HIST 210G/INTNLREL 182: The Great War (FALL 2022)

Dear Students: In this guide, you will find information on how to access materials from our archival and library collections that are related to the themes of your course. Under the tab "Selected Sources and Collections" on the left, you can find the titles of as well as links to the records of all items that you saw during the visit, as well as suggestions of a number of additional archival collections.

To request library and archival items, you need to create an "Aeon" account first. Please see the tab "Accessing Collections" on the left to learn how to do this. Once you have created an Aeon account, you can make reservations for visiting our reading room (regular hours: Monday - Friday, 8:30 am - 4:30 pm) and start requesting materials that you want to use during your visit(s). Should you have difficulties making reservations at the desired dates, please fill out this form and we will do our best to accommodate you.

If you have any questions or would like to consult about your research and using our collections, please don't hesitate to contact us!

Please remember that what you saw was only a tiny sample of materials from the tens of thousands of library items and the close to 1,000 archival collections related to the First World War that we have and where you can find many more comparable and different kinds of materials. Generally, remember that you can research and explore all our collections using SearchWorks and OAC.

In addition, this separate research guide on World-War I features some of the most relevant archival collections, including the three from which I showed you individual boxes. Note that it also includes a link to a 110 pp. PDF Document, which contains a compilation of brief descriptions of all our WWI-related archival collections as of 2017. This document offers you an alternative and perhaps more convenient way of identifying collections that may be relevant for you.