Correspondence, speeches and writings, interview transcripts, financial records, photographs, video and sound recordings, printed matter, and computer disks relating to Ardeshir Zahedi's diplomatic career during the Pahlavi era in Iran. Zahedi served as Ambassador to the United States, Ambassador to the United Kingdom, and as Minister of Foreign Affairs during the reign of Mohammad Reza Pahlavi. The collection also contains the papers of Ardeshir's father, Fazlollah Zahedi, a general who occupied the post of prime minister. Topics of note include: Mohammad Reza Pahlavi, Iranian foreign relations, Iranian-American relations, the Cold War, the events of August 1953, the 1977 Hanafi Siege, and Iranian dissent.
Photo: Ardashir Zahidi papers, Box 56, Folder 3, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Contains correspondence, speeches, interviews, legal files, subject files, photographs, audio and video recordings, clippings, and notes relating to Allen's work in American politics and government. As a specialist in security and foreign policy, Allen worked on the Nixon and Reagan campaigns and held posts on the National Security Council under each of them. Topics of note include: Ronald Reagan, George H. W. Bush, Richard Nixon, foreign policy, national security, political campaigns, Iran hostage crisis, Republican National Committee, libel and media abuses, Korea, and Taiwan.
Photo: Richard V. Allen papers, Box 55, Folder 16, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Relates to American pre-World War II foreign trade and tariff policy, Allied military government in Italy during World War II, and postwar American foreign relations with India, Greece and Iran.
Photo: Henry F. Grady typescript, Box 1, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
1948-1999
Contains correspondence, speeches, interviews, legal files, subject files, photographs, audio and video recordings, clippings, and notes relating to Allen's work in American politics and government. As a specialist in security and foreign policy, Allen worked on the Nixon and Reagan campaigns and held posts on the National Security Council under each of them. Topics of note include: Ronald Reagan, George H. W. Bush, Richard Nixon, foreign policy, national security, political campaigns, Iran hostage crisis, Republican National Committee, libel and media abuses, Korea, and Taiwan.
Barton (Alexander Monro) papers
1919-1980
Writings, letters, clippings, and miscellany, relating to conditions in Transcaucasia and Turkey after the end of World War I; and to the death of Major Robert Whitney Imbrie, American vice consul in Teheran, at the hands of a mob in Teheran in 1924. Includes correspondence with and a printed article by Imbrie.
1927-2011
The Warren Christopher papers document the career of an American statesman who held government posts under three presidents, most notably serving as secretary of state during the first term of Bill Clinton's administration (1993-1997). The largest part of the collection relates to this period and mainly concerns the public side of Christopher's time as head of the State Department. In particular, there are press releases, speeches, and photographs relating to official trips and meetings. There are also materials in the papers pertaining to Christopher's other government posts, as well as to his long career as a lawyer with a major firm in Los Angeles. The last part of the collection contains numerous video recordings of speeches by Christopher, as well as of his appearances before committees of the U.S. Congress.
Grady (Henry F. (Henry Francis)) typescript
1953
Relates to American pre-World War II foreign trade and tariff policy, Allied military government in Italy during World War II, and postwar American foreign relations with India, Greece and Iran.
1948-1982
Speeches and writings, correspondence, memoranda, reports, studies, and printed matter related to the economic development of developing countries, technology transfer to developing countries, and American trade with and investment in developing countries. Some materials relate to American foreign trade and foreign aid policy during the presidential administrations of John F. Kennedy and Lyndon B. Johnson.
1942-1946
Personnel records, orders, letters, manuals, servicemen's newspapers, clippings, other printed matter, photographs, and miscellany relating to American military railway service operations in Iran and elsewhere in the Persian Gulf Command during World War II.
Hornibrook (William Harrison) miscellaneous papers
1913-1965
Photographs, letters, and invitation, relating to miscellaneous aspects of American-Thai relations, and depicting Reza Shah Pahlavi, his son the Crown Prince (later Mohammed Reza Shah), and scenes in Thailand, Iran and Afghanistan.
Iranian-American Foreign Policy Oral History Project interviews
1985-1991
Transcripts of interviews of American diplomats and State Department officials, relating to Iranian-American relations and political and economic conditions in Iran, primarily during the decades of the 1960s and 1970s. Interviews conducted as a project sponsored by the Foundation for Iranian Studies and Columbia University. Photocopy.
Meyer (Armin H.) interview transcript
1989
Relates to American foreign policy in the Middle East, and especially to American relations with Lebanon and Iran. Includes an interview segment on Iran conducted by the Columbia University Oral History Research Office. Photocopy.
1973-1979
Correspondence, speeches and writings, interview transcripts, financial records, photographs, video and sound recordings, printed matter, and computer disks relating to Ardeshir Zahedi's diplomatic career during the Pahlavi era in Iran. Zahedi served as Ambassador to the United States, Ambassador to the United Kingdom, and as Minister of Foreign Affairs during the reign of Mohammad Reza Pahlavi. The collection also contains the papers of Ardeshir's father, Fazlollah Zahedi, a general who occupied the post of prime minister. Topics of note include: Mohammad Reza Pahlavi, Iranian foreign relations, Iranian-American relations, the Cold War, the events of August 1953, the 1977 Hanafi Siege, and Iranian dissent.
8:30 am - 4:30 pm
(by reservation)
Exhibitions & Observation Deck
10:00 am - 4:00 pm
We are closed for major holidays, Stanford home football games, and campus winter closure.