This collection is comprised of newsletters, newspapers, journals, pamphlets, booklets, reports, and other writings issued by the Confederation of Iranian Students National Union (CISNU) and other Iranian student groups in Europe and abroad. These materials relate to political conditions and civil liberties in Iran, focusing primarily on the campaign for the rights of political prisoners; political opposition to the Pahlavi monarchy; the spread of Marxist-Leninist thought in Iran and among Iranian students abroad; the aftermath of the coup d'état against Mohammed Mosaddeq.
Photo: Hamid Shawkat collection, Box 5, Folder 10, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Broadsides, flyers, leaflets, serial issues, and sound recordings, relating to political conditions in Iran under the reign of the Shah, the Iranian political opposition, the revolution of 1979, post-revolutionary conditions in Iran, and political opposition to the new Iranian regime. Includes many issuances of the People's Mojahedin Organization of Iran and of various Iranian émigré student groups in the United States and elsewhere, and sound recordings of political demonstrations. Also includes flyers, leaflets, serial issues and photographs relating to the post-2003 insurgency and American military occupation in Iraq. Digital copies of select records also available at https://digitalcollections.hoover.org.
Photo: James F. Hitselberger, Box 17, Textiles, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Correspondence, speeches and writings, interview transcripts, financial records, photographs, video and sound recordings, printed matter, and computer disks relating to Ardeshir Zahedi's diplomatic career during the Pahlavi era in Iran. Zahedi served as Ambassador to the United States, Ambassador to the United Kingdom, and as Minister of Foreign Affairs during the reign of Mohammad Reza Pahlavi. The collection also contains the papers of Ardeshir's father, Fazlollah Zahedi, a general who occupied the post of prime minister. Topics of note include: Mohammad Reza Pahlavi, Iranian foreign relations, Iranian-American relations, the Cold War, the events of August 1953, the 1977 Hanafi Siege, and Iranian dissent.
Photo: Ardashir Zahidi papers, Box 51, Folder 17, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
The Nasser Sharify papers document his long career as a librarian, academic, advocate, and consultant. The papers relate in part to the formulation of plans for the creation of a national library for Iran, and to development of library and information science schools, especially in Iran and Morocco, as well as to the development of international library programs at schools in the United States. The collection consists of reports, working papers for reports, correspondence, financial and legal records, minutes, conference papers, printed matter, sound recordings, microfilm, and photographs.
Photo: Nasser Sharify papers, Box 97, Folder 3, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
1923-1924
Relates to the financial situation in Persia, the Persian oil industry, and the role of Persia in world affairs. Includes writings by A. C. Millspaugh, administrator general of the finances of Persia.
1883-2005
Photographs, drawings, and paintings, depicting miscellaneous scenes and personalities in Asia, including scenes of revolutionary disturbances in Iran, ca. 1908.
1945
Printed copy of treaty between the head of the autonomous government of Azerbaijan and the commander-in-cheif of the Tabriz garrison, 12 December 1945.
1898-1965
Correspondence, memoranda, diaries, reports, military documents, maps, clippings, and printed matter relating to Russian military activities in Persia and the Caucasus during World War I, and to the Russian Revolution. Digital copies of select records also available at https://digitalcollections.hoover.org.
Derakhshesh (Mohammad) writings
1981-1987
Summarized translation of a book, and memoranda, relating to political developments in Iran since the revolution of 1979, and to their effects on Iranian education. Photocopy.
1920-1980
Correspondence, writings, memoranda, reports, studies, statistics, and printed matter, relating to American foreign trade policy, and to public finance and trade in Paraguay, Iran and Afghanistan.
1941-1996
Personnel records, orders, letters, manuals, servicemen's newspapers, clippings, other printed matter, photographs, and miscellany relating to American military railway service operations in Iran and elsewhere in the Persian Gulf Command during World War II.
Hitselberger (James F.) collection
1977-2012
Broadsides, flyers, leaflets, serial issues, and sound recordings, relating to political conditions in Iran under the reign of the Shah, the Iranian political opposition, the revolution of 1979, post-revolutionary conditions in Iran, and political opposition to the new Iranian regime. Includes many issuances of the People's Mojahedin Organization of Iran and of various Iranian émigré student groups in the United States and elsewhere, and sound recordings of political demonstrations. Also includes flyers, leaflets, serial issues and photographs relating to the post-2003 insurgency and American military occupation in Iraq. Digital copies of select records also available at https://digitalcollections.hoover.org.
Iran Freedom Foundation records
1966-1993
The collection relates to the Iranian revolution of 1979, subsequent political conditions and civil rights abuses in Iran, the Iran-Iraq War, Iranians in the United States and elsewhere, and American foreign policy toward Iran. It contains correspondence, press releases, appeals, clippings, speeches and writings, financial records, reports, bulletins, newsletters, pamphlets, serial issues, photographs, sound recordings, and videotapes. The collection includes some personal papers, 1966-1980, of Ali A. Tabatabai, founder of the organization, and material relating to his assassination.
Iranian political opposition literature collection
1961-2003
Serial issues, pamphlets, leaflets, bulletins, and newsletters issued by Iranian political groups in exile relating to political conditions in Iran.
1948-2009
Pamphlets, leaflets, other printed matter, video tape, and miscellany, relating to political, social and economic conditions in Iran, and especially to the People's Mojahedin Organization of Iran
1944-1999
Serial issues, pamphlets, leaflets, other printed matter, video tape, and miscellany, relating to the condition of Kurds in Turkey, Iraq and Iran, and to the movement for an independent Kurdistan.
Maslovskii (Evgenii Vasil'evich) letters
1945
Relates to Russian military activities in northern Persia before World War I, and in the Turkish campaigns of General Nikolay Yudenich during World War I.
1974-1981
The papers include the creator's dissertation, along with newspapers, clippings, serial publications, booklets, and other writings relating to education in Iran, the Iranian revolution of 1979, and political, social, and economic conditions in Iran.
1949-1999
The newspapers in this collection were originally collected by the Hoover Institution Library and transferred to the Archives in 2019. The Persian newspaper collection (1949-1999) comprises sixty different titles of publication, in English, Fārsī, and French. All of the titles within this collection have been further analyzed in Stanford University Libraries catalog.
1965-1991
Speeches, radio addresses, conference papers, and journal articles, relating to educational and other strategies for development in underdeveloped countries, especially Iran and Mali, and to activities of the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization.
Sazman-i Mujahidin-i Khalq issuances
1986-1992
Pamphlets, booklets, serial issues, press releases, and video tapes, relating to the incidence of torture and other violations of human rights by the Islamic fundamentalist regime in Iran, and to Iranian political opposition to the regime.
1902-1993 (bulk 1950-1989)
The Nasser Sharify papers document his long career as a librarian, academic, advocate, and consultant. The papers relate in part to the formulation of plans for the creation of a national library for Iran, and to development of library and information science schools, especially in Iran and Morocco, as well as to the development of international library programs at schools in the United States. The collection consists of reports, working papers for reports, correspondence, financial and legal records, minutes, conference papers, printed matter, sound recordings, microfilm, and photographs.
1952-2001
This collection is comprised of newsletters, newspapers, journals, pamphlets, booklets, reports, and other writings issued by the Confederation of Iranian Students National Union (CISNU) and other Iranian student groups in Europe and abroad. These materials relate to political conditions and civil liberties in Iran, focusing primarily on the campaign for the rights of political prisoners; political opposition to the Pahlavi monarchy; the spread of Marxist-Leninist thought in Iran and among Iranian students abroad; the aftermath of the coup d'état against Mohammed Mosaddeq.
1954-2004
Serial issues, pamphlets, bulletins, newsletters, flyers, and leaflets issued by Iranian student groups abroad and leftist Iranian political groups in exile relating to political conditions and civil liberties in Iran, political opposition to the Pahlavi monarchy, and communist movements in Iran and among Iranians abroad.
State of the Iranian Revolution conference proceedings
1997
Sound recordings, relating to political conditions in Iran since 1979. Conference co-sponsored by the Hoover Institution on War, Revolution and Peace and St. Mary's College of California.
Surush (Abd al-Karim) lectures
2001
Sound recordings of lectures, relating to political and philosophical aspects of Islam.
1962-1987
Correspondence, grant applications, reports, and memoranda, relating to efforts to promote Iranian studies and publications in the United States.
undated
Persian manuscript which translates to "Someone Who Looks Like Me."
1973-1979
Correspondence, speeches and writings, interview transcripts, financial records, photographs, video and sound recordings, printed matter, and computer disks relating to Ardeshir Zahedi's diplomatic career during the Pahlavi era in Iran. Zahedi served as Ambassador to the United States, Ambassador to the United Kingdom, and as Minister of Foreign Affairs during the reign of Mohammad Reza Pahlavi. The collection also contains the papers of Ardeshir's father, Fazlollah Zahedi, a general who occupied the post of prime minister. Topics of note include: Mohammad Reza Pahlavi, Iranian foreign relations, Iranian-American relations, the Cold War, the events of August 1953, the 1977 Hanafi Siege, and Iranian dissent.
8:30 am - 4:30 pm
(by reservation)
Exhibitions & Observation Deck
10:00 am - 4:00 pm
We are closed for major holidays, Stanford home football games, and campus winter closure.