The Hoover Institution Library & Archives are open to the public by reservation
8:30am - 4:30pm
Monday - Friday.
You can find more information about planning a research visit and navigating our collections by visiting our Research Services website.
For any questions, Email Us or call us at: +1 (650) 723-3563
Albanian politician during World War II and in political exile. The Xhafer Deva papers include materials related to Albanian anti-communism and Albanian political exiles during the Cold War.
Photo: Xhafer Deva papers, Box 4, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Correspondence, speeches and writings, diaries, printed matter, and photographs relating to Yugoslav-American relations, political and military conditions in Yugoslavia during World War II, postwar communism in Yugoslavia, and Yugoslav émigré politics. Also available on microfilm (73 reels).
Photo: Konstantin Fotic papers, Box 24, Folder 12, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Relates to political conditions in the Soviet Union from 1917 to 1991. Filmed from finding aids and holdings dating from 1903 to 1991 of the Gosudarstvennyĭ arkhiv Rossiĭskoĭ Federat͡sii.
Photo: Archives of the Soviet communist party and Soviet state microfilm collection: State Archives of the Russian Federation, Reel 1.991, Opis 9, File 52, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
The Cold War collections at the Hoover Library & Archives are extensive, including many materials from leading US diplomats during the Cold War, such as George Shultz, and materials from the Soviet Communist party. Also notable is the collection of Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty.
Note: This guide is a starting point for research at the Hoover Library & Archives. It is not comprehensive, and you may find other material relevant to the topic. For a guide on how to search our collections yourself, you can click here.
Emmet (Christopher Temple) papers
1913-1974
Correspondence, memoranda, reports, press releases, writings, recordings of radio broadcasts, and photographs, relating to anti-Nazi and anti- communist movements in the U.S., U.S. foreign policy during the Cold War, and U.S.-German relations. Digital copies of select records also available at https://digitalcollections.hoover.org.
Firing Line (Television Program) broadcast records
1966-1999
The Firing Line broadcast records include videotapes from the Firing Line television show, as well as sound recordings, administrative and speaker files, program research files, photographs, transcripts, and other materials from the show. The types of program research materials available for each program are listed in the Episode Guide. The Episode Guide also includes a summary and guest list for each episode, as well as a link to the episode details page on Hoover's digital collections website. When applicable, links for purchasing full-length episodes and the availability of special order DVDs are also included. Digital copies of select records also available at https://digitalcollections.hoover.org.
1904-1989
Correspondence, reports, memoranda, bulletins, clippings, serial issues, pamphlets, other printed matter, photographs, and sound recordings relating to the Communist International, the communist movement in the United States and elsewhere, communist influence in American and foreign trade unions, and organized labor movements in the United States and abroad. Digital copies of select records also available at https://digitalcollections.hoover.org.
Radio Free Liberty/Radio Free Europe broadcast records
1917-2014
American radio broadcasting organization operating Radio Free Europe and Radio Liberty. Includes sound recordings of broadcasts, as well as documents used for creating broadcasts including scripts, correspondence, and memoranda relating to broadcasts by Radio Free Europe to audiences in Eastern Europe and to broadcasts by Radio Liberty to audiences in the Soviet Union. The entire collection is 7,704 linear feet (15,207 boxes).
Radio Free Liberty/Radio Free Europe corporate records
1945-2006
The records of the American radio broadcasting organization operating Radio Free Europe and Radio Liberty (RFE/RL) include correspondence, memoranda, reports, financial and legal records, technical specifications, opinion survey data, serial issues, other publications, and microfilm relating to operations of Radio Free Europe in broadcasting to audiences in Eastern Europe and of Radio Liberty in broadcasting to audiences in the Soviet Union, as well as non-broadcast operations of RFE/RL's predecessor, the Free Europe Committee, Inc.
Wargaming and Crisis Simulation Initiative collection
1945-2006
The Hoover Institution’s Wargaming and Crisis Simulation Initiative collection is a publicly accessible digital repository of wargaming data housed within the Hoover Library & Archives. The collection features scholar-designed wargames, unclassified and declassified government wargames, and think tank or industry wargames. The collection is designed to be easily searchable across a wide array of substantive and methodological terms, facilitating both large-N analysis and deep case studies. The collection also increases methodological transparency and rigor within the wargaming discipline by hosting wargaming design materials and data for evaluation, replication, and testing. Finally, the collection is a pedagogical resource that provides open source game design and materials for use in the classroom.
8:30 am - 4:30 pm
(by reservation)
Exhibitions & Observation Deck
10:00 am - 4:00 pm
We are closed for major holidays, Stanford home football games, and campus winter closure.
