Photo: Friedrich A. von Hayek papers, Box 175, Folder 6, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Bartley (William Warren) miscellaneous papers
1920-1992
Drafts, galleys, proofs, memoranda, and correspondence related to production of the first volume of the collected works of the Austrian economist Friedrich A. von Hayek, The Fatal Conceit: The Errors of Socialism (London, 1988), edited by William W. Bartley; and sound recordings of speeches and lectures by F. A. von Hayek and others related to laissez-faire economics.
1943-1990
Writings, correspondence, and printed matter, relating to world affairs, American politics, economic conditions in the United States, conservative political philosophy, and laissez-faire economics. Most of the material consists of drafts and printed copies of newspaper columns and other writings by Chamberlain.
Hayek (Friedrich A. von) papers
1897-2005
Friedrich A. von Hayek, economist and Nobel Laureate. Collection includes diaries, correspondence, speeches and writings, notes, conference papers, conference programs, printed matter, sound recordings, photographs, and digital word processing files relating to laissez-faire economics and associated concepts of liberty, and especially to activities of the Mont Pèlerin Society.
1900-1998
Correspondence, speeches and writings, printed matter, photographs, slides, and memorabilia relating to economic theory, and especially to laissez-faire economics and associated concepts of liberty.
Related materials at other institutions:
Photo: Mont Pelerin Society records, Box 64, Folder 8, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
Bartley (William Warren) miscellaneous papers
1920-1992
Drafts, galleys, proofs, memoranda, and correspondence related to production of the first volume of the collected works of the Austrian economist Friedrich A. von Hayek, The Fatal Conceit: The Errors of Socialism (London, 1988), edited by William W. Bartley; and sound recordings of speeches and lectures by F. A. von Hayek and others related to laissez-faire economics.
1943-1990
Writings, correspondence, and printed matter, relating to world affairs, American politics, economic conditions in the United States, conservative political philosophy, and laissez-faire economics. Most of the material consists of drafts and printed copies of newspaper columns and other writings by Chamberlain.
1919-1987
Writings, correspondence, notes, memoranda, and printed matter relating to economic conditions in the United States, laissez-faire and conservative political thought, right-to-work issues, and political conditions in southern Africa, especially Zimbabwe and South Africa.
1931-2006
Speeches and writings, correspondence, notes, statistics, printed matter, sound recordings, videotapes, and photographs relating to economic theory, economic conditions in the United States, and governmental economic policy. Digitized copies of many of the sound and video recordings in this collection, as well as some of Friedman's writings, are available at https://miltonfriedman.hoover.org.
1950-1977
Correspondence, agenda, conference materials, memoranda, speeches, printed matter, and photographs related to activities of the Mont Pelerin Society, the nature of liberty, and laissez-faire economic theory.
1944-1990
Includes correspondence, minutes, conference papers, publications, and agenda of the Mont Pelerin Society, mainly in the form of photocopies, related to activities of the society in promoting laissez-faire economics and associated concepts of freedom. Includes questionnaires sent to Mont Pelerin Society members in 1984.
Hayek (Friedrich A. von) papers
1897-2005
Friedrich A. von Hayek, economist and Nobel Laureate. Collection includes diaries, correspondence, speeches and writings, notes, conference papers, conference programs, printed matter, sound recordings, photographs, and digital word processing files relating to laissez-faire economics and associated concepts of liberty, and especially to activities of the Mont Pèlerin Society.
Hutt (W. H. (William Harold)) papers
1925-1989
Contains speeches and writings, correspondence, pamphlets, serial issues, and other printed matter, relating to laissez-faire economic theory, and to economic conditions and race relations in South Africa by Hutt, a South African economist.
1933-2014
Writings, correspondence, conference papers, personal documents, printed matter, and audiovisual material relating to libertarian political and free market thought.
1938-2022
Correspondence, conference papers, programs, meeting materials, schedules, minutes, financial and membership records, essays, printed matter, sound recordings, and photographs relating to economic policy, laissez-faire, and liberty. Digital copies of select records also available at https://digitalcollections.hoover.org.
1928-1995
Speeches and writings, correspondence, notes, printed matter, sound recordings, and photographs relating to philosophy, the nature of knowledge, the philosophy of culture, the philosophy and methodology of science, and the philosophy of history and the social sciences.
1945-2005
The collection contains speeches and writings, correspondence, memoranda, reports, and printed matter related to laissez-faire economics and to economic conditions and higher education in the United States.
1940-1985
Correspondence, speeches and writings, conference papers, minutes, reports, financial records, and printed matter relating to economic theory, monetary policy, and economic research foundations in West Germany.
1909-2021
Correspondence, speeches and writings, memoranda, reports, studies, printed matter, photographs, phonotapes, videotapes, and memorabilia, relating to American domestic policy and foreign relations, especially during the presidential administrations of Richard M. Nixon and Ronald Reagan. Included are materials from his years in academia at the University of Chicago and at Stanford University, his work as an executive and a director at Bechtel Corporation, and the numerous projects and initiatives Shultz launched as Thomas W. and Susan B. Ford Distinguished Fellow at the Hoover Institution.
1927-2009
Writings, correspondence, studies, reports, financial records, and printed matter relating to public choice, decision-making theory, political and economic theory, and legal procedure.
Photo: Ivan Alekseevich Kurganov papers, Box 3, Folder 34, Hoover Institution Library & Archives, copyright Stanford University.
1922-1928
Correspondence, memoranda, and reports, relating to negotiations between P. Farquhar and associates and the Soviet government concerning the development of Russia's iron ore and steel resources, and to the work of American engineers in the Soviet Union. Includes reports on the Makeeva Steel Works, the Krivoy Rog Iron Ore District and Ekaterina and Donets Basin railway developments.
1987-1997
Sound recordings and transcripts of interviews conducted by Tatiana Zhilkina, relating to political conditions and especially to economic policy in the Soviet Union and Russian Republic. Includes some biographical materials on G. I. Fil'shin.
1917-1995
Printed matter, letters, notes, bibliography, and photographs, relating to the Soviet economist Nikolai Kondrat'ev and to economic long-cycle theory. Includes printed copies and typed copies of writings by Kondrat'ev; holograph fragments by Kondrat'ev; typed copies of letters from Kondrat'ev to his wife; and letters by Elena Kondrat'eva, daughter of Kondrat'ev, relating to her father.
Gosudarstvennyi bank SSSR issuances
1925-1928
Statements, reports, and monthly economic surveys, relating to banking and general economic conditions in the Soviet Union.
1917-1970
Correspondence, writings, research notes, statistical surveys and reports, and miscellanea, relating to Soviet and East European agriculture and economics. Jerzy F. Karcz was also known as George Karcz.
Kurganov (Ivan Alekseevich) papers
1940-1980
Writings, correspondence, card files, and printed matter, relating to economics, anti-communist movements, and Russian émigré affairs. Includes records of the Koordinatsionnyi TSentr Antibol'shevistskoi Bor'by and some papers of Aleksandr Kerensky.
1950-2001
Writings, correspondence, memoranda, reports, studies, and printed matter, relating to Soviet armed forces, the Soviet economy, and American defense policy.
2000s, undated
Relates to economic conditions in Russia, especially Siberia, in the interwar period, and to economic policy of the Vysshii sovet narodnogo khoziaistva.
Litoshenko (Lev Nikolaevich) papers
1925-1927
Writings and photographs, relating to agriculture in the Soviet Union and industry in the United States. Includes drafts and final typescript of "Agrarian Policy in Soviet Russia before the Adoption of the Five Year Plan" (co-authored with Lincoln Hutchinson), and typescript of "Metody finansirovaniia amerikanskoi promyshlennosti." Writings sponsored by the Committee on Russian Research, Hoover War Library.
Nauchno-issledovatel'skii institut truda Zapadno-sibirskii filial records
1965-1993
Studies, reports, conference proceedings, statistics, and publications, relating to social and economic conditions and labor in Siberia.
1956-1978
Writings and memoranda relating to the calculation of industrial growth in the Soviet Union and to miscellaneous aspects of American defense policy. Includes drafts of G. Warren Nutter's book, Growth of Industrial Production in the Soviet Union (1962). Digital copies of select records also available at https://digitalcollections.hoover.org.
1929-1932
Correspondence, contractual agreements, and clippings, relating to engineering operations and economic conditions in the Soviet Union, and to exit difficulties of J. M. Pelikan and his wife, a Soviet citizen. Photocopy.
1931-1932
Writings, entitled Soviet Dumping (1931), and Industry in the U.S.S.R. in 1931 (1932), relating to Soviet commerce and industry.
Soviet Union. Narodnyi komissariat finansov. Sekretariat miscellaneous records
1923-1937
Resolutions, protocols, and minutes of meetings, relating to financial and economic policy in the Soviet Union. Includes resolutions of the TSentral'nyi Ispolnitel'nyi Komitet, the Sovet Narodnykh Komissarov, and the Sovet Truda i Oborony.
1946-2013
Correspondence, writings, memoranda, conference papers and other conference materials, fundraising and grant award records, other financial records, and printed matter relating to international promotion of free market economic policies.
1942-1988
Speeches, writings, correspondence, and course materials related to economic theory, economic conditions in the United States, and governmental economic policy.
1894-2010
The Vladimir Chelminski papers contain extensive materials relating to economic and political conditions in Venezuela from the 1980s onward. The papers include many articles written by Chelminski for Venezuelan newspapers, as well as his book length study of price controls. There is also a detailed record of the workings of the Caracas Chamber of Commerce, including minutes of meetings and reports. Chelminski wrote summaries of many of his conversations with others on topics of economics and Venezuelan politics, which are found in the papers as well.
Chicago boys and Latin American market reformers collection
1992-2011
Sound recordings and transcripts of interviews, and associated material, relating to free market policies in Chile and elsewhere in Latin America, and to the influence of economists associated with the University of Chicago in instituting them. Interviews conducted by Tobias Switzer and William E. Ratliff. Those interviewed include Rolf Lüders Schwarzenberg, Sergio de Castro, Martín Costabal Llona, Alvaro Donoso, Ernesto Fontaine, Gonzalo Vial Correa, Miguel Schweitzer, Roberto Kelly, Domingo Cavallo and Hernán Cubillos Sallato.
1911-1941
Clippings, pamphlets, correspondence, and notes, relating to international economics and to German economics and politics, principally in the 1930s.
1975-1983
Correspondence, speeches and writings, conference papers, reports, studies, testimony, charts, and statistics related to economic conditions and governmental economic policy in the United States, and laissez-faire economic theory, including particularly questions of unemployment, inflation, and monetary policy.
1943-1978
Speeches and writings, correspondence, printed matter, sound recordings, and motion picture film, relating to U.S. and international economic policy, and laissez-faire economics.
1950-1990
Correspondence, memoranda, reports, studies, speeches and writings, printed matter, and slides, relating to governmental problems in the state of Washington, 1950-1955, fiscal problems of Bolivia, 1957, international economic development, taxation (federal, state, and local), intergovernmental relations in the United States, public and private education from lower schools to university in the United States and the Soviet Union, and the growth of American government.
1917-1927
Correspondence, diary, reports, memoranda, and writings, relating to American economic mobilization and government control of the economy during World War I, and to activities of the Central Bureau of Planning and Statistics, War Industries Board, War Trade Board, Shipping Board, and Commercial Economy Board, and to the American delegation at the Paris Peace Conference. Digital copies of select records also available at https://digitalcollections.hoover.org.
Gray (Edward Rutherford) papers
1894-1979
Writings, correspondence, memoranda, reports, statistics, and printed matter, relating to finances of federal, state, and local governments in the United States, and to post-World War II economic reconstruction in Europe.
1920-1980
Correspondence, writings, memoranda, reports, studies, statistics, and printed matter, relating to American foreign trade policy, and to public finance and trade in Paraguay, Iran and Afghanistan.
1948-1982
Speeches and writings, correspondence, memoranda, reports, studies, and printed matter related to the economic development of developing countries, technology transfer to developing countries, and American trade with and investment in developing countries. Some materials relate to American foreign trade and foreign aid policy during the presidential administrations of John F. Kennedy and Lyndon B. Johnson.
1930-1973
Correspondence, speeches and writings, memoranda, reports, clippings, and other printed matter relating to laissez-faire economic and political theory, and to economic conditions and governmental economic policy in the United States.
Institute for Humane Studies miscellaneous records
1955-1975
Collection comprised of sound recordings of lectures by various economists and other speakers delivered at the Institute for Humane Studies, relating to laissez-faire economic and political theory; correspondence, memoranda and financial records, relating to production of the festschrift Toward Liberty (1971) in honor of the Austrian-American economist Ludwig von Mises, and to a visit to the United States by the Austrian economist Friedrich A. von Hayek in 1975.
1919-1969
Writings, correspondence, memoranda, reports, notes, printed matter, and maps, relating to economic conditions in Germany and the United States in the 1930s and 1940s, the postwar occupation of Germany, the transition of India to independence, postwar economic conditions in South Korea, and the New York City politician Raymond V. Ingersoll.
1959-1985
Correspondence, memoranda, reports, studies, speeches, conference proceedings, minutes, press briefings, statistics, circulars, and printed matter, relating to American government administration and budgeting during the presidential administration of Richard M. Nixon, movements to limit taxation in the United States, and governmental economic policy during the presidential administration of Ronald Reagan.
1937-2005
Correspondence, writings, notes, printed matter, personal documents, and photographs, relating to economic theory, economic conditions in the United States and the world, Romanian émigré affairs, economic conditions in post-communist Romania, and the International Society for Intercommunication of New Ideas. A detailed handwritten description of the materials is located in box 1.
1918-1982
Diary, correspondence, reports, studies, statistical summaries, financial statements, press releases, clippings, and ephemeral publications, relating to the European financial crisis following World War I, the work of the Reparations Commission in formulating the Dawes Plan in 1924, and the economic and financial situation in China, 1929-1946.
8:30 am - 4:30 pm
(by reservation)
Exhibitions & Observation Deck
10:00 am - 4:00 pm
We are closed for major holidays, Stanford home football games, and campus winter closure.