian military personnel and civilians from the Crimea in 1920; and the resettlement of Russian refugees in Turkey and various European countries. Includes records of the Russian Expeditionary Corps in France, the Volunteer Army, the Armed Forces of Southern Russia, the Northwestern Army, the Foreign Supply Directorate, military representatives in foreign countries and attached to the Allied Supreme Command, and the Russian Army in exile, and some personal papers of Baron Petr Vrangel', commander-in-chief successively of the Armed Forces of Southern Russia and Russian Army. The majority of the collection is also available on microfilm (220 reels). Digital copies of select records also available at https://digitalcollections.hoover.org.

Depicts social conditions and refugees in Yugoslavia, Russia, and Turkey at the end of World War I.

Correspondence, reports, memoranda, speeches and writings, and photographs, relating to Serbia during and after World War I.

Relates to the resolution of Yugoslav-Italian boundary disputes by the Treaty of Rapallo in 1920.

Resolution, 1928, and memorandum, 1935, relating to political conditions in Croatia and Yugoslavia.

Relates to the establishment of the communist government in Yugoslavia.

Press statement by Yugoslav Ambassador Dimče Belovski; official statement of the Yugoslav embassy; initiative by members of the United States House of Representatives; and excerpts from the transcript of the United States Department of State press, radio, and television briefing; relating to the bombing of the embassy of Yugoslavia in Washington, D.C., June 9, 1976.

"A critical study of Yugoslav communism with special regard to the present stage" Relates to communism in Yugoslavia. Ph.D. dissertation, Georgetown University.

Correspondence, reports, pamphlets, clippings, printed matter, and photographs, relating to Serbian émigré affairs, the Serbian Orthodox Church in the United States, and Yugoslav history since World War II.