Sound recordings and transcripts of interviews, and associated material, relating to free market policies in Chile and elsewhere in Latin America, and to the influence of economists associated with the University of Chicago in instituting them. Interviews conducted by Tobias Switzer and William E. Ratliff. Those interviewed include Rolf Lüders Schwarzenberg, Sergio de Castro, Martín Costabal Llona, Alvaro Donoso, Ernesto Fontaine, Gonzalo Vial Correa, Miguel Schweitzer, Roberto Kelly, Domingo Cavallo and Hernán Cubillos Sallato.
Photo: Chicago boys and Latin American market reformers collection, Box 1, Folder 1, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Writings, correspondence, sound recordings of interviews, reports, memoranda, legal proceedings, internal bulletins, opinion polls, printed matter, and photographs, relating to communism in Latin America; political and economic conditions, and especially laissez-faire economics, in Argentina, elsewhere in Latin America, and Hong Kong; President José Figueres Ferrer of Costa Rica; and the Socialist Workers Party of the United States and Trotskyist groups in Latin America.
Photo: William E. Ratliff papers, Box 1, Folder 27, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Digital sound recordings and transcripts of interviews of former Salvadoran military officers and guerrillas relating to guerrilla warfare and counterinsurgency operations in El Salvador in the 1970s and 1980s.
Photo: Santos M. (Herard von) interviews, Box 1, Transcripts, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
undated
Relates to the Cuban revolution of 1959. Interviews conducted by Keith Botsford. Typed transcript.
Chicago boys and Latin American market reformers collection
1992-2011
Sound recordings and transcripts of interviews, and associated material, relating to free market policies in Chile and elsewhere in Latin America, and to the influence of economists associated with the University of Chicago in instituting them. Interviews conducted by Tobias Switzer and William E. Ratliff. Those interviewed include Rolf Lüders Schwarzenberg, Sergio de Castro, Martín Costabal Llona, Alvaro Donoso, Ernesto Fontaine, Gonzalo Vial Correa, Miguel Schweitzer, Roberto Kelly, Domingo Cavallo and Hernán Cubillos Sallato.
Hernandez Trigueros (Lino) interview
1996
Relates to Sandinista human rights violations in Nicaragua. Interview conducted by Deann M. Alford. Includes English translation transcript.
1991
Relates to Nicaraguan contra guerrilla activities from Costa Rican bases, American aid to Nicaraguan guerrillas, allegations of guerrilla drug trafficking, and allegations regarding the attempted assassination of the guerrilla leader Edén Pastora. Interviews conducted by William E. Ratliff.
1969-2000
Interview transcripts, correspondence, sound recording, videotape cassettes, and motion picture film reels, relating to political conditions and revolutionary movements in Latin America.
1965-2006
Sound recordings of interviews and printed matter, relating to the Partido Comunista del Perú (Patria Roja or Red Nation). Includes pamphlets, serial issues and programmatic statements by the party; some material relating to other Maoist parties in Peru; and a study by Paul Navarro, "Maoism in the Andes: A Concise History of the Partido Comunista del Perú--Patria Roja, 1960-1992."
Oreamuno (J. Rafael) interview
1968
Relates to American-Costa Rican relations, and inter-American relations during World War II, especially Argentina's declaration of war and participation in the United Nations Conference on International Organization. Interview conducted by Raymond Henle. Includes typewritten transcript.
Partial Inventory of the Maria Teresa Ronderos interviews
1998
Phonotape sound recordings of interviews of Colombian government officials and others, relating to to drug trafficking in Colombia.
Pastora Gomez (Eden) interviews
1992
Sound recordings of interviews, relating to the Nicaraguan revolution of 1979, Nicaraguan-Cuban relations, and the Nicaraguan contra guerrilla war. Includes typed notes made from the interviews. Interviews conducted by William E. Ratliff
1942-2012
Writings, correspondence, sound recordings of interviews, reports, memoranda, legal proceedings, internal bulletins, opinion polls, printed matter, and photographs, relating to communism in Latin America; political and economic conditions, and especially laissez-faire economics, in Argentina, elsewhere in Latin America, and Hong Kong; President José Figueres Ferrer of Costa Rica; and the Socialist Workers Party of the United States and Trotskyist groups in Latin America.
Ritchie (Lorelei D.) Interviews
1992
Interviews with Panamanian politicians, journalists, businessmen, and university officials, relating to political, economic and human rights conditions in Panama.
Santos M. (Herard von) interviews
2002
Digital sound recordings and transcripts of interviews of former Salvadoran military officers and guerrillas relating to guerrilla warfare and counterinsurgency operations in El Salvador in the 1970s and 1980s.
8:30 am - 4:30 pm
(by reservation)
Exhibitions & Observation Deck
10:00 am - 4:00 pm
We are closed for major holidays, Stanford home football games, and campus winter closure.