The Hoover Institution Library & Archives are open to the public by reservation
8:30am - 4:30pm
Monday - Friday.
You can find more information about planning a research visit and navigating our collections by visiting our Research Services website.
For any questions, Email Us or call us at: +1 (650) 723-3563
Correspondence, speeches and writings, interview transcripts, financial records, photographs, video and sound recordings, printed matter, and computer disks relating to Ardeshir Zahedi's diplomatic career during the Pahlavi era in Iran. Zahedi served as Ambassador to the United States, Ambassador to the United Kingdom, and as Minister of Foreign Affairs during the reign of Mohammad Reza Pahlavi. The collection also contains the papers of Ardeshir's father, Fazlollah Zahedi, a general who occupied the post of prime minister. Topics of note include: Mohammad Reza Pahlavi, Iranian foreign relations, Iranian-American relations, the Cold War, the events of August 1953, the 1977 Hanafi Siege, and Iranian dissent.
Photo: Ardashir Zahidi papers, Box 178, Folder 7, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Broadsides, flyers, leaflets, serial issues, and sound recordings, relating to political conditions in Iran under the reign of the Shah, the Iranian political opposition, the revolution of 1979, post-revolutionary conditions in Iran, and political opposition to the new Iranian regime. Includes many issuances of the People's Mojahedin Organization of Iran and of various Iranian émigré student groups in the United States and elsewhere, and sound recordings of political demonstrations. Also includes flyers, leaflets, serial issues and photographs relating to the post-2003 insurgency and American military occupation in Iraq.
Photo: James F. Hitselberger, Box 17, Textiles, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Contains correspondence, speeches, interviews, legal files, subject files, photographs, audio and video recordings, clippings, and notes relating to Allen's work in American politics and government. As a specialist in security and foreign policy, Allen worked on the Nixon and Reagan campaigns and held posts on the National Security Council under each of them. Topics of note include: Ronald Reagan, George H. W. Bush, Richard Nixon, foreign policy, national security, political campaigns, Iran hostage crisis, Republican National Committee, libel and media abuses, Korea, and Taiwan.
Photo: Richard V. Allen papers, Box 55, Folder 16, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
The Iranian collections include significant holdings on Iranian communism and communist parties, the Pahlavi dynasty, the Islamic revolution and establishment of the Islamic Republic of Iran, US relations with Iran, the Iran-Iraq war, and Shi'ism and Iranian politics. Included is one of the largest collections of Iranian political opposition materials in the United States.
Note: This guide is a starting point for research at the Hoover Library & Archives. It is not comprehensive, and you may find other material relevant to the topic. For a guide on how to search our collections yourself, you can click here.
undated
The Poster Collection consists of posters from many countries relating to a broad range of topics in twentieth-century history. The link above takes you to more than 200 posters from Iran. A large proportion of the posters are propagandistic in nature. American, British, French, German and Russian posters are particularly numerous. Among the major events covered are World Wars I and II, the Russian Revolution, and national socialism in Germany.
8:30 am - 4:30 pm
(by reservation)
Exhibitions & Observation Deck
10:00 am - 4:00 pm
We are closed for major holidays, Stanford home football games, and campus winter closure.
