Yugoslavia Resources at the Hoover Institution Library & Archives

Writings, lists, memoranda, and printed matter, relating to Yugoslav naval operations and relations with the Allies during World War II, Slovene territorial claims in 1941, and decisions concerning Yugoslavia made at the Yalta Conference.

Three memoranda, two entitled "Neueste Tragödie" and "Der unabhängige Staat Kroatien", and one untitled, relating to political conditions in Croatia and Istria during World War II.

The papers contain records from the Yugoslav government-in-exile, including financial records for the period 1941-1949 that document government personnel and office expenses, and Čiin- Šain's role as Minister of Finance. Materials also include documents on the court trial brought by Ivo Čičin- Šain against Keable (Press) Limited, publisher of the British Communist Party newspaper Daily Worker, and Čićin- Šain's post-war activities in Yugoslav émigré affairs. The photographs depict the Royal Yugoslav family of Petar II.

Correspondence, reports, dispatches, memoranda, press releases, testimony, printed matter, and sound recordings of interviews, relating to the Cetnik resistance movement led by Draža Mihailovic in Yugoslavia during World War II, and to his trial for treason in 1946. Includes transcripts of testimony heard by the Commission of Inquiry of the Committee for a Fair Trial for Draža Mihailovich in New York, and photocopies of British and American military and diplomatic records relating to resistance movements in Yugoslavia.

Dispatches, radio broadcast transcripts, memoranda, and reports, relating to resistance movements in Yugoslavia during World War II, and to activities of the Yugoslav Government-in-Exile.

The papers contain office and personal correspondence, reports, writings, speeches, clippings, and printed matter documenting the politics of the Royal Yugoslav government in exile during World War II, the state of Yugoslav-American relations, and the Serbian and Yugoslav émigré community.
The majority of Fotić's papers consist of office and personal correspondence collected during his diplomatic career as a Royal Yugoslav secretary and ambassador to the United States. The Office Files are comprised of diplomatic correspondence, telegrams, reports, and clippings documenting the politics of the Royal Yugoslav government during World War II, Yugoslav-American relations, and the role of Petar II, King of Yugoslavia. Materials also document the part played by Allied countries in the creation of the new Yugoslavia. previous hit Fotić's next hit exchanges of letters with Nikola Tesla, a Yugoslav inventor in the United States, indicating the Royal Yugoslav government support of Tesla's research, are of particular interest.

Correspondence, diaries, speeches and writings, memoranda, reports, notes, printed matter, and photographs, relating to Yugoslav politics and government, relations between Yugoslavia and the Soviet Union, Yugoslavia during World War II, the Yugoslav government-in-exile, Draza Mihailovic and the Cetnik resistance movement in occupied Yugoslavia, and the activities of Serbian émigré groups following World War II. See also Archives of Yugoslavia (Belgrade, Serbia)

Dispatches, memoranda, reports, and letters, relating to analysis of the political situation in Yugoslavia prior to the coup of 1941, British involvement in the coup, assessment of Partisan and Četnik resistance forces in Yugoslavia, and formulation of British policy in regard to those forces. Typed transcript (photocopy)

Relates to German mountain warfare operations in the Soviet Caucasus and in Yugoslavia and Greece during World War II. Photocopy.

Correspondence and memoranda, relating to German occupation policy in Yugoslavia, and to the Yugoslav resistance movements.

Photographs, albums, and memorabilia, relating to the Yugoslav guerrilla war against German occupation forces during World War II.

Prison camp newspaper issued by Austrian prisoners of war at Österreichische Jugend Lager 603 in Yugoslavia.

Clippings, notes, and pamphlets, relating to international relations, international economic conditions, the oil industry, domestic conditions in Croatia, Croatia's role in international relations, the history and condition of Jews throughout the world, and military operations during World War II.

Memoirs, reports, clippings, journal articles, photographs, and printed matter relating to United Nations and Swiss relief work in Poland after World War II; the World War II Serbian resistance leader Draža Mihailović and his trial and execution in Yugoslavia in 1946; and Swiss foreign relations. Includes memoirs of the Swiss diplomat Albert-Louis Natural.

Correspondence and announcements, relating to the Yugoslav exile government during World War II, resistance movements in occupied Yugoslavia, politics and government, and Yugoslav émigré politics. Photocopy.

Reports, memoranda, correspondence, and photocopies of Office of Strategic Services and British government documents relating to resistance movements in Yugoslavia during World War II, Allied relations with them, Office of Strategic Services operations in Yugoslavia and Austria, post-World War II economic recontruction in western Europe, the Organization for European Economic Cooperation, and American foreign aid to Europe. Digital copies of select records also available at https://digitalcollections.hoover.org.

Pamphlets, leaflets, newspaper issues, clippings, and writings, relating to politics and elections in Germany and Austria, the German Revolution of 1918-1919, the Kapp Putsch, the Hitler Putsch, the Nazi Party, and the independent Croatian state during World War II.

Relates to Hungarian diplomacy, Hungarian-German relations, and conditions in Croatia during World War II; and to Hungarian diplomacy, Hungarian-Soviet relations, and conditions in Austria in the immediate postwar period. Includes a synopsis in English and the passport of L. Bartók.

Relates to Romanian and German military operations at Stalingrad and in Yugoslavia during World War II, and to conditions in British prison camps. Photocopy.

Contains writings, diaries, correspondence, notes, bulletins, printed matter, and photographs, relating to Yugoslav foreign relations, especially during World War II, postwar conditions in Yugoslavia, and Yugoslav émigré affairs. Includes memoirs entitled "Iz nedavne prošlosti" relating to Yugoslav relations with Germany and Bulgaria, 1939-1941, prior to the German invasion of Yugoslavia and draft notes for an English-Serbian dictionary. Also available on microfilm (18 reels).

Relates to conditions in Yugoslavia during World War II and to Yugoslav resistance movements and ethnic strife. English translation published as Enemies on All Sides: The Fall of Yugoslavia (Washington, 1976). Photocopy. - Stradanje Srba i tragedija Jugoslavije u Drugom svetskom ratu : gledano s unutrašnje strane fašisticko-nacisticke "trdave" u Evropi

Memoranda, entitled "Die Murinsel" and "Die Grenzprobleme der Murinsel", relating to the history of territorial disputes regarding the Murinsel or Medjumurje region of Croatia.

Correspondence and writings, relating primarily to Yugoslav military operations and diplomacy during World War II, and to postwar Yugoslav émigré affairs. Includes postwar correspondence between D. T. Simović and Winston Churchill, and a book-length study by D. N. Ristić relating to Nadezhda Krupskaya and V. I. Lenin.

Manuscripts, documents, letters, writings about Yugoslavia, and the Mihailovich's resistance movement during WWII; US foreign policy after the War.

Minutes, reports, memoranda, serial issues, and printed matter, relating to the occupation of Yugoslavia during World War II, Yugoslav collaborationist and resistance movements, and postwar United Nations Relief and Rehabilitation Administration work in Yugoslavia. Includes microfilm and photocopies of Yugoslav, German and Allied government and military documents used as research material for books by Jozo Tomasevich.

Relates to activities of Kurt Waldheim (subsequently president of Austria) as a German officer in Yugoslavia and Greece during World War II, and especially to allegations of participation in war crimes by Waldheim. Includes subsequent printed version of report. Photocopy.

The collection is comprised of reports, minutes, telegrams, notes, translations of and extracts from dispatches relating to the Austrian administration of Bosnia-Herzegovina prior World War I, and World War II in Yugoslavia and Bulgaria, particularly resistance movements in Yugoslavia and the exiled Yugoslav government.
The Bosnia-Herzegovina materials provide records of the Austrian administration of Bosnia and Herzegovina, including the crisis in 1881-1882, and political tensions in 1913-1914.
The World War II in Yugoslavia files provide documentation on the politics of the Royal Yugoslav government in exile and its active role in the Yugoslav resistance movement and the formation of a new Yugoslavia, as well as Allied countries' diplomatic activities during wartime
The United States Department of State situation reports summarize information concerning domestic political and economic developments and international affairs in the Balkans and Central and Eastern Europe during and after World War II.
The Bulgaria materials provide detailed information on Bulgarian political life and Bulgarian government between 1944 and 1946 in reports from the United States Office of Strategic Services Research and Analysis Branch, the United States Department of State, and Allied occupation authorities in Bulgaria.
The Balkans in the 1990s materials document the international community's concerns on issues during the 1990s surrounding the referendum on independence in Bosnia-Herzegovina in 1992, the events in Dr. Mirtin Horvat Hospital, Rovinj, and the leadership of the Serbian Orthodox church in Serbia.

Correspondence, writings, legal briefs, legal case files, other legal records, memoranda, reports, and printed matter, relating to international arbitration of boundary disputes and legal claims against governments brought by foreign nationals, and to efforts for the promotion of international law, international organization and peace, primarily before World War II. Includes files on international arbitration cases involving the United States, Mexico, Costa Rica, Panama, Haiti, Venezuela, Peru, Chile, Great Britain, Norway, Yugoslavia and China. Also includes declassified materials released in May 2015 (in box 197) relating to the international tribunal arbitrating the Orinoco Steamship Co. case.

Diaries, notebooks, and printed matter, relating to Serbian military operations during World War I, and to Draža Mihailović and the Chetnik resistance movement in Yugoslavia during World War II.