Photocopies of, transcripts of, transcripts of extracts from, and summaries of, official internal documents of the Communist International. Includes copies of documents from records of various national Communist parties; sound recordings of interviews with associated individuals; and notes and printed matter relating to the Communist International.
Photo: Fridrikh Igorevich Firsov, Box 1, Folder List of materials, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Correspondence, speeches and writings, lecture notes, printed matter, sound recordings, videotape, and photographs relating to philosophy, Marxism, communism in the United States and elsewhere, the question of communists in the educational system, campus disturbances in the 1960s, the Congress for Cultural Freedom and other anti-communist movements, the thought of John Dewey, principles of education, the nature of academic freedom, and affirmative action programs.
Photo: Sidney Hook papers, Box 10, Folder 1, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Sound recordings and transcripts of proceedings, and correspondence, memoranda, and conference papers, preparatory to and resulting from the conference, relating to international communist party cadre selection and leadership training.
Photo: Half a Century of Communist Cadre Training records, Box 14, Folder 3, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Propaganda leaflets and bulletins and translations of propaganda leaflets and bulletins, issued by the Malayan Communist Party, relating to the communist-led independence movement in Singapore.
Photo: Malayan Communist Party, Box 1, selected pamphlets, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Reports, correspondence, minutes, conference proceedings, resolutions, speeches, pamphlets, discussion bulletins, newsletters, and printed matter, relating to activities of the Partido Comunista Mexicano from its formation in 1919 until its merger with other parties in 1981, including electoral, trade union, student and other activities, and activities both at the national level and within various states.
Photo: Rodolfo Martinez Echeverria, Box 11, Folder 2. Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
1903-1990
Relates to political conditions in the Soviet Union from 1917 to 1991. Filmed from finding aids and holdings dating from 1903 to 1991 of the Rossiiskii gosudarstvennyĭ arkhiv noveisheĭ istorii.
1903-1991
Relates to political conditions in the Soviet Union from 1917 to 1991. Filmed from finding aids and holdings dating from 1903 to 1991 of the Rossiiskii gosudarstvennyĭ arkhiv sot͡sial'no-politicheskoi istorii.
1903-1991
Relates to political conditions in the Soviet Union from 1917 to 1991. Filmed from finding aids and holdings dating from 1903 to 1991 of the Gosudarstvennyĭ arkhiv Rossiĭskoĭ Federat͡sii.
Communist Party of the United States of America issuances
1933-1991
Pamphlets, leaflets, serial issues, convention resolutions and reports, and internal discussion material, relating to activities of the Communist Party and to its analysis of political conditions in the United States and world affairs. Includes transcripts and sound recordings of speeches, 1988-1991, by Gus Hall, national chairman of the Communist Party.
1925-1958
Writings, transcripts of court testimony, correspondence, and clippings, relating to communism in the United States, especially in Hawaii, and to the anti-communist movement. Includes typescript memoirs, entitled "Broken Chains."
1945-1949
Propaganda leaflets distributed by the Finnish communist party and labor unions in Finland.
Echeverría Martínez (Rodolfo) collection
1911-1986
Reports, correspondence, minutes, conference proceedings, resolutions, speeches, pamphlets, discussion bulletins, newsletters, and printed matter, relating to activities of the Partido Comunista Mexicano from its formation in 1919 until its merger with other parties in 1981, including electoral, trade union, student and other activities, and activities both at the national level and within various states.
Firsov (Fridrikh Igorevich) collection
1919-2006
Photocopies of, transcripts of, transcripts of extracts from, and summaries of, official internal documents of the Communist International. Includes copies of documents from records of various national Communist parties; sound recordings of interviews with associated individuals; and notes and printed matter relating to the Communist International.
1902-2002
Correspondence, speeches and writings, lecture notes, printed matter, sound recordings, videotape, and photographs relating to philosophy, Marxism, communism in the United States and elsewhere, the question of communists in the educational system, campus disturbances in the 1960s, the Congress for Cultural Freedom and other anti-communist movements, the thought of John Dewey, principles of education, the nature of academic freedom, and affirmative action programs.
Half a Century of Communist Cadre Training records
1966-1972
Sound recordings and transcripts of proceedings, and correspondence, memoranda, and conference papers, preparatory to and resulting from the conference, relating to international communist party cadre selection and leadership training.
1946-1977
Copies of selected minutes, reports and memoranda of the Czechoslovak government and Czechoslovak communist party, relating to Czechoslovak foreign policy at the onset of the Cold War, the communist party purge trials in Czechoslovakia, reaction in Czechoslovakia to the Soviet de-Stalinization campaign, and the Soviet invasion of Czechoslovakia in 1968. Includes some published writings by K. Kaplan based on these documents.
1917-1995
Writings and correspondence of the Russian revolutionary leader Leon Trotsky, including drafts of articles and books, correspondence with John G. Wright and other leaders of the Socialist Workers Party of the United States, and typed copies of correspondence with V. I. Lenin; correspondence and reports of secretaries of Trotsky and leaders of the Socialist Workers Party, relating especially to efforts to safeguard Trotsky and to his assassination; records of the American Committee for the Defense of Leon Trotsky and of the Commission of Inquiry into the Charges Made against Leon Trotsky in the Moscow Trials; correspondence and writings of Nataliia Sedova Trotskaia and of Lev Sedov; and published and unpublished material relating to Trotsky. Assembled from records of the Socialist Workers Party and from papers of Wright and other party leaders. Also includes detailed summaries of correspondence in the Trotsky Papers at Harvard University. Boxes 1-45 also available on microfilm (50 reels). Phonotape cassette dub of sound recordings also available.
1904-1989
Correspondence, reports, memoranda, bulletins, clippings, serial issues, pamphlets, other printed matter, photographs, and sound recordings relating to the Communist International, the communist movement in the United States and elsewhere, communist influence in American and foreign trade unions, and organized labor movements in the United States and abroad. Digital copies of select records also available at https://digitalcollections.hoover.org.
Malayan Communist Party propaganda
1950-1951
Propaganda leaflets and bulletins and translations of propaganda leaflets and bulletins, issued by the Malayan Communist Party, relating to the communist-led independence movement in Singapore.
1903-2000
Writings, correspondence, notes, memoranda, clippings, other printed matter, and audiovisual material relating to Marxism; the international communist movement; communism in the Soviet Union, the United States, and elsewhere; literature and art in the Soviet Union and in Mexico; and the Mexican artist Diego Rivera. Includes some papers of Rivera and papers of Ella Wolfe, wife of Bertram D. Wolfe. Digital copies of select records also available at https://digitalcollections.hoover.org.
Yearbook on International Communist Affairs collection
1966-1991
Clippings, serial issues, other printed matter, and notes, relating to the activities of communist parties throughout the world, 1966-1983. Used as research material for the Yearbook on International Communist Affairs published annually by the Hoover Institution on War, Revolution and Peace.
Young Communist League of the United States issuances
1921-1949
Theses, resolutions, bulletins, pamphlets, leaflets, printed matter, and memorabilia relating to the American and international communist youth movement. Includes some issuances of the Young Communist International, the Communist Party of the United States, and anti-communist groups.
8:30 am - 4:30 pm
(by reservation)
Exhibitions & Observation Deck
10:00 am - 4:00 pm
We are closed for major holidays, Stanford home football games, and campus winter closure.