1975-1985
Correspondence, memoranda, reports, speeches, and clippings, relating to legal aspects of administration of the United States Army, and especially to the honor system at the United States Military Academy; and to activities of Radio Liberty and Radio Free Europe in broadcasting to the Soviet Union and Eastern Europe.
1952-1998
The collection relates mainly to technical and personnel aspects of Radio Free Europe and Radio Liberty broadcast operations, in particular at the New York Programming Center. It is comprised of correspondence, memoranda, newswires, reports, manuals, printed matter, photographs, slides, blueprints, sound recordings, and memorabilia.
Conference on Cold War Broadcasting Impact proceedings
2004-2005
Sound recordings and video tape of proceedings, transcripts of conference papers, photographs of conference participants, and printed matter relating to Radio Liberty and Radio Free Europe broadcasting to the Soviet Union and Eastern Europe. Conference sponsored by the Hoover Institution on War, Revolution and Peace and the Cold War International History Project of the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars. Use copies of sound and video recordings available.
1856-2010
The Paul B. Henze papers consist of diaries, writings, correspondence, notes, memoranda, reports, research materials, printed matter, and photographs relating to Radio Free Europe and Radio Liberty broadcasting to Eastern Europe and the Soviet Union; conditions in Eastern Europe, the Soviet Union and the former Soviet Union, especially the Caucasus and Central Asia; and conditions in Ethiopia and the Horn of Africa. The papers include publications of Radio Free Europe, Radio Liberty, and related organizations, as well as research materials for the numerous books and articles written by Henze, particularly The Plot to Kill the Pope (New York, 1983).
Krasovskii (Oleg Antonovich) papers
1918-2001
Writings, correspondence, printed matter, photographs, and sound recordings relating to Russian nationalism, Russian émigré affairs, and Radio Liberty broadcasts to the Soviet Union. Includes manuscripts submitted to Veche and editorial correspondence of the journal.
1950-2000
Minutes of meetings, reports, memoranda, financial records, speeches and writings, correspondence, notes, interviews, conference papers, press releases, printed matter, and phonotapes, relating to broadcasting activities of Radio Free Europe and Radio Liberty in Eastern Europe and the Soviet Union, and to financing of American presidential election campaigns and media coverage of presidential nominating conventions.
1947-1999
Correspondence, memoranda, reports, printed matter, and sound recordings, relating to Radio Free Europe and Radio Liberty. Used as research material for the book by A. Puddington, Broadcasting Freedom: The Cold War Triumph of Radio Free Europe and Radio Liberty (Lexington, Ky., 2000). Includes records and photocopies of records of RFE/RL.
1950-2015
Collection includes correspondence, writings, notes, memoranda, radio broadcast transcripts and working materials, and printed matter, relating to Radio Liberty and Radio Free Europe broadcasting to the audiences in the Soviet Union, political and social conditions in the Soviet Union, and Soviet émigré affairs.
1914-1993
Speeches and writings, correspondence, notes, reports, radio broadcast transcripts, and printed matter relating to twentieth-century Polish history, the history of the Communist International, and Radio Free Europe broadcasting to Poland. Includes draft and finished reports of the Polish Rada Ministrów, 1946, relating to the Katyn Forest Massacre and Polish prisoners of war in the Soviet Union during World War II.
1907-2010
Writings, correspondence, memoranda, printed matter, and sound recordings relating to Radio Liberty broadcasting to Tatarstan and Bashkortostan.
1940-2002
Writings, transcripts and sound recordings of Radio Liberty broadcasts, Radio Liberty memoranda and other internal documents, and reports, studies, newsletters, printed matter, and photographs, relating to Radio Liberty broadcasts to the Soviet Union, and to Soviet politics, culture and society.
1951-1963
Correspondence, memoranda, reports, and printed matter, relating to activities of the Free Europe Committee in promoting opposition to the communist regimes of Eastern Europe.
1959-2005
Writings, radio scripts, reports, studies, clippings, other printed matter, digital files, sound recordings, and video tapes relating to radio broadcasting to Russia, political conditions in the Soviet Union and post-Soviet Russia, and the Soviet/Russian secret police.
Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty Afghan Service records
2002-2004
American radio broadcasting organization operating Radio Free Europe and Radio Liberty. The Afghan Service records include programming reports recordings. Target regions include Afghanistan.
Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty Albanian Monitoring Subsection records
1952-1962
American radio broadcasting organization operating Radio Free Europe and Radio Liberty. The Albanian Monitoring Subsection include the papers of Nicolo Prennushi, employee of the Albanian Monitoring Subsection.
Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty Armenian Service records
1989-2000
American radio broadcasting organization operating Radio Free Europe and Radio Liberty. The Armenian Service records include newswires, scripts, and sound recordings. Target regions include Armenia.
Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty Azerbaijani Service records
1934-1995
American radio broadcasting organization operating Radio Free Europe and Radio Liberty. The Azerbaijani Service records also known as Radio Azadliq. Includes Daily format and work plans, editor's file, scripts, special programs, and sound recordings.
Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty Belarus Service records
1954-2007
American radio broadcasting organization operating Radio Free Europe and Radio Liberty. The Belarus Service records include daily format work plans, editor's files, program logs, scripts, and sound recordings. Also known as Radio Svaboda. Target regions include Belarus.
Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty broadcast records
1917-2014
American radio broadcasting organization operating Radio Free Europe and Radio Liberty. Includes sound recordings of broadcasts, as well as documents used for creating broadcasts including scripts, correspondence, and memoranda relating to broadcasts by Radio Free Europe to audiences in Eastern Europe and to broadcasts by Radio Liberty to audiences in the Soviet Union. The entire collection is 7,704 linear feet (15,207 boxes).
Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty Bulgarian Broadcasting Department records
1968-2003
American radio broadcasting organization operating Radio Free Europe and Radio Liberty. The Bulgarian Broadcasting Department records contain program reports, editors files, scripts, and sound recordings. Target regions include Bulgaria.
Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty corporate records
1945-2006
The records of the American radio broadcasting organization operating Radio Free Europe and Radio Liberty (RFE/RL) include correspondence, memoranda, reports, financial and legal records, technical specifications, opinion survey data, serial issues, other publications, and microfilm relating to operations of Radio Free Europe in broadcasting to audiences in Eastern Europe and of Radio Liberty in broadcasting to audiences in the Soviet Union, as well as non-broadcast operations of RFE/RL's predecessor, the Free Europe Committee, Inc. Digital copies of select records also available at https://digitalcollections.hoover.org.
Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty Czech Service records
1993-2005
American radio broadcasting organization operating Radio Free Europe and Radio Liberty. The Czech Service Records include scripts, special programs, and thumbnail sketches (with schedules), and sound recordings. Target regions include Czech Republic.
Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty Czechoslovak Broadcasting Department records
1947-1993
American radio broadcasting organization operating Radio Free Europe and Radio Liberty. The Czechoslovak Broadcasting Department records include scripts, special programs, and thumbnail sketches (with schedules), and sound recordings. Target regions include Czech Republic.
Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty Estonian Service records
1940-2004
American radio broadcasting organization operating Radio Free Europe and Radio Liberty. The Estonian Service records include clippings, correspondence, cover sheets, daily program summaries, editor's file, music programming, newswires, program reviews, scripts, Soviet media digest, special programs, tape index and sound recordings. Target regions include Estonia.
Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty Georgian Service records
1950-2008
American radio broadcasting organization operating Radio Free Europe and Radio Liberty. The Georgian Service records include editor's file, printed matter, program reviews, scripts, special programs, and sound recordings. Also known as Ekho Kavkaza and Radio Tavisupleba. Target regions include Georgia and South Ossetia.
Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty Hungarian Broadcasting Department records
1951-1993
American radio broadcasting organization operating Radio Free Europe and Radio Liberty. The Hungarian Broadcasting Department records include correspondence, daily broadcast analyses, editor's file, employee papers, index to archival tapes, monitoring, news budget, program schedules, program summaries, scripts, special programs, thumbnail sketches, and sound recordings. Target regions include Hungary.
Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty Kazakh Service records
1953-2003
American radio broadcasting organization operating Radio Free Europe and Radio Liberty. Kazakh Service records include daily format and work plans, editor's file, employee papers, monitoring, program logs, program reports, scripts, special programs, and sound recordings. Also known as Radio Azattyq. Target regions include Kazakhstan.
Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty Kyrgyz Service records
1951-2014
American radio broadcasting organization operating Radio Free Europe and Radio Liberty. The Kyrgyz Service records include cover sheets, editor's files, faxes, program reviews, reports, scripts, special programs, and sound recordings. Also known as Radio Azattyk. Target regions include Kyrgyzstan.
Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty Latvian Service records
1939-2008
American radio broadcasting organization operating Radio Free Europe and Radio Liberty. The Latvian Service records include cover sheets, editor's files, scripts, special programs, summaries of original scripts, tape index, tentative programs, and sound recordings. Target regions include Latvia.
Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty Lithuanian Service records
1975-2004
American radio broadcasting organization operating Radio Free Europe and Radio Liberty. The Lithuanian Service records include cover sheets, editor's files, news reports, scripts, and sound recordings. Target regions include Lithuania. Languages include Lithuanian.
Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty Moldovan Service records
2008
American radio broadcasting organization operating Radio Free Europe and Radio Liberty. The Moldovan Service also known as Radio Europa Libera. Target regions include Moldova.
Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty News and Current Affairs Broadcasting Department records
1956-2008
American radio broadcasting organization operating Radio Free Europe and Radio Liberty. The News and Current Affairs Broadcasting Department records include newswires, summaries, transcripts, and sound recordings. No specific target regions. Multiple languages, including English.
Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty North Caucasus Language Service
1993-2008
American radio broadcasting organization operating Radio Free Europe and Radio Liberty. The North Caucasus Service records include audience research and evaluation review, program logs, program materials, and sound recordings. Target regions include North Caucasus. Languages include Adyge, Avar, Chechen, Circassian, Ingush, Karachai-Balkar, Karakalpak, and Ossetian.
Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty Persian Language Service records
1998-2002
American radio broadcasting organization operating Radio Free Europe and Radio Liberty. The Persian Language Service records include clippings from Iranian newspapers, program reports and logs, scripts and research files. Also known as Radio Farda. Target regions include Iran. Languages include Persian.
Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty Polish Broadcasting Department records
1929-1997
American radio broadcasting organization operating Radio Free Europe and Radio Liberty. The Polish Broadcasting Department records include editor's files, scripts and sound recordings. Target regions include Poland. Languages include Polish.
Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty Radio Free Afghanistan records
1986-1993
American radio broadcasting organization operating Radio Free Europe and Radio Liberty. The Radio Free Afghanistan records also known as Radio Azadi contains sound recordings. Target regions include Afghanistan. Languages include Dari and Pashto.
Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty Radio Free Iraq records
2004-2006
American radio broadcasting organization operating Radio Free Europe and Radio Liberty. The Radio Free Iraq records contain program logs. Target regions include Iraq. Languages include Arabic.
Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty Romanian Broadcasting Department records
1956-2004
American radio broadcasting organization operating Radio Free Europe and Radio Liberty. The Romanian Broadcast Department records include editor's files, program calendars, employee papers, scripts, and sound recordings. Target regions include Romania and Moldova. Languages include Romanian.
Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty Russian Service records
1953-1999
American radio broadcasting organization operating Radio Free Europe and Radio Liberty. The Russian Service records include editor's files, employee papers, program calendars, scripts, and sound recordings. Also known as Russian Broadcasting Department, Radio Svoboda. Target regions include Russia and former Soviet republics. Languages include Russian.
Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty Slovak Service records
1993-2004
American radio broadcasting organization operating Radio Free Europe and Radio Liberty. The Slovak Service records include editor's files, scripts, and sound recordings. Target regions include Slovakia. Languages include Slovak.
Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty South Slavic Service (Balkan Service) records
1969-2006
American radio broadcasting organization operating Radio Free Europe and Radio Liberty. The South Slavic Service (Balkan Service) records also known as Albanian Service, Balkan Service, and South Slavic and Albanian service include editor's file, press monitoring, and sound recordings. Target regions include Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo, Macedonia, Montenegro and Serbia. Languages include Albanian, Bosnian, Croatian, Macedonian, Montenegrin, and Serbian.
Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty Tajik Service records
1970-1999
American radio broadcasting organization operating Radio Free Europe and Radio Liberty. The Tajik service records also known as Radio Ozodi include editor's file, daily workplan, scripts and sound recordings. Target regions include Tajikistan. Languages include Tajik.
Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty Tatar-Bashkir Service records
1917-2007
American radio broadcasting organization operating Radio Free Europe and Radio Liberty. The Tatar-Bashkir Service also known as Radio Azatliq includes editor's files, scripts, and sound recordings. Target regions include Bashkortostan, Tatarstan, and Ukraine. Languages include Bashkir, Crimean Tatar, and Tatar.
Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty Turkmen Service records
1988-2007
American radio broadcasting organization operating Radio Free Europe and Radio Liberty. The Turkmen Service also known as Radio Azatlyk includes editor's file, and sound recordings. Target regions include Turkmenistan. Languages include Turkmen.
Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty Ukrainian Service records
1954-2007
American radio broadcasting organization operating Radio Free Europe and Radio Liberty. The Ukrainian Service also known as Radio Svoboda includes editor's file, correspondence, letters from listeners, scripts, and sound recordings. Target regions include Ukraine. Languages include Ukrainian, Russian, and Crimean Tatar.
Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty Uzbek Service records
1954-2007
American radio broadcasting organization operating Radio Free Europe and Radio Liberty. The Uzbek Service also known as Radio Ozodlik includes editor's file, program logs, scripts, and sound recordings. Target regions include Uzbekistan. Languages include Uzbek.
8:30 am - 4:30 pm
(by reservation)
Exhibitions & Observation Deck
10:00 am - 4:00 pm
We are closed for major holidays, Stanford home football games, and campus winter closure.